Report: Chevin cycles Crit and a Curry night


The late September dampness of the York sport circuit didn’t put off he riders turning up to race for last minute points writes Julie Rodman.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The circuit takes on a whole different feel in the floodlights and riders were smiling at their reflections trying to over taken them on the back straight. The first race up was the ladies and fourth cats with the ladies going off first and soon working well together. It was no surprise with the different categories racing that first cat rider Iona Sewell would take the win. She has maintained her form over the season and certainly enjoys the course. She was followed by Helen Tickner and Louise Arkinson Wright both representing Albarosa RT.

The 4th cat race was keenly contested and no one was allowed to breakaway during the forty five minute criterium. It was good to see new faces coming along to try the circuit out for the first time. It was to go down to a bunch sprint with David Oliver taking the win from Daniel Kubon Birdwell whs and Arthur Wilson Ilkley.

Then it was the turn of the 2/3/4 riders. This race was rapid from the gun, with riders trying to breakaway, with strong riders In the bunch they were soon brought back, taking a flyer after six laps Nathan Wilson – Wilson Wheels attacked taking Nick Latimer with him from Rutland CC. These two were to work in tandem and soon gain a 15 second lead, sensing the danger Danny Webb took up the chase and was astutely followed by criterium expert Steve Johnson of Slipstream, these were the next duo on the track. The bunch waited for someone to chase them down but it was too late and they consoled themselves to sprint for fifth place.

As the riders came around the final corner Nathan Wilson sprinted away to take a well deserved win by five bike lengths from Nick Latimer with Steve Johnson getting the better of Danny Webb for third. Martin Ruepp the Swiss rider came home in 5th riding for Iceni Velo.

It was a cracking night of racing. Well organised by Giles Pidcock with Chevin Cycles who had even arranged for the riders to go for an end of season curry after the races had finished. Excellent end of the season for some and a few tired riders the following morning.

Ladies event

1. Iona Sewell. GB Cycles
2. Helen Tickner. Albarosa RT
3. Louise Atkinson Wright Albarosa RT
4. Mel Hattersley.
4th cat men’s race
1. David Oliver. Unattached
2. David Kubon. Birdwell whs
3. Arthur Wilson. Ilkley
4. Josh Bennett. Crosstrax
5. Simon Schofield. Albarosa RT
6. Simon Gueller. Chevin cycles
7. Andy Moore. Bolsover RC
8. Martin Cloudsdale. Albarosa RT
9. James Ward. BBM
10. Mike Firth. Ilkley CC

2/3/4 event
1. Nathan Wilson. Wilson wheels
2. Nicholas Latimer. Rutland CC
3. Steve Johnson. Slipstream CC
4. Danny Webb. Team cystic fibrosis
5. Martin Ruepp. Iceni Velo
6. Mark Davies. Team cystic fibrosis
7. Giles Pidcock. Chevin cycles
8. Joseph White. Unattached
9. Jonathan Dexter. We love mountains
10. Craig Armitage. Crosstrax



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,