Report: Imperial Winter Series Race 6


Only one race completed at week 6 of the Imperial Winter Series due to a crash with  Jonathan Pontin  the sole winner on the day

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Race 6 Saturday 4th January 2014

The wind abated slightly but the rain threatened and persisted at times, although thankfully it remained mild. This year, the weather and holiday season has not diminished the size or quality of the 4th cat fields and with the Ladies lining up alongside them provided an eager entry of 60+.

The wind again played a part shrinking the peloton progressively principally as a result of attacks mostly by a posse of London Dynamo riders – Alex Evangelidis, Henry Charrington and Francis Fox. However, the best move of the race came from Robin Mould (Velosport CC) who slipped away and rode alone for 4 km.

Sadly he succumbed but the run-in was frantic and the group was well strung out by Carrington, Mould and Christopher O’Hearn (Dulwich Paragon) leading out, but in the last 300 m from the bus stop, Jonathan Pontin (Addiscombe CC) managed to get on their wheel and come round them to cross the line in first place with only 100ths separating the first 8 places.

Kevin Chandler (Watford Velosport) and the two attackers Carrington and Mould finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th, the latter looking ready for the move up a category. Daren Austin (Twickenham CC) in 22nd place wins the Imperial Cycles random prize and can look forward to his bike having a thorough spruce up at Imperial HQ in Isleworth!

The Elite race started in its usual pattern and promised to be an excellent race with all the usual protagonists stringing the group out, but after 12km an incident on the uphill section of the circuit caused the race to be neutralised initially and when the magnitude of it became clear, finally stopped. It is always disappointing to have to abandon a race and the sense of frustration for both competitors and organisers is self-evident but safety remains the priority.

Normal service will be resumed next Saturday.

Next race Saturday 11th January 2014

Full race programme and information at


4th cat race
1st Jonathan Pontin Addiscombe CC
2nd Kevin Chandler Watford Velo Sport
3rd Henry Charrington London Dynamo
4th Robin Mould Velosport CC
5th Ed Everett Unattached
6th Huw Dymond Reading. CC
7th Clark Anderson Thames Velo
8th Tom Black Unattached
9th Harry Bunnell Kingston Wheelers
10th Ian Murray VC10
11th Alexander Evangelidis London Dynamo
12th Alex Woods Unattached
13th John Bull London Dynamo
14th Nick Davis Kingston Whls CC
15th Steven pellowe Hounslow District Wheelers
16th Andy Taylor London Dynamo
17th Keith Chanter London Dynamo
18th Andrew Ware Watford Velo Sport
19th Jason Braund Imperial College CC
20th Tom Herbert Kingston Wheelers
21st Robert Mosley Thames Velo
22nd Daren Austin Twickenham CC
23rd Francis Fox London Dynamo
24th Ewan Evans Dorking CC
25th Ben Nichol Amersham RCC
26th Alec Saunders Dulwich Paragon CC
27th Elliot Brown VC Meudon
28th Christopher OHearn Dulwich Paragon
29th Phil Barella Kingston Wheelers CC
30th Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
31st Robert Abbey Hemel Hempstead CC
32nd Massimo Saetta Kingston Wheelers
33rd Richard Anderson Twickenham CC
34th Mark Banks London Dynamo
35th Jon Freeman Unattached
36th Tom Groom WyndyMilla
37th Thomas Mead-Herbert Watford Velo Sport
38th Jonathan Gough Old Ports CC
39th Arnav Kapur VCDC
40th Jim Whewell London Dynamo
41st Tom O’Connell Velosport CC
42nd Andrew Deans London Dynamo
43rd Tim Childs Westerley CC
44th Samual Dickinson Unattached
45th Mark Stock Farnborough & Camberley CC
46th Michael Weekes London Dynamo
47th Clarice Chung Twickenham
48th Peter Dalton London Dynamo
49th Jennifer Crouch London Dynamo
50th Elizabeth Dunne Wyndy Milla
51st Andrew Goulding Hounslow & District Wlrs
52nd Harriet Hollis Unattached
53rd Sally Stubbs Imperial Racing Team
54th Nasima Siddiqui WyndyMilla
55th Eng-Jon Ong Charlotteville CC
56th Keith Loveman Verulam CC
57th Martin Banfield London Dynamo
58th David Jack Loveman Verulam CC

Overall Series Leader Board (remains the same as Race 5)
1st Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 900
2nd Jake Martin Pedal Heaven RT 800
3rd Josh Jones Cambridge University CC 650
4th James Norris High Wycombe CC 600
5th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 490
6th Phil Holloway southend wheelers 460
7th Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe 450
8th Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT 370
9th Jacek Reder Unattached 310
10th Sam Humpheson Look mum no hands! 300
11th Joshua Mitchell Bicester Millenium 270
12th Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo 240
12th James Bradley Twickenham CC 240
14th Ben Sumner Beeline Bikes RT 200
15th Lawrence Carpenter Catford Equipe Banks 190
16th Dominic Clegg Redhill CC 180
17th Alexander King GPM10 Cycling 170
17th Luke Merrilees WyndyMilla  170
19th Jacob Nicholson Medway Velo  170
20th Si Cox NFTO 160


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,