Report: Imperial Winter Series 2013/2014


Report and full results from round 9 of the 2013/2014 Imperial Winter Series last Saturday at Hillingdon Cycle Circuit

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Photos: Antony Edmonds  – More photos here:


Race 9 Saturday 25th January 2014
Torrential rain for much of the previous 24 hours provided a reasonably sized lake for the Imperial team to tackle first thing on Saturday morning. With 2 pumps and a few willing helpers the water slowly started to clear eventually causing only a slight delay to the start.

As soon as the race started the wind picked up resulting in splits in the field almost immediately, assisted by Ian Loades (Team Dassi) and David Ryan (Swindon RT) pulling very hard at the front. However, they were pulled back by some strong riding from Alberto Battaglia (Dulwich Paragon CC) and Elwyn Powell (Twickenham CC) but the conditions made it almost impossible to break clear, with both London Dynamo and Twickenham CC hacking the front and pushing forward, particularly with James Spackman and Rupert Baker positioning themselves at the front.


Some excellent teamwork enabled Baker to move clear in the last 2 km, but from nowhere Patrick Brown surged and passed Baker with ease. He seemed surprised that he was first across the line to win with Baker taking second, also bemused, with Jason Braund of Imperial College in third.

Jason Braund (Imperial College CC) wins the Imperial Cycles random prize and can get down to Imperial Cycles for a tune up ready for a summer season of racing.

Another open race faced the E/1/2/3 riders and although the wind had eased a little Jerzy Kuzminski (High Wycombe CC) and Graham Crow (Twickenham CC) forged ahead and strung the whole bunch out, many finding it too difficult to hang on. Crow was in good form and continued to lead from the front with Henry Furniss (WyndyMilla) also keen to press on with Josh Jones (Cambridge Uni CC), the latter solo for 2 km.

Other riders tried – Josh Allen (Woolwich CC), overall contender James Norris (High Wycombe) and Phil Dempsey (Aprire Bicycles) but nothing was going to stick. In the latter stages Crow did break clear and slowly opened a gap of 15 seconds, and perhaps without the effort of Dempsey and Clive Nicholls (Team Zappi) he would have stayed away with the support of his Twickenham team mates who did their best to block, but were unable to prevent him being caught with just over a lap to go.


The sprint for the line was intense and with a gusting headwind last week’s winner Vince Halpern (Handsling) had to give best to very strong High Wycombe team mates, with Jerzy Kuzminski just holding off Norris. Joshua Mitchell (Bicester Millenium) took a solid 4th place. Angelo Christides finished a fine 5th overall winning the 3rds with Tom Sefton (Didcot Phoenix CC) just holding off returning Andrew Rigg (Handsling Racing).

Next Saturday sees the final race of the series and the prize presentation followed by the ever popular Lucky Racer prizes.

Next Race (11 of 11) | Saturday 8th February 2014

Full race programme and information at


1st Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe
2nd James Norris High Wycombe CC
3rd Vincent Halpern Handsling racing
4th Joshua Mitchell Bicester Millenium
5th Angelo Christides Unattached
6th Tom Sefton Palmer Park Velo RT 3J
7th Andrew Rigg Handsling Racing
8th Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo
9th Jacek Reder Unattached
10th James Bradley Twickenham CC
11th Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC
12th Ewan Tuohy Catford CC Equipe Banks
13th Henry Furniss WyndyMilla
14th Lee Comerford London Dynamo
15th Gavin Francis London Dynamo
16th Matthew Cryer Army Cycle Union
17th Ralph Keeler Cambridge CC
18th Ian Phillips Army Cycling Union
19th Adam Thompson Reading CC
20th Mike Saunders Unattached
21st Graham Crow Twickenham cc
22nd Ben Voller Twickenham CC
23rd Kevin Chandler Watford Velo Sport
24th Andrew Lowe Team MK
25th Robin Mould Velosport Racing Team
26th Josh Allen Woolwich CC
27th Michael Skipsey Tmg horizon
28th Phil Dempsey Aprire Bicycles
29th Chris Whitehouse Twickenham CC
30th Ian Baynes TMG Horizon Cycling Team
31st Spencer Robinson Newbury RC
32nd Alvaro Alves Da Cunha Unattached
33rd James Leech London Dynamo
34th Scott Shepherd London Dynamo
35th Bill Butterworth Twickenham CC
36th Mario Manelfi Blazing Saddles
37th Neil Wass TMG Horizon Cycling Team
38th Robin Basford Wyndymilla
39th Leon Fielding Velosport RT
40th Nicole Oh Les Filles RT 2w
41st Philip Pearson VC Revolution
42nd Kieran Woods Charlotteville CC
43rd Jack Miller woolwich cc
44th Anna Marie Hughes Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech

4th cat race
Place No. Club
1st Patrick Brown Unattached
2nd Rupert Baker London Dynamo
3rd Jason Braund Imperial College CC
4th Amir Eshtehardi Finsbury Park CC
5th Justin Slater Unattached
6th Dan Brocklebank London Dynamo
7th Jennifer Crouch London Dynamo 3w
8th Michael Woodland Team Dassi
9th Ian Loades Team Dassi
10th Sam Owen London Dynamo
11th Ed Everett Unattached
12th Steve Morgan Twickenham CC
13th John Bull London Dynamo
14th Tim Marshall Unattached
15th Alberto Battaglia Dulwich paragon CC
16th Paul Newman Southgate
17th James Spackman London Dynamo
18th Calvin Tucker Southgate CC
19th Phil Hutchinson Amersham RCC
20th Nicholas Rowe Kingston Wheelers CC
21st Stefano Dall’aglio Unattached
22nd Tim Childs Westerley CC
23rd Jim Whewell London Dynamo
24th Mark Stock Farnborough & Camberley CC
25th Dan Charity Twickenham CC
26th Andy Brown Thames Velo
27th Eng-Jon Ong Charlotteville CC
28th James Rapinac London Dynamo
29th Sam Alison Singular Cycles
30th Andrew Weighill Amersham RCC
31st Elwyn Powell Twickenham CC
32nd Anthony Middleton WyndyMilla
33rd Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
34th Ross Lindsay Unattached
35th Massimo Saetta Kingston Wheelers
36th Huw Dymond Reading. CC
37th Coley Brenan Unattached
38th Ali Akhtar Unattached
39th Andrew Deans London Dynamo
40th Elizabeth Dunne Wyndy Milla 4w
41st Chloe Weller Norwood Paragon 4w
42nd Keith Loveman Verulam CC
43rd David Jack Loveman Verulam CC 4J
44th Nathan Wilson Kingston Wheelers
45th Sally Stubbs Imperial Racing Team 4w
46th Harriet Hollis Imperial Racing Team 4w
47th Emma Van Dijkum Unattached 4w

Series Leader Board after 10 rounds (Best of 9)
1st Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 1610
2nd James Norris High Wycombe CC 1280
3rd Josh Jones Cambridge University CC 1100
4th Jake Martin Pedal Heaven RT 1000
5th Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe 970
6th Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT 690
7th Jacek Reder Unattached 690
8th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 650
9th Joshua Mitchell Bicester Millenium 620
10th Lawrence Carpenter Catford Equipe Banks 580
11th Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo 550
12th Graham Crow Twickenham cc 520
13th James Bradley Twickenham CC 470
14th Phil Holloway southend wheelers 460
15th Henry Furniss WyndyMilla 390
16th Sam Humpheson Look mum no hands! 300
16th Si Cox NFTO 300
18th Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC 280
19th Angelo Christides Unattached 270
20th Ralph Keeler Cambridge CC 250


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,