Report & Result – Sheffrec Spring Road Race


Dillon Byrne wins the sprint to the line to win the Sheffrec Spring Road Race in Yorkshire on Sunday

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Sheffrec Spring Road Race

Report Marc Etches | Photo credit Jamie Gray

A full field of 70 riders departed the Ruddle Centre in Braithwell to tackle 18 laps of the now very popular early season classic around Stainton. The wind which has been a major factor on previous occasions was no where near as strong as usual with dry but overcast conditions were the makings for a fast race and a fast pace was set and soon split in the crosswinds leading up to the finish line.


Racing started from the first lap with local rider Graham Briggs, JLT Condor and Raleigh GAC’s Steve Lampier both stringing out the bunch behind. Several attacks came and were brought back before a move of 11 forged clear on lap 4. This was a very strong group and left the chasers with no answer to the high pace shown from some very talented riders.

This group consisted of former winner, Thomas Bustard, Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT, plus elite riders, Steve Lampier, Alistair Rutherford, The Nab Racing, Dillon Byrne, Champion System VCUK Racing Team. This group soon pushed the gap back to the peloton to over 1 minute and all were working very well. This left behind several strong riders with David Clarke, Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT and Graham Briggs both doing lots of work on the front of the main peloton to try and limited their losses.

The peloton finally broke up on lap 6 and Briggs broke clear with 8 chasers to form a good group who soon brought down the gap from 1 minute 40 seconds to around 1 minute 10 seconds with 11 laps still to go. This group were looking likely to bridge the gap to the front 9 riders but the gap never came to under a minute. The winner would now come from the leading 9 riders who had now gained an advantage to the main peloton of over 2 minutes.


In the closing stages the leaders were very aggressive. Bustard, hungry for his 3rd win at this event was always very active. This aggression from him and Lampier saw their group whittled down to just 4 riders with 3 laps to go. These were, Lampier, Bustard, Byrne and Bicicielo rider, George Moore who were soon up the road by 34 seconds. The remaining break were now fighting for 5th place with Alistair Rutherford pushing the pace.

Going into the last 2 laps the quartet had pushed out their advantage to 41 seconds and at the bell, they all came through together. In the closing three hundred metres, Dillon Byrne rode away from his opposition to easily take the win. Bustard came in second, Geroge Moore third and Lampier rolled in 4th after a heavy weekend of training. Further back Rutherford easily beat, local junior rider Kieran Simcox, Bike Box Alan/Envelopemaster to claim 5th with Simcox’s team mate Alastair Hepworth close behind in 7th place narrowly beating Peter Barusevicus, All Terrain Cycles with JLT Condor rider Joe Moses claiming 9th. A further 1 minute and 42 second behind was Achieve Northside Skinnergate rider Richard Jones rounded off the top 10.

The organisers would like to thank the commissaires Ian Hirst, David Stewart, NEG riders and members of Sheffrec Cycling Club for marshaling and helping towards another great spring road race.


1. Dillon Byrne, Champion System VCUK Racing Team, 62.4 miles in 2 hours, 17 minutes, 23 seconds
2. Thomas Bustard, Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT
3. George Moore, Bicicielo
4. Steve Lampier, Raleigh GAC
5. Alistair Rutherford, The Nab Racing @ 41 seconds
6. Kieran Simcox, Bike Box Alan/Envelopemaster
7. Alastair Hepworth, Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
8. Peter Barusevicus, All Terrain Cycles
9. Joseph Moses, JLT Condor
10. Richard Jones, Achieve Northside Skinnergate @ 1:42
11. Connor Swift, Polypipe Cycling Team
12. Ben Rowe, Achieve Northside Skinnergate
13. Joseph Clark, Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
14. Adam Kenway, SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
15. Alex Orrell-Turner, Wheelbase Altura MGD
16. John Tanner, Unattached
17. Lee Baldwin, Champion System VCUK Racing Team
18. David Clarke, Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT
19. Graham Briggs, JLT Condor
20. James Jobber, Langsett Cycles RT
21. David Shackleton, Achieve Northside Skinnergate
22. Robert Mitchell, Out Of The Saddle
23. Hamish Graham, Green Jersey RT
24. Clem Berrill, Cycling Club Hackney
25. Christopher Mark, NRG/Godleys RT @ 1:52
26. Jake Beach, Team Vertex
27. Ryan Pike, High On Bikes @ 2:06
28. Stephen Swindley, PMR@Toachim House @ 2:13
29. Robert Gray, York Cycleworks @ 2:22
30. Richard Moore, Squadra RT @ 2:36
31. Andrew Turner, Team Moda-Anon
32. Steven Guymer, Rapha Cycling Club @ 2:53
33. Oliver Payton, Kuota – Spinergy – GSG
34. Greg Taylor, Hetton Hawks Cycling Club @ 2:56
35. Alex Jones, Champion System VCUK Racing Team
36. Chay Curtin, Knottingley Velo
37. Rob Orr, SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
38. Jacob Trotter, Squadra RT
39. Jason Burrill, Peterborough CC
40. Joe Evans, Madison Genesis
41. Jacob Brown, Kingsnorth International Whlrs
42. Joseph Elwood, Langsett Cycles RT
43. Jonathan Gildea, SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
44. Russell Falder, Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
45. Julian Varley, Prologue Racing Team
46. Ben Davis, Wheelbase Altura MGD
47. Julian Gromett, Squadra RT
48. James Hill, Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan @ 3:16
49. Thomas Davison, Knottingley Velo
50. James Notley, Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team
51. Andrew Sedgewick Langsett Cycles RT 3rd @ 3:23

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,