Medway Velo News – Record turnout for 2-up Club Championships


14 teams took part in the Thanet RC 2-up Team Time Trial at Manston on Easter Monday, 21 April.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Medway Velo News – Record turnout for 2-up Club Championships

0002up pic

The event, which is a club championship, was held in good conditions in Manston and involved two laps of a sporting course totalling 9.5-miles. A warm reception greeted the Mighty Medway Velo riders from members of the Thanet RC, whose marshals and helpers cheered on all riders as they passed on course. A special mention must go to Rodney and Barbara Kennison of MVC who marshalled the whole event and did a great job in encouraging the teams.

The velo managed to get into the prize money in three categories. Taking the club championship and 2nd place in the mixed team were Rob Kennison (50) and Cassie McGoldrick (18). This is the first time in the clubs history that a lady rider has won this championship. The duo completed the course in 22.17.

Winning the category for a senior rider and junior rider were Sydney Hawes (18) and Sam Farley (17). The young-guns did an exceptional ride of 22.47. A new club record was set in the women’s event which was also won outright by Sally Smith (34) and Victoria Strila (33) in a time of 24.51. The record had previously stood at 25.37.

Karen Florey rode with Richard Stokoe to complete in 27.26, this is the first time Karen has exceeded the 20mph mark, a massive personal improvement demonstrating how riding with the club regularly can benefit riders speed and fitness.

000 2 up pic 2

Medway Velo Club Championships
1st Cassie McGoldrick & Rob Kennison (22.17)
2nd Steve & Andrew Smith (22.33)
3rd Sam Farley (17) & Sydney Hawes (18)
4th Ian Stephens and Rob Sapp (22.56)
5th Jacob and Tom Kennison (23.18)
6th Matt and Andy Fearn (23.26)
7th Tom Knight and Cai Jarvis (23.35)
8th Mark Barton and Paul Daniel (24.24)
9th Geoff Graham and Harvey Pope (24.32)
10th Gordon Chambers & Shaun Robinson (24.35)
11th Victoria Strila & Sally Smith (24.51)
12th Nigel Wharton & Michael Florey (25.26)
13th Richard Stokoe & Karen Florey (27.26)
14th Lee Kingston & Steve Nixon (28.33)

Overall Champions Cassie McGoldrick & Rob Kennison
Womens Champions Victoria Strila and Sally Smith
Veterans Champions Mark Barton and Paul Daniel
Junior Champions Sam Farely and Sydney Hawes

Overall Results
1st Andrew Meilak & Kevin Tye VeloRefined Aerosmiths (19.20)


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK