Preview – Tom Hawkins Spring Classic


This Sunday (3rd May 2015) Exeter Wheelers are once again promoting the prestigious Tom Hawkins Spring Classic

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview – Tom Hawkins Spring Classic

This stellar event, has always been an early season highlight in the South West. It will consist of 9 full laps, taking in a mix of technical Devon lanes, fast downhills and a long climb out of Somerset on the A38 giving 110 km of intense racing.

In previous years this race has seen a bit of everything; rouleurs romping to victory, breaks and hell for leather bunch sprints. The technical sections in the closing kilometres, and a small kick before the finish, ensures no race is decided until the last 50 meters.

Last years winner Mark Perry will be returning to defend his title, and will no doubt make sure the racing is hard. Here is what he had to say about last years race “I’m looking forward to returning to the Tom Hawkins Memorial this year with Ride 24/7, I really enjoyed last year’s race.I’ve ridden the Tom Hawkins many times and came very close in 2013 getting caught just before the line so last year’s win felt good!”.

Race HQ will be Magelake Pavilion hall in Uffculme. Including EWCC famed tea and cake services throughout (coffee will also be available). If you are bringing a support team they might be interested to know there are some good pubs in the area to await the race conclusion in comfort. A neutral service car will be provided by Exeter Wheelers, although riders will need to contribute spare wheels.

A very strong field has been selected this year with the majority of riders in the 80 man field being 2nd Category riders. Exeter Wheelers CC represent the organisers with 8 riders, Other notable local teams include Ride 24/7, Tanks Direct, Mid Devon CC, Tri UK and even a rider from Velo Sport Jersey

Prizes run to 10th place, and also has a 1st junior prize.

Magelake Hall, Uffculme, Devon, EX15 3DP
Opens at 08.45 – Note to all competitors, signing on closes at 0945. No entry on the line.


1 Mark Perry Ride 24/7 2nd
2 Steven Birch Exeter Wheelers 3rd
3 Sam Birkinshaw Exeter Wheelers 2nd
4 Nicholas Helsing Exeter Wheelers 3rd
5 Jack Ibbotson Exeter Wheelers 2nd
6 Craig Lawson Exeter Wheelers 3rd
7 Alistair Lobban Exeter Wheelers 3rd
8 John Nye Exeter Wheelers 2nd
9 Arved Schwendel Exeter Wheelers 3rd
10 Oliver Cooper 1st Chard Whls 3rd
11 James Cartridge Bath Cycling Club 2nd
12 Gary Sheppard Bath Cycling Club 2nd
13 Jake Alderman Bikechain – Ricci 2nd
14 James Round Bikechain – Ricci 3rd
15 Sam Barker Bikeshed – Exeter Uni 3rd
16 Oscar Hutchings Bikeshed – Exeter Uni 2nd
17 Harrison Fielding Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 2nd
18 Tom Rowan Bristol South CC 3rd
19 Krzysztof Chrostek Cardiff Ajax CC 2nd
20 Rob Yeatman Cotswold Cycles RT 2nd
21 Callum Lister Cotswold Veldrijden 2nd
22 Trevor Smith Cotswold Veldrijden 2nd
23 Ryan Dunn Cycle Sport Dynamo 3rd
24 Cameron Pelly Cycle Sport Dynamo 3rd
25 Scott Tomkinson Dales Racing Team 2nd
26 Malcolm Dixon Dream Cycling Race Team 2nd
27 Tom Ilett Dream Cycling Race Team 2nd
28 Thomas Leach Felt Racing 2nd
29 Charles Rees Gillingham and District Wheelers 2nd
30 Gareth Bushnell Mid Devon CC 3rd
31 Ian Cullen Mid Devon CC 2nd
32 Andrew Hitchens Mid Devon CC 2nd
33 David Johnson Mid Devon CC 3rd
34 Jason Poore Mid Devon CC 2nd
35 Sean Henderson North Devon Wheelers – South Fork 2nd
36 Philip Morrish North Devon Wheelers – South Fork 2nd
37 Simon Ogden North Devon Wheelers – South Fork 3rd
38 Harry Snow North Devon Wheelers – South Fork 2nd
39 Mark Haynes Penzance Wheelers 3rd
40 Sol Warwick Penzance Wheelers 2nd
41 Joe Barry Performance Cycles 2nd
42 Tony Kiss Performance Cycles 2nd
43 Michael Ward Performance Cycles 2nd
44 James Cartlidge Plymouth Corinthian CC 3rd
45 Adrian Sluman Plymouth Corinthian CC 3rd
46 Calum Croft Primera-Sports.Com 2nd
47 Andrew Syme Primera-Sports.Com 2nd
48 Lee Davis Ride 24/7 2nd
49 Nick Watson Ride 24/7 2nd
50 Oliver Yates Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 2nd
51 Harry Luxton Rutrainingtoday CC 2nd
52 Nicholas Johnn Somerset RC – The Bicycle Chain 3rd
53 Charlie Revell Somerset RC – The Bicycle Chain 2nd
54 Adrian Reynolds Somerset RC – The Bicycle Chain 2nd
55 Ryan Vale Somerset RC – The Bicycle Chain 2nd
56 Daniel Wellings Somerset RC – The Bicycle Chain 3rd
57 Daniel Marshall 2nd
58 Graham Collins Tanks Direct Cycling 2nd
59 Jamie Fabrizio Tanks Direct Cycling 3rd
60 Myles Gerrard Tanks Direct Cycling 3rd
61 Mark Gibbs Tanks Direct Cycling 2nd
62 Mark Lees Tanks Direct Cycling 2nd
63 Kelvin Price Tanks Direct Cycling 2nd
64 Huw Richards Tavistock Whlrs NorthShoreGallery 2nd
65 Daniel Strong Tavistock Whlrs NorthShoreGallery 3rd
66 Joshua Gray Team Tor 2000 2nd
67 Peter Haworth Team Tor 2000 2nd
68 James Porter Team Tor 2000 2nd
69 James Williams Team Tor 2000 2nd
70 James Curson Tri UK 2nd
71 Sean Frost Tri UK 3rd
72 Lee Frost Tri UK 2nd
73 Daniel Mcquillan Tri UK 2nd
74 Jonathan Gates VC Bristol Webbs of Warmley 2nd
75 Liam Walsh VC St Raphael 2nd
76 Daniel Halksworth Velo Sport Jersey 3rd
77 Ross Flashman Yeti Cycles 3rd
78 Jason Flooks UNATTACHED 2nd
79 Kris Jasper UNATTACHED 2nd
80 Josh Rochester-Greet UNATTACHED 2nd

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK