Bay Crits – Win number 3 for Ewan


Caleb Ewan wrapped up his third Bay Crits title with a third victory in four days, Lampier 12th in final race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Bay Crits – Win number 3 for Ewan

Caleb Ewan wrapped up his third Bay Crits title with a third victory in four days, Lampier 12th in final race

21-year-old Caleb Ewan has wrapped up a third Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic title with another victory in Williamstown today. Ewan, who also won back-to-back on the opening stages in Geelong, becomes the second most successful rider of the 26-year running event, behind Australian sprint legend Robbie McEwen (6 titles).

A dominant ORICA-GreenEDGE again controlled racing on the final day, former Australian champion Luke Durbridge and debutant Jack Haig denying any attempts to break up racing. “Look – the boys again, I always say it, they were so strong,” Ewan said. “They rode the whole race on the front. They were so impressive.”

“Luke and Jack rode the front the whole time. Even at the end, they could up it still. Keeping me up near the front makes it a lot smoother for me so I can save a lot of energy. At the end of the race, I was feeling really good because of the position I was in. They delivered me perfectly.”

After a solid lead out by multiple track world champion Alex Edmondson, Ewan hit the final corner in front and sprinted to victory. Despite taking the corner at speed, Ewan used experience to better his rivals who battled fiercely for his wheel. “I thought I braked enough going into it, but as I was going through it I was thinking, ‘Oh gosh. I’m going a bit fast’ but I got around it alright,” he said.

“I had a little gap coming out of it. It’s not far from that corner to the finish so you really have to go through it in first place to win here.” .

Britain’s Steve Lampier was 12th whilst in the support race, Stevie Williams was 5th to give him fourth overall in that series.

1. Caleb EWAN (Orica GreenEDGE) 1h00:07
2. Brenton JONES (Drapac Professional) @ 0
3. Alexander EDMONDSON (Orica GreenEDGE) @ 0
4. Patrick SHAW (Avanti IsoWhey Sports) @ 0
5. Bernard SULZBERGER (Drapac Professional) @ 0
6. Samuel SPOKES (Drapac Professional) @ 0
7. Anthony GIACOPPO (Avanti IsoWhey Sports) @ 0
8. Mitch DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) @ 5
9. Jason LOWNDES (Drapac Professional) @ 5
10. Leigh HOWARD (Chain Reaction Cycles) @ 24

12. Steven LAMPIER (JLT Condor Mavic) @ 30
14. George ATKINS (JLT Condor Mavic) @ 38
15. Mike CUMMING (State of Matter/Maap) @ 38

Steele VON HOFF (Avanti IsoWhey Sports)
Christopher LAWLESS (JLT Condor Mavic)
Jonathan MOULD (JLT Condor Mavic)
Alistair SLATER (JLT Condor Mavic)

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,