Catchup – Imperial Winter Series


Results and report just in from the Imperial Winter Series round on December 20 (2014) at Hillingdon (West London)

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Catchup – Imperial Winter Series

NOTE: Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Another challenging day at Hillingdon with another first in our time here – vandals super-glued all the locks on the judges hut preventing us from accessing photo finish equipment, flags, lap boards etc. We quickly sourced spares from the clubhouse and secured the services of a locksmith part way through the E/1/2/3 race!

Slightly windier conditions caused the 4th cat race to be a little more nervous than normal and this led to some crashes in the last laps – the last one at the top of the drag on the opposite side of the circuit led to riders finishing in smaller groups. Charlie Taylor (Hampshire RC) took the win, from Chris Burns (Welwyn Wheelers) and Dan Bone (I-Team).

Geoff Trimm (London Dynamo) wins the Imperial Cycles random prize (17th place) and can look forward to his bike having spa-like treatment for 2015! The first of the Women’s 1/2/3 race saw an extremely encouraging field of 15 start, perhaps with differing levels of fitness at this time of year led to few attacks, the exception being Les Filles new rider Helen McKay. It ended with a strong sprint win by Detta Guerrini (London Dynamo) from Rose Osborne (Team WMT) and Clem Copie of newly formed Pearl Izumi Sports Tours.

The Men’s E/1/2/3 has seen some consistent finishes so far from Graham Crow (Handsling RT) and Will Ranoe (VCGH) so this probably changed the complexion of this round with most attacks soon coming back. Twickenham CC were clearly working for Alex Tinsley and three quarters of the way through he made a strong solo effort to draw clear by 20 seconds. A group of four chased including Crow, Ranoe and Henry Furniss (WyndyMilla). They looked likely to join up but as Tinsley persisted they imploded with only Crow and Ranoe holding on at the end. Tom Hargreaves (London Dynamo) produced another strong sprint to win the bunch finish from Andrew Gough (JMJ Cycles) and Handsling RT’s evergreen Peter Cole.


Imperial Winter Series Race 3 | 20th December 2014

E 1 2 cat race
1st Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC 200
2nd Graham Crow Handsling RT 190
3rd Tom Hargreaves London Dynamo 170
4th Michael Skipsey Tmg horizon 140
5th Laurence Kirby welwyn wheelers 130
6th Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 120
7th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 110
8th Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop 100
9th Tom Smith Handsling RT 90
10th Daniel Maynard Welwyn Wheelers 50
11th Daniel Tamplin High Wycombe CC 40
12th Ben Allen Dulwich Paragon CC
13th James Freeman Dulwich Paragon CC
14th Samuel Evans Dulwich paragon
15th James Bradley Twickenham CC
16th Phil Dempsey Aprire Bicycles

3rd cat race
1st Will Ranoe VCGH 180
2nd Andrew Gough Velo Club Venta 160
3rd Peter Cole Handsling Racing 150
4th Ben Lowe RT316 80
5th Adam Thompson Reading CC 70
6th Andrew Davis Kingston Wheelers 60
7th Alistair Gurney CC Hackney 30
8th Piers August Wyndymilla 20
9th Patrick Manning Great Yarmouth cycling club 10
10th Basil Adamo London Phoenix
11th Robin Basford Wyndymilla
12th Simon Potter WyndyMilla
13th Rob Taylor HWCCRT
14th Ian Loades ASL Project Racing Team
15th Daren Austin Twickenham CC
16th Rudie Marais Unattached
17th Spencer Robinson Newbury RC
18th Harry Strudley Bath University CC.
19th Alvaro Alves Da Cunha Unattached
20th Neil Wass TMG Horizon Cycling Team
21st Simon Oxenham VC10
22nd Karl Moseley Stourbridge Velo
23rd Kieran Blair Arctic Tacx RT
24th Ewan Evans Dorking CC
25th Rupert Baker London Dynamo
26th Paul Bennett unattached
27th Mario Manelfi Blazing Saddles
28th Gavin Spiers GS Henley
29th Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon
30th Mike Knight VC Meudon
31st Simon Parton Kingston Wheelers
32nd Jaco Van Gass Team Battle Back
33rd Michael Coomber CC Luton
34th Henry Furniss WyndyMilla
35th Cosmo Kedros WyndyMilla

4th cat race
1st Charlie Taylor North Hampshire Road Club
2nd Chris Burns Welwyn Wheelers
3rd Dan Bone
4th James Riall London Dynamo
5th Ben Skelton London Dynamo
6th Alex Hepton Walkern Revolution CC
7th Martin Banfield London Dynamo
8th Adam Cloke saddle drunk
9th Seán Warner Twickenham CC
10th Tom Simpson Brixton Cycles
11th Andy Angell Hounslow & District Wheelers
12th Robert Abbey Hemel Hempstead Cycling Club
13th Neil Lawrie Thames Velo
14th Josh Curtis Berkhampstead
15th Neil Grunshaw Kingston Wheelers CC
16th Andy Brown Sussex Revolution VC
17th Geoff Trimm London Dynamo
18th Steve Wood Pearson CC
19th Michael Weekes London Dynamo
20th Andy Hancock TCC
21st Jacob Bridges Kingston Wheelers CC
22nd Christophe De Belder Berkshire Tri Squad
23rd David Loveman Verulam CC
24th Jan Marzec London Dynamo
25th Stefano Dall’aglio SaddleDrunk
26th Toby Trotman London Dynamo
27th Andrew Wren Pearson CC
28th Rostin Walker Kingston Wheelers
29th Pete Ganderton Unattached
30th Shane Townsend Westerley CC
31st Tim Childs Westerley CC
32nd Andy Keene London Phoenix
33rd Ben Stowe Hemel Hempstead CC
34th Nick Clarke Berkhamsted Cycling Club
35th Kris Tait Chevaliers
36th Richard Arthur Unattached
37th Ben Wrigglesworth G.S Henley
38th Joe Simons Brixton Cycles
39th Joshua Higgins high wycombe cycle club
40th Danny Baker ASL Projects RT
41st Ben Burns London Dynamo

Women’s 123 Cat race
1st Detta Guerrini London Dynamo 100
2nd Rose Osborne Team WNT 90
3rd Clemence Copie Pearl Izumi Sports Tour 80
4th Anna Marie Hughes Bonito Squadra Corse 70
5th Gabriella Nordin GB 60
6th Alice Lethbridge GB 50
7th Helen McKay Les Filles RT! 40
8th Heather Rankin Dulwich Paragon 30
9th Emma Towers Twickenham CC 20
10th Claire Richardson Zappi’s Racing Team 10
11th Tamala McGee London Phoenix
12th Catriona Ross PSUKCycleRaceTeam/WDMBC/Specialized
13th Chloe Weller PMR@ToachtimHouse
14th Tracy Corbett Les Filles
15th Harriet Hollis Imperial Racing Team

Overall Series Leader Board
1st Will Ranoe VCGH 550
2nd Graham Crow Handsling RT 500
3rd Tom Hargreaves London Dynamo 480
4th Laurence Kirby welwyn wheelers 420
5th Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC 410
5th Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 410
7th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 380
8th Jerzy Kuzminski London Bicycle Workshop 350
9th Tyler Lemmon Team Bottecchia UK 230
10th Andrew Davis Kingston Wheelers 210
11th Martin Ford Unattached 190
11th Paul McGrath North Road CC 190
13th Neil Wass TMG Horizon Cycling Team 180
14th Andrew Gough Velo Club Venta 160
14th Daniel Tamplin High Wycombe CC 160
16th Peter Cole Handsling Racing 150
17th Michael Skipsey Tmg horizon 140
18th Ralph De Kanter Norwood Paragon CC 120
19th Adam Thompson Reading CC 110
19th w 19 Tom Smith Handsling RT 110

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,