Preview – Jef Schils Memorial Race


A full field of 100 riders is pre-entered for the National B Jef Schils Memorial Race organised by VeloSchils Interbike RT

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview – Jef Schils Memorial Race
(thanks to Michael Humphreys)

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Sunday 7th September Marks Tey, Colchester.

The 126km road race takes place on Sunday 7th September on a twin circuit of lanes to the west of Colchester. Based on the three previous editions, the race is likely to split under the pressure of repeated attacks around laps of 12 and 19km. This year a new uphill run-in to the finish means riders must do their utmost not to lose touch with the leaders.

The Schils family runs VeloSchils Interbike at Marks Tey. They inaugurated the race in memory of Jef Schils, the 1952 Belgian Professional Champion who died in 2007. On Sunday Patrick and Nickie will watch their son Dominic Schils ride the race for the Belgium-based Zannata Cycling Team. With a hatful of good results recently, will this be his winning year?

Matt Cronshaw won last year and is back with Giordana Pro Racing team mate George Harper. Matti Stiens, riding out of Belgium for Van Eyck Sport has top-10 history; so do Jake Hales, Jamie Caldwell and Jason White, 2011 winner. Back with a stronger 8-man team presence Rhys Howells of Richardsons Trek is obviously a contender but the other well-represented teams; Spirit Bikes, Neon Velo, and Metaltek Kuota will all try to position their elites at the front and then patrol the bunch. More international entries come from US team Astellas ProCycling, whose Matt Green (a Londoner) is joined by Tasman team-mate Clay Murfet.

This is a great race to come and watch too. Riding out from the Marks Tey Best Western Hotel, with sign-on at the nearby Interbike shop, the riders come to the circuit at Layer Breton and its perfect village green. This is where the hot spot sprints points are won each time around and then the finish comes back up to the green the other way. Spectators get to see this action whilst keeping themselves topped-up with food and drink from the Hare and Hounds. Bike racing, barbecue, beer, Belgian kermis musiek – what’s not to like?!

Please come along and enjoy the racing at Layer Breton near Marks Tey. There is ample spectator parking in the field just behind the Hare and Hounds.

Programme and full race details here;-


Jef Schils winning Paris Tours in 1953

1 Nick Gasson 34 Nomads CC 2nd
2 Mark Perry AllterrainRC 1st
3 James Bevan Army Cycling Union 2nd
4 Ian Cullen Army Cycling Union 3rd
5 Ian Tosh Army Cycling Union 2nd
6 Matthew Green Astellas Pro Cycling USA Elite
7 Clay Murfet Astellas Pro Cycling USA Elite
8 Russell Hampton Athlonsport 1st
9 Gareth Turner Autostrasse Porsche RT 2nd
10 Mike Debney Cadence Cycling Performance Elite
11 William Pratt Cadence Cycling Performance 1st
12 Joseph Halloran Cambridge CC 3rd
13 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC 2nd
14 Toby Parnell Cambridge CC 2nd
15 Wojciech Szlachta Cambridge University RT 1st
16 Louis Modell Catford CC Banks Equipe 2nd
17 Stephen Cavey Catford CC Banks Equipe 2nd
18 Douglas Coleman CC Luton 1st
19 Ashley Cox CC Luton Elite
20 Simon Fox CC Luton 2nd
21 Luke Morgan CC Luton 2nd
22 Jonathan Pool Chelmer CC 3rd
23 Kieran Brady City Cycle 1st
24 Jason White Clay Cross Road Team 1st
25 Mike Smith Colchester Rovers CC 2nd
26 Anthony Morris Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA) 2nd
27 Neil Murphy Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA) 2nd
28 William Harper Dulwich Paragon CC 2nd
29 George Georgallides Finchley Racing Team 2nd
30 Mark Smith Finchley Racing Team 2nd
31 Craig Nicholls Glendene CC 2nd
32 Henry Robertshaw Glendene CC 2nd
33 Shaun Holbrow Haverhill Cycling Club 3rd
34 Martin Ruepp Iceni Velo 2nd
35 Rolandas Razgauskis La Fuga.CC 2nd
36 Riko Sibbe London Dynamo 2nd
37 Gunther Zechmann London Phoenix CC 1st
38 Chris Bartlett Metaltek KUOTA RT 1st
39 William Bjergfelt Metaltek KUOTA RT Elite
40 Rhys Lloyd Metaltek KUOTA RT 1st
41 Alex Anderson Neon-Velo Cycling Team 2nd
42 Philip Cooper Neon-Velo Cycling Team 2nd
43 Joshua Green Neon-Velo Cycling Team 1st
44 James Jobber Neon-Velo Cycling Team 1st
45 Marc Townsend Neon-Velo Cycling Team 2nd
46 Daniel Young Neon-Velo Cycling Team 2nd
47 George Richardson NFTO Race Club 2nd
48 Tom Stringer Outdoor Traders Cycling Club 2nd
49 Rhys Clegg PMR@Toachim House 1st
50 Oliver Davies Private 2nd
51 Jack Kirk Private 3rd
52 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT Elite
53 Lloyd Chapman Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
54 Andrew Hastings Richardsons-Trek RT Elite
55 Rhys Howells Richardsons-Trek RT Elite
56 Owen Lake Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
57 Andy Lyons Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
58 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT Elite
59 George Wood Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
60 Dan Gardner Speg – Project 51 1st
61 Oliver Moors Speg – Project 51 2nd
62 Mark Baines Spirit Bikes Racing Team Elite
63 Jack Beezer Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
64 Edward Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
65 Christopher Dredge Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
66 Jack Waller Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
67 Lubomir Belak St Ives CC 2nd
68 Jack Burgin St Ives CC 3rd
69 Rory Havis St Ives CC 2nd
70 Jason Kierman St Ives CC 2nd
71 Max Sahota St Ives CC 3rd
72 Malcolm Smith St Ives CC 1st
73 Jamie Caldwell Starley Primal Pro Cycling Elite
74 Lewis Stevens Strada-Sport 1st
75 Jacob Nicholson Team Bottecchia UK 2nd
76 Henry Hunter Teamwallis CHH Racing Team 1st
77 Tom Fitzpatrick Terra Safety Shoes 1st
78 Matti Stiens Van Eyck Sport Elite
79 James Browne VC Norwich 2nd
80 Dale Johnston VC Norwich 2nd
81 Oliver Edwards VC Revolution 3rd
82 Andrew Holmes VC Revolution 3rd
83 Mark Yale VC Revolution 3rd
84 Matthew Carter Velo Schils – Interbike RT 3rd
85 Mark Hurrell Velo Schils – Interbike RT 3rd
86 Trevor Ormes Velo Schils – Interbike RT 2nd
87 Nick Perks Velo Schils – Interbike RT 3rd
88 Matthew Webster VeloVelocity/Risbygate Solicitors 2nd
89 Daniel Maynard Welwyn Wheelers CC 2nd
90 Ben Smith Welwyn Wheelers CC 3rd
91 Oliver Maxwell Windmill Wheels Cycling Club 1st
92 Marcus Partridge Windmill Wheels Cycling Club 2nd
93 Jake Hales WyndyMilla – Reynolds Elite
94 Dominic Schils Zannata Cycling Team 1st
95 Mathew Cronshaw Giordana Pro Racing Elite
96 George Harper Giordana Pro Racing Elite
97 Harry Franklin Catford CC Equipe Banks 1st
98 Alister Hepworth Team BikeBox 1st
99 Ash Proctor Team BikeBox 1st

Jef Schils Memorial previous results

1 Matt Cronshaw Team IG – Sigma Sport
2 Yanto Barker Team UK Youth
3 Samuel Williams NFTO Race Club
4 Tobyn Horton Team UK Youth
5 Andrew Hastings Finchley Racing
6 Harold Evans Aprire Bicycles
7 Jamie Caldwell MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
8 Rhys Howells Richardsons-Trek RT
9 Peter Williams Team IG – Sigma Sport
10 Marcin Bialoblocki Team UK Youth

1 Marcin Bialoblocki Giordana Racing Team
2 Mike Northey Giordana Racing Team
3 Peter Williams Giordana Racing Team
4 Matt Cronshaw Giordana Racing Team
5 James Sampson Giordana Racing Team
6 Matti Stiens
7 Jake Hales Team IG – Sigma Sport
8 Harold Evans VO2 Development Team
9 Steve Lampier Team IG – Sigma Sport
10 David Nichols Loughborough Students CC

1 Jason White MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
2 Joeri Buekin
3 David Nichols Wieler Team Van Eyck Sport
4 Ian Knight Alpha Road Club
5 Andrew Nichols Cambridge University CC
6 Andy Lyons Richardsons-Trek RT
7 Jake Hales Alpha Road Club
8 Dominic Schils Wieler Team Van Eyck Sport
9 Oliver Davies Planet X RT
10 Mike Jackson CC Luton


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,