News – BBC Sports Personality

Lizzie Armitstead and Chris Froome in the chosen few up for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – BBC Sports Personality

To learn more – click here to go to the BBC website

Lizzie Armitstead and Chris Froome have been chosen among Britain’s sporting stars in BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year Award. Four cyclists have previously won the award – Tommy Simpson (1965), Sir Chris Hoy (2008), Mark Cavendish (2011) and Sir Bradley Wiggins (2012). Between 2008 and 2012, cycling has had three of the five annual award winners.


For Lizzie Armitstead, a dream was realised when the Otley girl became World Road Race champion with a breathtaking triumph in America. The World Cup winner for the second time also in 2015, won the hard fought 130km race in Richmond, Virginia after being the fastest in the sprint to the line, just as she was on stage 1 of the Aviva Women’s Tour 2015.

Armitstead is also the British Road Race champion after recovering from her crash in the Women’s Tour and using the Lincoln circuit to show off her undoubted firepower to see off any challenge and win alone.

Another cyclist nominated, Chris Froome, has now won the Tour de France twice and whilst he doesn’t command the public’s attention in the same way that Sir Bradley Wiggins does, winning the Tour twice is a huge acheivement.

The Kenyan-born Team Sky rider showed great dignity as he shrugged off abuse, including being spat at and having urine thrown over him, to prevail again. Froome was 6th in the BBC award in 2013.


Other Nominations
Lucy Bronze
Jessica Ennis-Hill
Mo Farah
Tyson Fury
Lewis Hamilton
Andy Murray
Adam Peaty
Greg Rutherford
Kevin Sinfield
Max Whitlock



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK