Report & Results – WWCRT Spring Races 3


Round 3 of the West Wales Cycle Racing Spring Races 3 on Saturday (22nd March) at Aberporth (Wales)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – WWCRT Spring Races 3
thanks to Michael Tarling)

It was a wild and windy day on the west coast of Wales for the 3rd round of the West Wales Cycle Racing Spring Series which made for some hard racing across all the categories.

Numbers were down on the previous week due to the bad weather and a clash with the local Eisteddfod but each event saw good racing and with the wind blowing a gale on the back straight everyone that finished was a winner.

First up were the intrepid Under 6 riders who raced for 10 minutes on a slightly shorter course. Cycle Tec’s Finn Davies led from start to finish taking the win followed home by Hawys Richards and Dylan Wright from promoting club WWCRT. Dafydd managed to not fall off this week and finished with a smile!


The Under 8s then took to the full course for their 15 minute race and it’s safe to assume that it was hard work based on the facial expressions. WWCRT rider Finlay Tarling and Cycle Tec’s Alfie Davies were first and second as per last week followed home by Alfie’s younger brother Finn who had just finished the under 6 race.
Fallon Haird and Libby Carton of WWCRT were next over the line and took first and second girl respectively.

The biggest bunch of the day was for the under 10s but unfortunately they had the worst of the weather with both a strong wind and heavy rain. Despite the tricky conditions the race was on from the gun with WWCRT’s Josh Tarling and Xavier Teece-Round setting the early pace.

Josh was quickly riding alone and took a commanding win but Xavier kept fighting for the whole race despite the tricky conditions. Dylan Davies and Meilyr Southgate had a coming together leading to a fall on the back straight but this was the only incident which was a testament to the skill of the children given the slippery corners. By the end of the race Josh Tarling took the win followed home by Xavier Teece-round with Seb Heal-White, also of WWCRT, taking the final podium spot. The girls had a race long tussle with Heledd Hunt taking the win over Awen Roberts both of Towy Riders with Lowri Richards of WWCRT taking third.


The Under 12s raced under slightly better conditions with the track drying out but the wind getting worse as the race progressed. Dani Parker from Towy Riders was the dominant rider taking the lead by the first corner and not looking back until the end of the race to be both first girl and first overall. Ifan Phillips from WWCRT came home in second followed by teammates Dafydd Wright, Jack Bradick, Theo Holgate and Katelyn Carton. New rider Owen Harries suffered a fall on the first lap but still managed to finish the race.

At this point in proceedings the wind had started to gust strongly requiring a change to the running order. As the wind was forecast to get worse the decision was made to run the U14, U16, ladies only and 4th cat men’s events concurrently on track. Unfortunately this resulted in one or two riders missing their event completely but under the circumstances the organiser and commissaries were left with little choice. Had the original timetable been adhered to the later senior events would have been cancelled.

The Under 14 race saw a win for Owain Roberts of Towy Riders who take a comfortable win ahead of Ieuan Phillips from WWCRT and Ella Barnwell of Towy Riders. 4th place and second girl was Rachel Davies who continues to improve week after week.

The Under 16 race was a duel between Will Roberts from County Cycles and Ethan Derrick of Newport Olympic who enjoyed attacking and counter attacking each other as the race progressed.

Despite numerous attempts to get away from each other it came down to a straight sprint with Will taking the wind from Ethan.

A pretty good ride form Will considering he’d left his kit bag at home and was riding in borrowed shoes, helmet and glasses and newly bought clothes! First U16 girl was WWCRT’s Tanwen Jones who managed to hold onto the ladies group out on track before leaving them before the end of her race. She was followed home by Alys Masters who had made the long trip up from Cardiff.

The ladies only race came down to a three way battle between Lois and Leah Brewer of Ystwyth CC and Charlotte Jennings of Bynea CC. These three battled it out for the whole race with Lois taking the win from Charlotte with Leah in third in a sprint finish. Battling the wind home in fourth was WWCRT’s Nia Richards who rode strongly throughout.


Last race to finish was the 4th cat men and by this point the wind was at its strongest. Lee Davies from Cycle Tec led from start to finish in a strong performance and was chased home by Geraint Roberts and Wayne Jones of TRCC. Alan Haird, Aled Richards and Dan Butler rounded out the top 6 and drew a close to events for the day.

The organiser would like to thank all the helpers of WWCRT that helped promote the races and a big thank you to all those that helped pack up race HQ when the wind took hold! A big thank you too to the riders who put on a good show in trying conditions and managed not to be blown into the sea. Next event on this circuit will be in June when better weather has been reserved. Big thanks to Qinetiq for preparing the circuit and providing the windproof barriers and to Aeron Waste Services and Cambrian Driver Training.

WWCRT Spring Races 3, Saturday 22nd March 2014

Under 6
1 Finn Davies Cycletec
2 Hawys Richards WWCRT (1st Girl)
3 Dylan Wright WWCRT

Under 8
1 Finlay Tarling WWCRT
2 Alfie Davies Cycletec
3 Finn Davies Cycletec
4 Fallon Haird WWCRT
5 Libby Carton WWCRT

Under 10
1 Joshua Tarling WWCRT
2 Xavier Teece-Round WWCRT
3 Seb Heal-White WWCRT
4 Heledd Hunt Towy Riders (1st Girl)
5 Awen Roberts Towy Riders (2nd Girl)
6 Charlie Barnwell Towy Riders
7 Lowri Richards WWCRT (3rd Girl)
8 Bethany Bennet Sosban Riders (4th Girl)
9 Garan Jones WWCRT
10 Jake Parker Towy Riders
11 Meilyr Southgate WWCRT
DNF Dylan Davies WWCRT

Under 12
1 DaniParker Towy Riders (1st Girl)
2 Ifan Phillips WWCRT
3 Dafydd Wright WWCRT
4 Jack Bradick WWCRT
5 Theo Holgate WWCRT
6 Katelyn Carton WWCRT (2nd Girl)
7 Owen Harries n/a

Under 14
1 Owain Roberts Towy Riders
2 Ieuan Phillips WWCRT
3 Ella Barnwell Towy Riders (1st Girl)
4 Rachel Davies WWCRT (2nd Girl)
Under 16
1 Will Roberts County Cycles
2 Ethan Derrick Newport Olympic
3 Tanwen Jones WWCRT (1st Girl)
4 Alys Masters Cardif Ajax CC (2nd Girl)

1 Lois Brewer Ystwyth CC
2 Charlotte Jennings Bynea CC
3 Leah Brewer Ystwyth CC
4 Nia Richards WWCRT

4th Cat Men
1 Lee Davies Cycle Tec
2 Geraint Roberts TRCC
3 Wayne Jones TRCC
4 Alan Haird WWCRT
5 Aled Richards WWCRT
6 Dan Butler WWCRT

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,