Report & Result – Tom Hawkins Spring Classic Road Race


James Porter of Team Tor 2000 wins the Tom Hawkins Spring Classic Road Race

RST Cycle  Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Result – Tom Hawkins Spring Classic Road Race

Sunday 3rd May saw the annual Tom Hawkins Road Race take place over 68 miles (110 km) of rolling Devon and Somerset countryside. The spring classic road race ran by Exeter Wheelers Cycling Club and named in honour of a long term member of the club is one of the South West’s most prestigious and toughest road races on the British Cycling racing calendar.

A very strong field was selected this year with the majority of riders in the 80 man field being 2nd Category riders from local teams including Ride 24/7, Tanks Direct, Mid Devon CC, Tri UK, Bikeshed – Exeter Uni, Exeter Wheelers CC and even a rider from Velo Sport Jersey.

This year thanks to the Great British weather the event didn’t disappoint with a high attrition rate. The glorious sunshine, blustery headwinds and lashing showers whittled the 80 starters down over the 9 laps to just 34 finishers.


Photos courtesy of Ann Owens

The racing action began soon after the start with a five man attack on lap 1 consisting of riders from Tri UK and Team Tor 2000, the majority of this breakaway group were soon caught, however eventual winner James Porter and Lee Frost (Tri UK) managed to keep their distance ahead of the chasing peloton and use using the rolling terrain of the course to their advantage for the rest of the gruelling 4 hour race.

Race winner James Porter of Team Tor 2000 who previously raced mountain bikes at a national level shares his experience of the race; ‘you go into every race wanting to win it, and I knew through my training I had good chance this year, I maybe went a little early on the break but managed to stay ahead with Lee’.

James also had his fellow teammates at Team Tor to thank for his success ‘the other team members do a lot for me when I’m in a break, I probably wouldn’t have stayed away if it wasn’t for those guys.’

1: James Porter – Team Tor 2000
2: Lee Frost – Tri UK
3: Andrew Syme – Primera-Sports.Com
4: Daniel Halksworth – Velo Sport Jersey
5: James Williams –Team Tor 2000
6: Liam Walsh – VC St Raphael
7: Lee Davis – Ride 24/7
8: Oscar Hutchings Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
9: Mark Perry – Ride 24/7
10: Sol Warwick – Penzance Wheelers

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,