Report – Velo Club Venta Summer Criterium 2


Lewis Atkins holds off Andy Pickett right on the line to win the second of the crits held at the South Winchester Park and Ride promoted by local club VC Venta

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report – Velo Club Venta Summer Criterium 2

Sunday 31st August | Graham Robins Words & Pics 

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

After an hours racing and three laps it was Lewis Atkins (Pedal Heaven) who managed to hold of Andy Pickett (VC Venta) right on the line to win the second of the crits held at the South Winchester Park and Ride promoted by local club VC Venta.


Making the most of the late summer sun a large group of riders took advantage to converge on the car park and the racing never let us down all day. Other winners today were Adele Martin (VC St Raphael) in the women’s race, Max Webber (Andover Wheelers) and Scott Michaels (Soton Uni RC).

The E/1/2 race was contested by a group of eight riders who got away from the remainder of the bunch after about ten minutes of the sixty completed. There were twelve in the original escape but the pace was really fast and soon four dropped back and into the bunch while the eight continued on and extended their gap to over forty seconds. This group consisted of Lewis Atkins and Any Pickett along with Justin Hoy and Rob Ward (Felt Colbornes Hargroves RT), Al Murison (Bikeshed-UEX), Alex Miting (Neon-Velo Cycling) along with Harry Veale and Mike Smith (

The leading group then started putting laps into the bunch passing them three times before the end of the race before they allowed their pace to drop and settled in for the last couple of laps. The last three laps before the bell were a very much slower pace and at the bell the group were still all together. At the last turn the leaders started to speed up and soon it was Lewis and Andy who emerged in the lead sprinting towards the line, it was close all the way to the line with Lewis clinching it right on the line by the width of a tyre. Justin Hoy was third clinching the last point he need to retain his elite licence for the seventeenth successive season.

Adele Martin (VC St Raphael) was the winner of the women’s race, leading home a depleted bunch. The lead group of six were all working together throughout the entire 40min +2lap race with no one able to get away as the pace remained constant throughout the race. Even at the bell you could not pick a winner so this race like the elite race all came down to the last turn and whoever was the strongest out of it. As Adele charged towards the line Megan Chard (MandD Cycles) was right on her wheel but unable to pass, Adel Tyson-Bloor (MuleBar girl) was close enough to take third with the other three unable to stay in the sprint.

The third cat race over a 40min +3lap race distance saw three riders form a strong alliance after 20mins and these three stayed away and they managed to make the junction to the back of the bunch just towards the end of the race time. The three riders Max Webber (Andover Wheelers) along with James Franklin and Chris Hutchings (VC Venta) were allowed to roll though un- impeded and continue to race until the end. As the three exited the bottom turn Chris dropped back and the sprint was contested right to the line with Max the stronger rider taking the win with ease.
1 Lewis Atkins Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
2 Andrew Pickett Velo Club Venta
3 Justin Hoy Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
4 Alexander Murison Bikeshed – UEX
5 Alex Minting Neon-Velo Cycling Team
6 Harry Veale
7 Mike Smith
8 Robert Ward Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
9 Simon Jodrell Odiham Cycling Club
10 Duncan Lancashire Andover Whls
11 John McClelland Bush Healthcare CRT
12 James Plumb
13 Ashley Martin Bikeshed – UEX
14 Patryk Rucki
15 Scott Arthur Army Cycling Union
16 Wayne Coombs BH-Solidor-WAM Youth
17 Elliott Pike Lichfield City CC
18 Oliver Hitchings Peter Hansford Racing
19 Frank Kilsby VC St Raphael
20 James Cooper Rock N Road Cycles
21 Daniel Stephens Rock N Road Cycles
22 Jason Duckworth VC St Raphael

Women E/1/2/3/4
1 Adele Martin VC St Raphael
2 Megan Chard M and D Cycles/Scimitar Sports…
3 Adel Tyson-Bloor Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Spor…
4 Jennifer Powell Cheltenham & County CC
5 Lili McLean Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
6 Georgina Panchaud
7 Donna Short Army Cycling Union
8 Keeley Spate Salisbury Road and Mountain CC

3rd Cat only
1 Max Webber Andover Whls
2 James Franklin Velo Club Venta
3 Chris Hutchings Velo Club Venta
4 Sam Baker Wightlink,LCM Systems Cycle RT
5 Ryan Keynes Odiham Cycling Club
6 Mitch Evans Ride 24/7
7 James Ash Rock N Road Cycles
8 Jon Shillingford Thames Velo
9 Mark Sharratt Outdoor Traders Cycling Club
10 Daniel Edwards Sotonia CC
11 Phil Wilks Sotonia CC
12 Mark Valentine Poole Whls CC
13 James Peckham Sotonia CC

4th Cat only
1 Scott Michaels Southampton University RC
2 Benjamin Bartlett
3 Alan Murchison
4 Peter Merritt VC Deal
5 James Thomas Southampton University RC
6 Thomas Rutter Cheltenham & County CC
7 Mitchell Blain Mono Velo CC
8 Ben Scott-Munden Sotonia CC
9 Paul Ransom Sotonia CC
10 Adam Whitfield Outdoor Traders Cycling Club
11 Julian Lockwood
12 Steven Williams Army Cycling Union
13 Dominic Morley Southdown Velo
14 Neil Dunn Pretorius Bikes
15 Edward Gurney Velo Club Venta
16 Alexander Smith Eden Veranda Racing

U16 Boys
1 James Mitri Dream Cycling
2 Alexander Cross Oakley Pedalers
3 Charlie Cooper I-Team Cyclists’ Club
4 Edward Rollitt Eden Veranda Racing
5 Samuel Wadsley Poole Whls CC
6 Tom Reid New Forest CC
7 James Brickell Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
8 Frederick Coreth Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
9 Ben Adey
10 Jack Marshall Barking & Dagenham CC
11 Brandon King CC Weymouth
12 Alfie Marles Velo Club Venta

U16 Girls
1 Megan Chard M and D Cycles/Scimitar Sports…
2 Emma Clarke Palmer Park Velo RT

U14 Boys
1 Liam Hanks Barking & Dagenham CC
2 Alexi Edwards Welwyn Wheelers CC
3 Connor Geddes Gillingham and District Wheele…
4 Will Cooper I-Team Cyclists’ Club
5 Lewis Haller Charlotteville CC
6 James Geddes Gillingham and District Wheele…
7 Elliot Cox Portsmouth North End CC
8 Samuel Clark I-Team Cyclists’ Club
9 Thomas Munday Portsmouth North End CC

U14 Girls
1 Caitlin Peters Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
2 Molly Konchesky Barking & Dagenham CC
3 Darcey McCrossan

U12 Boys
1 Klaidas Lazickas Barking & Dagenham CC
2 Owen Giles Portsmouth North End CC
3 Thomas Day Poole Whls CC
4 Nathaniel Brooks

U12 Girls
1 Rosie Dias Barking & Dagenham CC
2 Izzy Brickell Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
3 Freya Richardson Portsmouth North End CC
4 Melissa Warrilow Barking & Dagenham CC

U10 Boys
1 Lawrence Martindale Chippenham & Dist Whls
2 Joseph O’Brien Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 James Salter Velo Club Venta
4 Harry Jey Barking & Dagenham CC
5 Jamie Whitcher Solent Pirates
6 Calum Moir Barking & Dagenham CC
7 Harry Clarke Palmer Park Velo RT
8 Oscar Pratt Velo Club Venta
9 Auguste Mackintosh WyndyMilla

U10 Girls
1 Bethany Bennett Sosban Riders
2 Leah Warrilow
3 Rosa Povan
4 Madeleine Mackintosh WyndyMilla
5 Daria Wozniak WyndyMilla

U8 Boys
1 Finlay Hawker Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 Joseph Martindale Chippenham & Dist Whls
3 Finn O’Brien Hillingdon Slipstreamers
4 Samuel Edmunds Velo Club Venta
5 Harry Gaster Velo Club Venta
6 Daniel Allpress Barking & Dagenham CC
7 Bobby Buenfeld Gosport BMX Club

U8 Girls
1 Bobbie O’Brien Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 Otti Povan
3 Evelyn Mills Andover Whls
4 Isla Knight


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,