Report & Results – Apres Whacky Races 5


Another top day of racing at the Après Wacky Races Series Preston Park Velo with a good turn out in all races

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Apres Whacky Races 5 

ApresLogoReport by Mat Farren, Image by Jonty Tacon


CSE Racing took a one two after a good team performance, controlling the race throughout. It was never really going to happen if the others didn’t work together and at times they worked against each other – enabling the new team to keep control.

Not through want of trying though… most aggressive riders included Southdowns Bikes Stuart Bettis, Arctic Tacx’ Darren Barclay, Dynamos Dan Thut all on numerous attempts up the road but each time being reeled in.

A solid lead out train from 5 to go form CSE gave Tony Gibb the perfect platform with Ryan Visser taking second from London Dynamos Gavin Ryan in third. Nice job.


Most aggressive rider throughout with 8 goes up the road was our young favourite Matt Webber from Catford CC. Each time he was brought back or ran out of steam before launching plan H. This go was from 10 out…got to love a trier.

He broke them down, staying out, increasing the pace then nailing the last two laps taking 3/4 of a lap off the bunch. Well done young man! For the bunch local, Dan Fagg, Brighton Mitre went from 5 out with Alistair Gurney (Rapha CC) using him as a springboard from 4 and holding out till the final straight where he dug in for 4th.
James Bonham from Redhill CC took the bunch sprint for 2nd and Dulwichs Andrew Thomas 3rd.

South Downs Bikes Andrew Moore took a long one from 250 meters to go and stayed clear by 5 lengths with Sotonia CCs Will Weynberg in 2nd and Simon Lythgoe Addiscombe CC in 3rd.

An early break saw three stay away and Charlie Cooper I – Team CC take the line from Tom Easley Crawley Wheelers 2nd and WindyMillas Chris Jenkinson 3rd.

1. Tony Gibb CSE Racing
2. Ryan Visser CSE Racing
3. Gavin Ryan London Dynamo
4. George Farrell CSE Racing
5. Paul Barnard Southdowns Bikes
6. Mike Smith Cycleworks
7. Jonnie Blackman Beckenham RC
8. Harry Veale Cycleworks
9. Rhys Clegg PMR Toachim House
10. Stuart Bettis Southdowns Bikes

1. Matthew Webber Catford CC Equipe Banks Racing
2. James Bonham Redhill CC
3. Andrew Thomas Dulwich Paragon
4. Alistair Gurney Rapha Condor CC
5. Rob Brice In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp
6. Viktor Kazinec Dulwich Paragon
7. Jon Spiers Private Member
8. Ian Tosh 4T+ Velo
9. Joe Luckett GWB Activ
10. Paul Horta Hopkins Handsling RT

1. Andrew Moore Southdowns Bikes
2. Will Weynberg Sotonia CC
3. Simon Lythgoe Addiscombe CC
4. Paul Brett 4T+ Velo
5. Alberto Battaglin Dulwich Paragon
6. Louis Benson VC Londres
7. Miles Rice Twickenham CC
8. Rowan Miller 4T+Velo
9. Rory Barrett Southborough & District Wheelers
10. Steve Pellowe Twickenham CC




Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,