Result – GS Metro 25 Mile TT

Home win for Carl Donaldson in the GS Metro 25 mile time trial on Sunday (April 12)

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result – GS Metro 25 Mile TT

GS Metro hosted the 4th round of the increasingly popular N&DCA BAR competition amidst difficult conditions. The day dawned cold but dry. Little did anyone realise the extent to which this would change. The course was two laps of a mildly undulating 12.5 mile circuit, based around the rural roads of Northumberland, starting and finishing in Stamfordham.

The event had attracted a generous title sponsor IKM Testing (UK) Ltd – they had swelled the prize fund to support under represented areas of a typical time trial, women and juniors. IKM are a local specialist engineering firm who provide pipeline services to the Oil and Gas, Petrochemical, Chemical and Heavy engineering industries around the world from their base in Cramlington.

First rider off was the host club’s Danny Grieves. As things transpired this was the plum draw – as within 45 mins of Grieves starting the heavens had opened and riders were faced with desperately challenging conditions. Indeed Grieves so very nearly achieved the rare accomplishment of leading from start to finish. Seldom does the first man off win the event. As it transpired he was pipped to his first open TT victory by a meagre 5 seconds.

The event was, like all previous rounds in the series, very well supported by riders. Fields of 90+ riders are proving commonplace at North East time trials this season. This is providing excellent competition between riders throughout the field.

As conditions deteriorated, riders were seemingly being caught out by just how cold it was on the course and the HQ afterwards partially resembled a walk in casualty area with riders being treated for hypothermia. It was not until the very last rider crossed the line that Grieves was unseated from the top of the results board. Fittingly, the win was taken by the scratchman riding in the worst of the conditions – GS Metro’s Carl Donaldson. It was Donaldson’s 4th win from 4 events in the N&DCA BAR this season.

Fastest lady was Anna Turvey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International BOBC), Fastest Junior was Thomas Horden (Barnesbury CC). The club offered a Roadman’s competition which was won by James Alder of Bishop Auckland  CC. Quickest Team was  GS Metro (Donaldson, Grieves, Hall)

The club would like to express sincere thanks to the timekeepers (Peter and Frances Schulz) and the marshalls and start team for braving 2 hours plus in oppressive conditions.

Thanks also to the first aid people who helped sort out a number of weather victims.

1 Carl Donaldson GS Metro 00:58:42
2 Danny Grieves GS Metro 00:58:47
3 Kris Whitelaw North Tyneside Riders 00:59:43
4 Harry Armstrong Breeze Bikes RT 01:00:35
5 Phil Hall Breeze Bikes RT 01:01:06
6 Nev Martin Adept Precision/NEHS RT 01:01:32
7 Andrew Hall GS Metro 01:01:37
8 Neil Payton Barnesbury CC 01:02:03
9 Mark Strang Breeze Bikes RT 01:02:15
10 Ben Lane GS Metro 01:02:49
11 Chris Mather M Steel Cycle Racing Team 01:03:05
12 James Alder Bishop Auckland CC 01:03:06
13 Chris Burns Cestria C.C. 01:03:20
14 Anna Turvey Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International BOBC 01:03:21
15 David Robinson Tyneside Vagabonds CC 01:03:37
16 Ross Gray Allen Valley Velo 01:03:39
17 Keith Davison Hadrian R.T 01:03:44
18 Mark Breeze Breeze Bikes RT 01:04:02
19 Mark Reed Tyneside Vagabonds CC 01:04:20
20 Paul Whitehill Houghton CC 01:04:29
21 Adam Hogarth Tyneside Vagabonds 01:04:47
22 Craig Berry GS Metro 01:05:16
23 Kris Adlington Sunderland Clarion 01:05:25
24 Simon Gibbs Tyneside Vagabonds CC 01:05:36
25 Ingrid Shepherd Sunderland Clarion 01:05:41
26 Rick Mitford Cestria C.C. 01:05:44
27 Ian Norris 01:05:55
28 Steve Gordon Sunderland Clarion 01:06:20
29 Stephen Grey Derwentside CC 01:06:45
30 Jock Bolam Breeze Bikes RT 01:06:49
31 Paul Hague Gosforth RC 01:06:58
32 David Donaldson Derwentside CC 01:07:04
33 Jason Robson Derwentside CC 01:07:24
34 Michael Sloanes Sunderland Clarion 01:07:32
35 Colin Humphrey Houghton CC 01:07:44
36 Neil Baxter 01:08:20
37 Gareth Clarke Cestria C.C. 01:08:49
38 Philip Watson Hadrian R.T 01:08:51
39 Paul Scaplehorn Redmon CC 01:09:31
40 Justin Ramel Blaydon CC 01:09:35
41 Brian Johnson Barnesbury CC 01:09:37
42 Paul Tyrrell South Shields Velo Cycling Club 01:09:48
43 Lee Ridden Cestria C.C. 01:09:50
44 Tim Miley Northumbria Police C.C. 01:10:10
45 Thomas Hordon Barnesbury CC 01:10:29
46 Justin Jeffries Allen Valley Velo 01:10:39
47 Ian Hodgson Houghton CC 01:10:50
48 Richard Exley Gosforth RC 01:10:55
49 Thomas Hooper Blaydon CC 01:11:01
50 Liam Whitelaw Cramlington CC 01:11:19
51 Graham Findlater Gosforth RC 01:11:19
52 Ian Jobling Durham City Velo 01:12:06
53 Bev Martin Adept Precision/NEHS RT 01:12:21
54 Dan Leather Achieve Skinnergate Northside 01:12:57
55 David Hordon Barnesbury CC 01:13:14
56 Richard Barnett Cestria C.C. 01:13:16
57 Patrick Deane Tyneside Vagabonds CC 01:13:29
58 David Thompson Derwentside CC 01:14:05
59 Malcolm Sellers Houghton CC 01:14:16
60 Ben Osborne Blaydon CC 01:14:20
61 Ian Brown Houghton CC 01:14:48
62 Iain Macphail Derwentside CC 01:15:34
63 Bryan Laycock Alnwick Cycling Club 01:15:43
64 Michael Weidner Alnwick Cycling Club 01:15:47
65 Michael Fisher Tyneside Vagabonds CC 01:15:58
66 Tim Nichol Derwentside CC 01:16:20
67 Ali Bailey Blaydon CC 01:16:32
68 Adrian Mitchison Activ Cycles – Lloyds Honda RT 01:16:38
69 Raymond Bell Derwentside CC 01:20:06
70 Neil Parkin Derwentside CC 01:20:07
71 Stuart Cook Cestria C.C. 01:21:58
72 Ronnie Thompson Derwentside CC 01:24:00
73 Justine Norman Breeze Bikes RT 01:24:52
74 Sandy Cheung Cestria C.C. 01:26:05
75 Lesley Goodrum Cestria C.C. 01:29:33


Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK