This Weekend: Pros Turn out for Clayton Spring Classic


This weekend will see the first clash of the pros in Britain in the Clayton Sprint Classic in Lancashire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Pros Turn out for Clayton Spring Classic

With over 60 entries returned for the 48th running of the Clayton Spring Classic Handicap road race, it is testament to the popularity of both the event and demand for places from the lower categories. With the biggest first group ever of 22 Juniors and the Pro/ Elite scratch group numbering 34 there have been fewer places for the 2/3/4 categories in the 80 man field.


Last year’s winner Richard Handley returns with an eight man Rapha team, Velosure Giordana have seven, Wheelbase and Madison-Genesis four each while past winner Tom Murray as one team mate from Metaltek-Knights of old. New team NFTO and Starley Primal are represented by Josh Hunt and Jack Puller.

The handicap format is a throwback to midweek racing pre closed road circuits where young riders could cut their teeth on how to work with a group and learn the ropes, while the Pro and Elite riders get a full on workout in pursuit of the front markers. “It’s something we could do with more of” said race organiser Peter Boast. “we will look at the race again next year in view of its popularity.”

Event HQ is Eddisford Primary School, Eddisford road Clitheroe. The 3.9 mile circuit is walkable as there is no parking on the circuit. Race starts at 10am
Spring Classic Handicap Road Race. Rider list

Group 1 Juniors 16-18 and Women
1 Reserved for 2013 winner
2 Alex Braybrooke Velocity WD-40
3 Fabian Brennan Velocity WD-40
4 Jack Escritt Res 1 Velocity WD-40
5 Stuart Belfour Spokes Racing Team
6 Fraser Martin Spokes Racing Team
7 Ben Forsyth Res 5 Spokes Racing Team
8 Lewis Grieve Spokes Racing Team
9 Max Spedding Res 3 Birkenhead NE
10 Julian Varley Res 9 PH-MAS Cycling
11 Oliver Payton PH-MAS Cycling
12 Rory Mellis Bicycle Works
13 Ben McIntosh Crewe Clarion Whs
14 Andy Brown Glasgow Cycle Team
15 Lewis Mulholland Glasgow Cycle Team
16 Robert Tree Glasgow Cycle Team
17 Sean McGovern Teamwallis
18 John Didsbury Res 6 Lune RCC
19 Ryan McGillick Mossley CRT
20 Jay McCarthy Res 8 Clitheroe Bike Ckub
21 Wilf Sargeant West Pennine RC
22 Matt Cosgrove Sportcity Velo
23 Joe Robinson Res 11 Wills Wheels
24 Heather Bamforth Stretford Whls CC
25 Bex Rimmington Team Merlin
26 Clarie Rutherford Team Wheelguru
27 Claire Munton Vegitarian C & AC

Group 2 Cat 2/3/4
At 4 mins
28 Paul Brady
29 James Claydon Bill Nickson RT
30 Simon Deplitch Team Leapfrog
31 Warren Gell Coveryourcar RT
32 Mark Horrocks Hope Factory Racing
33 Ben Howe Res 4 Cycle Sport Pendle
34 Phil West VC St Raphael
35 Matt Winston VC St Raphael
36 Aidan Holgate North Lancs RC
37 Craig Battersby Team Leapfrog
38 Chris Nicholson Team Wallis
39 Matt Bulmer All Terrain Cycles
40 Hamish Graham BC Private member
41 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle
42 Sam Dobson Res 7 Green Jersey RT
43 Daren Acton Res 2 Team Leapfrog
44 Ben Aldred Team Leapfrog
45 Josh Ferguson Kuota-Spinergy
46 Karl Freeman Team Wheelguru
47 Mark Hammersley Team Wheelguru
48 Paul Johnson Team Wheelguru
49 Shaun Pearson Team Hoppers
50 Frank Pilkington Bill Nickson RT
51 Jordan Rigby Team Wallis
52 Matt Robinson Res 10 All Terain Cycles
53 Duncan Smith Team Hoppers
54 Steve Stoneman Bott CT
55 Alistair Wareham Team Swift
56 Chris Waters Ribble Valley Juniors
57 Mark Westwood BC Private member

Scratch Group Pro team/Elite/ Cat 1 At 7 Min 30 Sec
1 Richard Handley Rapha Condor JLT
58 Luke Grivell-Mellor Rapha Condor JLT
59 Hugh Carthy Rapha Condor JLT
60 Michael Cuming Rapha Condor JLT
61 Felix English Rapha Condor JLT
62 Tom Moses Rapha Condor JLT
63 Jack Sadler Rapha Condor JLT
64 Richard Lang Rapha Condor JLT
65 Tom Barras Wheelbase Altura
66 Sam Boast Wheelbase Altura
67 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura
68 Simon Wilson Wheelbase Altura
69 Liam Holohan Madison Genesis
70 Ian Bibby Madison Genesis
71 Matt Holmes Madison Genesis
72 Dominic Jelfs Madison Genesis
73 Tommy Bustard Velosure Giordana
74 Nathan Edmondson Velosure Giordana
75 Matt Cronshaw Velosure Giordana
76 James Moss Velosure Giordana
77 James Gullen Velosure Giordana
78 Richard Hepworth Velosure Giordana
79 Rob Partridge Velosure Giordana
80 Steve Abbott Team Hoppers Rollers
81 Julian Pearson Team Hoppers Rollers
82 Tom Bracegirdle Biketreks Academy
83 Steven Smith Champion Systems
84 Declan Byrne Baguet-MIBA Poorten
85 Andy Leigh Terra Footwear
86 Josh Hunt NFTO
87 Tom Neale Spalding CC
88 Jacob Tipper KTM road-and-trail
89 Jack Puller Starley Primal
90 David McGowan Metaltek – Knights
91 Tom Murray


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK