News – Track Championships


Scots head to Manchester for the 2014 British Track Championships

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – Track Championships

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

This weekend riders from all across Scotland will be heading to Manchester for the British Track Championships.

Over 5 days of competition, 24 – 28 September, at Manchester’s National Cycling Centre, Scotland’s top cyclists will compete for the honour of becoming British Champion.

The first day of competition will see riders compete to win the Men and Women’s Team Pursuit and Para cycling C1- and BVI Time Trial titles. In the Women’s Team Pursuit event Glasgow Commonwealth Games Bronze medallist Katie Archibald, fellow Team Scotland athlete Anna Turvey, Dame Sarah Story and Ciara Horne will all compete for Pearl Izumi cycling team. In the Men’s Team Pursuit Sandy Wallace Cycles and two Rigmar Racers teams will be looking to bring the title to back Scotland.

Commonwealth Double Gold medallist Neil Fachie MBE will piloted by Peter Mitchell in the BVI Time Trial, both riding for Performance Cycle Coaching. Double Silver Commonwealth Games medallist Louise Haston will be piloting Laura Cluxton in both the BVI Time Trial and Pursuit which takes place on day two of competition.

Day two will also see Olympian Jessica Varnish try to hold on to her 500m Time Trial title however she will have tough competition from Scottish riders such as Katie Archibald, Alison Chisholm, Julie Dominguez, Anna Turvey, and Eleanor Richardson. Riders will also take to the boards for the Men’s Kilometre Time Trial.

Dundee born cyclist, Mark Stewart, has already said he will be looking to clinch the Individual Pursuit title on day three of the competition before turning his sights to the Points and Scratch races later on in the week. However Stewart will face stiff Scottish competition from the likes of Silas Goldsworthy and Alistair Rutherford as well as riders from across the rest of the UK.

In the Women’s Individual Pursuit, Malngavie born cyclist, Katie Archibald will also be looking to produce a championship winning performance. Laura Cluxton and Louise Haston as well as Neil Fachie MBE and pilot Peter Mitchell will return to the boards for the final time to compete in the BVI 200m Flying Time Trial.

Other events taking place on day three include the C1-5 200m Flying Time Trial, Women’s Sprint and the Men’s Keirin where Junior Jack Carlin will be taking on the Senior competition.

On Saturday athletes will compete for the Men’s Sprint, Men’s Points, Women’s Team Sprint and Women’s Scratch titles which all boast Scottish medal hopes. Commonwealth Games athletes Jenny Davis and Eleanor Richardson as well as Glasgow Rapide’s Neah Evans and Jessica Lee will pair up for the Women’s Team Sprint, both aiming for gold.

On the fifth and final day of competition riders will compete for four championship titles including Men’s Team Sprint, Women’s Keirin, Men’s Scratch and Women’s Points. Scotland’s Jonathan Biggin, Bruce Croall and Chris Pritchard will be competing in the Team Sprint.

Alongside the Commonwealth Games stars Glasgow Rapide’s Christopher Barr, Colin Davenport, Andrew Louis and Jonathan Mitchell will also compete in the Team Sprint. Edinburgh based Tandem Pilot Louise Haston will return to her solo bike to compete in the Women’s Keirin, whilst Katie Archibald, Kayleigh Brogan and Charline Joiner will be among Britain’s best when going for the Women’s Points race title.

Recently crowned Scottish Scratch Champion Mark Stewart will be looking to add the British Scratch championship title to his list of achievements for 2014, but with strong competition from riders throughout the UK, including Scottish riders Finlay Young, Martin Lonie, Philip Trodden and Alistair Rutherford to name but a few, he will have to ensure he is on top form.

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,