News: Simon Gerrans Wins Australian Road Championship


Simon Gerrans is the new Australian National Road Champion after taking a dominant victory in the elite men’s road race ahead of Cadel Evans and Richie Porte.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Gerrans sealed the third consecutive title for the ORICA-GreenEDGE team, winning a sprint finish from the final group of four. Cameron Meyer led the select group to the line and ultimately finished in fourth, after working tirelessly to set Gerrans up for the win.


ORICA-GreenEDGE looked in control and comfortable throughout the 183.6 kilometre Buninyong circuit, putting each of their ten riders to use in controlling the race. It was defending champion Luke Durbridge who launched the first attack of the day, just moments after the start. The main breakaway of 17 riders quickly formed with Simon Clarke and Mitch Docker joining Durbridge up the road.

Simon Clarke animated the action in the break, making repeated attempts to get away solo over the Mount Buninyong climb. After four hours of fast and aggressive racing, time ran out for Clarke and the break began to disintegrate.

“Clarkey was one of the best in that front group, but there were faster sprinters in the break, so we weren’t willing to go to the line with those blokes still there,” said Sport Director Matt White. “To have a chance at the win, Durbridge and Clarke knew that they had to go solo with two or three laps to go. It didn’t happen, so we decided to go with the safer option and bring things back for Gerro.

With four laps left to race, ORICA-GreenEDGE quickly moved to the front and began to reel back the break. An ominously fresh-looking Gerrans was tucked safely in the group. Of the 139 riders that took the start, the chasing peloton had whittled down to 32 ahead of the final two laps.

On the long sloping lead-in to the final ascent of Mount Buninyong, Meyer launched an attack. Gerrans, quickly followed with Evans and Porte in pursuit. “I wanted the guys to set a fast pace to keep it together going into the bottom section of the climb, so that I could attack towards the top,” explained Gerrans. “There was already quite a small, select group left by the time we got to the last ramp of the climb, and there was some foxing going on. Cam had slipped off the front a little bit, and then I attacked in the final few hundred metres of the climb to really try to get rid of the other contenders. We got over one by one: myself,then Cadel, then Cam, then Richie. Over the top, the four of us came together again, and that’s how it stayed until the finish.”

With a two-man advantage over the final group of four heading into the finish, Gerrans and Meyer played on their strength in numbers to keep the group together for the sprint.

“The guys did exactly what they had to do today,” said Gerrans. “I stuck to my guns in the finish – I knew I had good legs and as long as that little group stayed together I was confident I could finish it off. Cam fully committed. He really rode his guts out for me today. I’m sure he would have liked the chance to win himself today, but the plan was to work for me and he did that 100 percent. The whole team gave it everything for me today and I’m really grateful for that.”

“It’s such an honour to take the jersey,” said Gerrans. “It was such a class field today and it means a lot to me to take this jersey to Europe for another season. It started a really good year for me in 2012, so I’ll try to keep this momentum going and get some big wins coming in over in Europe this year too.”

Zak Dempster, sponsored by Scottish company Endura was 9th while Darren Lapthorne who raced in Britain for Rapha was 6th.

1 Simon Gerrans 4:43:43
2 Cadel Evans
3 Richie Porte
4 Cameron Meyer @0.05 secs
5 Jack Bobridge
6 Darren Lapthorne
7 Mark O’Brien @29
8 Steele von Hoff @48
9 Zakkari Dempster
10 David Tanner

16 Bernard Sulzberger
18 Lachlan Norris
33 Jack Anderson


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK