Report/Results Velo29 Croft Spring Races


Jack Barret winner at Velo29’s new format of races at the popular Croft Circuit in North Yorkshire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report/Results Velo29 Croft Spring Races



Today was the first round of a new format of racing from Velo29, their own non BC Croft Spring Races. Velo29 are trialing two events this year which are not attached to any governing body. They are insured to the same level as BC, offer rules and regulations which as well as being as inclusive as possible, still offer great fun, competitive and safe racing.

Fine conditions at Croft made for a good attendance and mix of riders from people brand new to the sport, a good selection of 4th and 3rd cats as well as a few local 2nd cats.

It was a handicapped race of 30 miles on the popular Croft Circuit. With a very low wind for Croft, the racing was fast. The small group of first time races obviously fancied some beginners luck and the first two laps were ran at 05:12 followed by a 2nd at 05:14, that’s around 25mph. Not bad for riders brand new to racing.

However, as ever they tired and with 11 laps to go all was back together. An immediate attack came from Jack Barret, a regular at Croft finishing 3rd in last week’s North East Trophy.

Jack thundered away and on lap 10 set a season record lap time of 04:30, even faster than Steve Lampier’s race winning lap from the North East Trophy! Jack was never going to be caught, an impressive feat on the open and fast circuit.

He slowly extended his lead and though riders were working well behind him, he soloed to victory, arms in the air for a deserving win. It’s rare we see a rider survive more than a few laps alone at Croft. Watch out for Jack this season, he’s looking on great form.

Martin Lonie came home 2nd, just managing to pop away from the Peloton on the last lap with Martin Hopkinson wining the bunch sprint ahead of Stuart Neilson.

The series continues next Saturday. It’s only £10 and all categories of rider are welcome. No licence needed, just turn up and enjoy. Racing starts at 11:00, it’s entry on the day only.

Velo29 have been running some great live updates via Facebook with images and text from the track side. They have introduced a new web based timing system giving them the ability to post immediate updates on the race via Facebook page and soon on their own website.

We’ll see more on this as the year progresses, keep an eye on their pages next Saturday for live race updates!

1 Jack Barret
2 Martin Lonie
3 Martin Hopkinson
4 Stuart Neilson
5 Mark Johnson
6 Simon Hulme
7 Michael Smart
8 Julian Humberstrong
9 Andrew Laycock
10 Nathan Thornton
11 Adam Pearson
12 Gordon Jackson
13 Peter Greenan
14 Alasdair Michael
15 Dylan Hesher
16 Kevin Gibbons
17 Paul Lawson
18 Alistar MacDonald
19 Ian Dunn
20 Tom Miley
21 Richard Davis
22 Adam Walker
23 Nick Armstrong
24 Neil Parkin
25 Roger Whitehill
26 Gary Carter
27 Crispin Oliver
28 Richard Hughes
29 Rory Oliver



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,