News: Ladies Tour of Qatar


From February 4th to 7th, the Ladies Tour of Qatar will welcome the world’s best elite women cyclists for the first major event of the season.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Event Press Release

The holder of the title at Qatar, Kirsten Wild, will have to perform at her peak to retain her crown. For the champions taking part, the four days’ racing to be held in Qatar represent four opportunities to position themselves, size up the opposition, stamp their authority on the race, and – of course – aim at victory in a stage race that is decisive at the start of the season.

The profile of the event, which favours the hardiest due to the strong winds, ends up in muscle-straining battles at the end of each stage. In this respect, the Dutch rider Kirsten Wild has been the most efficient and regular since the creation of the race, winning six stages and three titles (2009, 2010, 2013).

However, the title holder will not be able to rest on her laurels in the face of the hunger of her rivals, starting with her first chaser last year: the Australian Chloe Hosking, who held the yellow jersey on two occasions and has her sights on the overall triumph.

Perhaps the Orica-AIS team will throw up Wild’s main contender: World no. 1 in 2013 Emma Johansson, assisted by the recent champion of Australia Gracie Elvin. The jersey will also be the sole objective of Ellen Van Dijk, the winner in 2011, or perhaps Georgia Bronzini, 2nd in both 2009 and 2010… and unbeaten in 2014.

15 teams, featuring
Team Australia: Wells (Aus)
Orica – AIS (GEW) : Johansson (Swe), Elvin (Aus)
Lotto-Belisol Ladies (LBL): D’Hoore (Bel), Rousse (Fra)
Specialized-Lululemon (SLU): Worrack, Brennauer (Ger)
Equipe de France (FRA): Biannic, Jeuland (Fra)
Wiggle Honda (WHT): Bronzini (Ita), Becker (Ger)
China Chongming-Giant (GPC): Huang (Chn)
Bepink (BPK): Amialiusik (Blr), Valsecchi (Ita)
Team Italy (ITA): Cecchini (Ita)
Ale CipolliniGalassia (MCG): Guderzo (Ita)
Hitec Products-UCK (HPU): Hosking (Aus), Cordon (Fra)
Equipe des Pays-Bas (NED): Bras (Ned)
Boels Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT): Van Dijk (Ned), Armitstead (Gbr)
RaboLiv Women Cycling Team (RBW): Brand (Ned)
Team Argos-Shimano (SKI): Wild, Pieters (Ned)
Rusvelo (RVL): Kozonchuk (Rus)

Stage 1, Tuesday 4th February: Museum of Islamic Art – Mesaieed (97 km)
Stage 2, Wednesday 5th February: Al Zubara Fort – Madinat Al Shamal (112.5 km)
Stage 3, Thursday 6th February: Katara Cultural Village – Al Khor Corniche (93.5 km)
Stage 4, Friday 7th February: Sealine Beach Resort – Doha Corniche (85 km)




Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK