Report & Results – Brooks Cycles Track league


Great weather for the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track league last Thursday (24th July) in Newcastle, Staffordshire

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Results – Brooks Cycles Track league – Thanks Chris

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

The latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track league took place on Thursday 24th July 2014 at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme, Staffs, under clear blue skies and again the temperatures were high on and off the track.

The best attended league group was the youth league despite the holiday season in full swing. Caleb Hill ( Lyme RC) had a great night winning the devil and 6 lap scratch along with being a member of the winning team sprint team to score enough points to take the lead in the overall standings. The other youth race, the 3 ½ lap block handicap was won by Sam Hall ( Lyme RC) after taking advantage of his long mark.

The Sprinters league saw Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles) take advantage of league leader Tom Rotherhams absence in winning the sprint and team sprint to close the gap on his rival. The opening 500m handicap league event was won by Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles ).

The A Class endurance events saw first time this year rider Fabian Brennan ( Velocity RT WD40) take the 12 lap scratch and the 10 mile scratch. Alex Braybrooke (Velocity RT WD40 ) won the course de primes and Will Perrett ( Heanor Clarion) won the Win and Out.

In the B Class events Phil Braybrooke ( Manchester Wheelers) had his best night of the year in winning the 12 lap scratch and the points. James Brayford ( Lyme RC ) won the devil and Liam Davies did a great ride to take the 10 mile scratch. Also of note was Sallie Birchall ( Lyme RC) who scored 7 points in taking a second in the devil and 10 mile along with a third place in the points.

The freewheelers races saw some really spirited races across all three groups with the top points scorers being as follows;
Group 1 Aaron Mansell and Bradley Heath 10 points
Group 2 Chloe Shepherd, Minnie McKenzie and Amy Graham 7 points
Group 3 Thomas Mould 9 Points

Group 1
Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Joe Boulton Lyme RC
3rd Bradley Heath Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Bradley Heath
2nd Aaron Mansell
3rd Harry Brayford Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Bradley Heath
2nd Harry Brayford
3rd Aaron Mansell

Race 4
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Bradley Heath
3rd Joe Boulton

Group 2

Race 1
1st Austin Scott Lyme RC
2nd Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Amelie Perry Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ruby Jennings Lyme RC
2nd Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC

1st Amy Graham
2nd Minnie McKenzie
3rd Talisha Morley Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Ruby Jennings
2nd George Graham
3rd Chloe Shepherd

Race 5
1st Amy Graham
2nd Minnie McKenzie
3rd Cameron O’Neil

Race 6
1st Chloe Shepherd
2nd Amelie Perry
3rd Ruby Jennings

Group 3

Race 1st
1st Thomas Mould
2nd Owen Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Emma O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Christian Morley Lyme RC
2nd Owen Shepherd
3rd Emma O’Neil

Race 3
1st Thomas Mould Lyme RC
2nd Owen Shepherd
3rd Emma O’Neil

Race 4
1st Emma O’Neil
2nd Thomas Mould
3rd Owen Shepherd


Neil Potter 500m Handicap League
1st Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
2nd Lauren Davies Leicestershire RC
3rd Dave Smith Stafford RC
4th Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
5th Seb Horner PH-MAS Cycling
6th Jack Payne Sportcity Velo

Youth Block Handicap
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
2nd Joel Ackers Eastlands Velo
3rd Caleb Hill Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 12 laps Scratch
1st Fabian Brennan Velocity RT WD40
2nd Will Perrett Heanor Clarion
3rd Steve Hall Lyme RC

B Class 12 lap Scratch
1st Phil Braybrooke Manchester Wheelers
2nd James Hollins Uttoxeter CC
3rd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC

A Class team sprint
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
Dave Smith
Lauren Davies

Youth Team Sprint
1st Liam Davies Leicestershire RC
Joel Ackers
Caleb Hill
Megan Williams Newcastle RC 2001
George Hancock Lyme RC
Louis Perry Lyme RC

A Class Course de Primes
1st Alex Braybrooke Velocity WD40
2nd Fabian Brennan
3rd Steve Hall

B Class Devil
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Sallie Birchall
3rd James Hollins

Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Jack Payne
3rd Phil Houlton

Minor Final
1st Steve Cronshaw
2nd Dave Smith
3rd Seb Horner

Ladies Sprint Final
1st Lauren Davies
2nd Rhian Putt Swinnerton Cycles

Youth Devil
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Alex Coates Lyme RC
3rd Liam Davies

A Class Win and out
1st Will Perrett
2nd Fabian Brennan
3rd Alex Braybrooke

B Class 8 lap Points
1st Phil Braybrooke
2nd James Brayford
3rd Sallie Birchall

Youth 6 lap Scratch
1st Caleb Hill
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd Liam Davies

10 Mile Scratch
1st Fabian Brennan
2nd Will Perrett
3rd Chris Pyatt

B Class
1st Liam Davies
2nd Sallie Birchall
3rd James Brayford


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , , ,