Event News – Cheshire Classic


Star-studded Cheshire Classic ready for biggest ever race with Olympic and Paralympic Champions and a Dame

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Event News – Cheshire Classic

This Sunday, Dame Sarah Storey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International), Laura Trott (Wiggle-Honda) and Joanna Rowsell (Wiggle-Honda) headline the biggest ever Cheshire Classic Women’s Road Race to date.


Above: Dame Sarah Storey.

The race, which is part of British Cycling’s National Series, takes place in Northwich on Sunday 27th April. The race sees riders compete over an extended race distance, taking on 12 ascents of the notorious “The Cliff” climb.

2013 Cheshire Classic winner Karla Boddy (Epic Cycles – Scott WRT) returns to defend her title alongside current leader of the National Series Nikki Juniper (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International), European Team Pursuit Champion Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) and Junior World Team Pursuit Champion Emily Kay (Epic Cycles – Scott WRT).

This 2014 edition of the Cheshire Classic features its biggest ever prize fund thanks to a wealth of new sponsors including household names Taylor Wimpey, Delamere Dairy alongside Wates and Adana Construction, Sport Cheshire, Epic Cycles, de Vere Venues and Your Sports Therapist.


Race Organiser Andy Wood commented: “We had over 140 entries for 80 places with riders coming from all over the UK. I’m really proud that we’ve been able to attract such a strong field and I’d like to thank everyone for their support. It is a great example of just how much Women’s cycling has developed. The talent we now have in the UK is incredible”.

The Cheshire Classic has been organised by Northwich based Weaver Valley Cycling Club since the 1980s and has seen household names such as Lizzie Armitstead, Lucy Garner, Mandy Jones and Nicole Cooke win the race.

Andy Wood said: “It’s such a prestigious race. It has been on the British Cycling National Calendar since its inception. In these modern times we’re proud as a cycling club to continue organising the race. The race is still run as not-for-profit. Every single penny is invested back in the race. We are proud to have a prize fund of over £2000 being invested back in Women’s cycling”.

A dedicated website features full information on the race, together with an advice area with tips for beginners and interviews with star riders. Please visit www.cheshireclassic.co.uk for more details. Real time updates can be found on Twitter @cheshireclassic and also Facebook.


Race Start Sheet
Karla Boddy Epic Cycles – Scott WRT Elite
Anna Christian Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 2nd
Laura Massey Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 1st
Emily Kay Epic Cycles – Scott WRT Elite
Molly Weaver Epic Cycles – Scott WRT 1st
Hannah Walker Epic Cycles – Scott WRT Elite
Louise Borthwick Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 1st
Corrine Hall Matrix Fitness – Vulpine Elite
Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 1st
Penny Rowson Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
Jo Tindley Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness – Vulpine 2nd
Katie Archibald Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 1st
Lauren Creamer Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 2nd
Hayley Jones Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 2nd
Nicola Juniper Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 2nd
Gabriella Shaw Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 1st
Dame Sarah Storey Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International Elite
Jane Barr Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
Hayley Edwards Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
Lyndsey Glazier Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
Anneliese Heard Starley Primal Pro Cycling 1st
Eileen Roe Starley Primal Pro Cycling Elite
Jennifer Taylor Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2nd
George Schwiening Fusion Racing Team 2nd
Natalie Grinczer Fusion Racing Team 2nd
Elizabeth Malins Fusion Racing Team 1st
Mathilde Pauls Fusion Racing Team 2nd
Gillian Taylor Fusion Racing Team 2nd
Amy Hill Fusion Racing Team 1st
Emily Barnes Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 2nd
Clemence Copie Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 1st
Natalie Creswick Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 1st
Louise Mahe Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 2nd
Adel Tyson-Bloor Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 1st
Tamiko Butler WyndyMilla – Reynolds Elite
Mary Costello WyndyMilla – Reynolds Elite
Cassie McGoldrick WyndyMilla – Reynolds 1st
Keira McVitty WyndyMilla – Reynolds 1st
Hannah Payton WyndyMilla – Reynolds 2nd
Joanna Rowsell Wiggle Honda Elite
Laura Trott Wiggle Honda Elite
Emma Trott Boels Dolmans 1st
Tamina Oliver Endura Lady Force – WV Zeeuws Vlaanderen 1st
Lucy Chittenden East St Cycles 1st
Lowri Devey Abergavenny Road Club 1st
Tracy Best Zappi’s Racing Team 1st
Joanne Blakeley GB Cycles.co.uk 2nd
Iona Sewell GB Cycles.co.uk 1st
Nicola Soden GB Cycles.co.uk 2nd
Brit Tate GB Cycles.co.uk 1st
Delia Beddis Les Filles Racing Team 2nd
Nikki Engelbach Les Filles Racing Team 2nd
Nicole Oh Les Filles Racing Team 2nd
Helen Ralston Les Filles Racing Team 2nd
Bryony Board Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa 2nd
Lydia Boylan Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa Elite
Hayley Simmonds Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa 2nd
Jennifer Hudson VC St Raphael 2nd
Eleanor Jones VC St Raphael 1st
Vanessa Whitfield VC St Raphael 2nd
Sophie Black Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech 2nd
Lucy Harper Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech 2nd
Paige Milward Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech 2nd
Lauren O’Brien RST Racing Team 2nd
Annasley Park RST Racing Team 2nd
Elizabeth Holden RST Racing Team 2nd
Eve Dixon Team 22 2nd
Jennifer Edwards Team 22 2nd
Lauren Brown Team Jadan 2nd
Victoria Hood Team Jadan 2nd
Kayleigh Brogan Team Thomsons Cycles 2nd
Elanor Cadzow Bonito Squadra Corse 2nd
Maryka Sennema Kingston Whls CC 2nd
Alice Barnes T-Mo Racing 2nd
Katie Curtis Cardiff JIF 2nd
Flora Gillies Speg – Project 51 2nd
Anda-Jay Burgess Rock And Road Cycles 2nd
Abigail Dentus Team De ver 2nd
Rachel Przybylski WyndyMilla 2nd

Reserve List
Laura Wasley Isle Of Man Cycling Association 2nd
Alice Cobb Squadra Donne 2nd
Ruth Taylor Manchester Whlrs Club 2nd
Gina Riley Chester RC 2nd
Lydia Gurley Merlin Cycles 2nd
Frances White Team Jadan 3rd
Rebecca Womersley WyndyMilla – Reynolds 3rd
Bethany Crumpton North West Mountain Bike Centre – Specialised 3rd
Bethany Coupland Mid Shropshire Whls 3rd
Victoria Grimmer Paramount CRT 3rd


Twitter: @cheshireclassic
Facebook: www.facebook.com/cheshireclassic
YouTube Video of 2013 edition: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6Z8-Mpva3c
Website: www.cheshireclassic.co.uk


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,