Volta Algarve: Stage 1 to Sacha Modolo


1-2 for Lampre-Merida as Modolo and World Champion Costa lead the field home with no joy for Cavendish in bunch kick

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Volta Algarve: Stage 1 to Sacha Modolo - New signing for Lampre Merida proving to be a hit in the sprints.

Today in the Portuguese stage race, Volta ao Algarve, the race was decided by a bunch kick after a 160 kilometre stage from Faro to Albufeira Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) was the fastest sprinter to the finish line claiming his fourth victory this season ahead of teammate, Rui Costa and Alessandro Petacchi (Omega-Pharma Quick Step).

The finale saw the World Champion stripes to the fore as Rui Costa chased Michael Kwiatkowski up the hill with a k to go, allowing Modolo to reach the summit in a very good position, and he simply accelerated past Cost to the victory.

Modolo “It was such a beautiful day. I could rely on the help by my team mates: Cattaneo and Oliveira who help chase the five attackers, Horner and Polanc were invaluable when I punctured with 30 km to go. Then Richeze and Ferrari led me to the head of the bunch for the final part of the race. Then, I could receive the support of the world champion. It’s something so amazing, Rui asked me if I was feeling good, I told him that my legs were so he chased Kwiatkowski and then he played the role of the co-pilot for the final 500 metres.”

“These four successes don’t change my attitude and my programs: I’ll go on training and working in a mild way, I don’t want to feel the pressure of too high targets. I think it’s important to dedicate a thought to two young men that lost their lives while cycling: I did not know personally Kristof Goddaert e Yung Hwan Youm, but their passings make me so sad”.

1 MODOLO Sacha Lampre – Merida 03:51:46
2 COSTA Rui Lampre – Merida
3 PETACCHI Alessandro Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
4 COQUARD Bryan Team Europcar
5 NAPOLITANO Danilo Wanty – Groupe Gobert
6 DéMARE Arnaud FDJ.fr
7 PINTO Edgar LA Aluminios – Antarte
8 SCHORN Daniel Team NetApp – Endura
9 TSATEVICH Alexey Team Katusha
10 LOBATO Juan Jose Movistar Team

30 CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto Tinkoff-Saxo
33 RENSHAW Mark Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
43 VOSS Paul Team NetApp – Endura
44 MARTIN Tony Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
47 DOWSETT Alex Movistar Team
72 CAMANO ORTUZAR Iker Team NetApp – Endura
74 HORNER Chris Lampre – Merida
94 CAVENDISH Mark Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
105 MCEVOY Jonathan Team NetApp – Endura 00:14
126 DE GENDT Thomas Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:29
135 ROWSELL Erick Team NetApp – Endura
158 VOECKLER Thomas Team Europcar


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,