News – 57th Wally Gimber Trophy


Another of the early pre season classics, the 57th Wally Gimber Trophy, this Sunday sees rider from around the country heading to Kent

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News – 57th Wally Gimber Trophy

Sunday 20th March 2016

The Dulwich Paragon promotion is one of the longest running races on the calendar and has riders from across the country travelling to Kent. The winner of the race will find their name listed on the trophy alongside former winners who include Simon Cope, Tony Gibb and Sir Bradley Wiggins.

The Wally Gimber Trophy is awarded in memory of Wally Gimber, a life long club member. Wally Gimber was an active Dulwich Paragon member in the 1940s and excelled on the local Herne Hill track. In 1948-9 he was the London centre track, massed start and roller champion and set a national tandem paced half mile record of 48.55 seconds. He emigrated to the US in the 1960s but returned to the UK in 1985 to present the trophy to John Shand at the club’s 50th anniversary dinner. He kept in regular touch with the club until his death in 1993.

Past winner include Sir Bradley Wiggins; multiple world champion, Olympic gold medallist and Tour de France winner. Three-times winners are Tony Gibb and Simon Cope.

Rod Archibald Adalta Cycling Club
Stephen Cavey 34 Nomads CC
Ian Vagg 4T+ Velo Club
Thomas Rowing Abellio – SFA Racing Team
Wayne Beba Adalta Cycling Club
Ross Bryan Adalta Cycling Club
Craig Joy Adalta Cycling Club
Keith Watson Adalta Cycling Club
Declan Egan Cadence Cycling Performance
Matthew Clements Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Joshua Green Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Laurence Kirby Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Tom Neale Catford CC Equipe/Banks
Douglas Coleman CC Luton
Ashley Cox CC Luton
Ryan Visser Danny Shane – Storck Racing
Oliver Jedrej Dulwich Paragon CC
Rhys Keepence Dulwich Paragon CC
Mark McCullagh Dulwich Paragon CC
Jonathon Puleston-Jones Dulwich Paragon CC
James Stannard Dulwich Paragon CC
Richard Whitehorn Dulwich Paragon CC
Oliver Cliff Elitecycling
Adam Cotterell G.S.GREENWICH
James Local Hosté TAAP Storck
Freddie Philips Hosté TAAP Storck
Matthew Leary In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT
Richard Mondszein London Dynamo
Barnabas Purbrook London Dynamo
Ray Wilson London Dynamo
Len Delicaet London Phoenix CC
Cameron Austin Look Mum No Hands!
Mark Perry Look Mum No Hands!
Dominic Schils Massi Kuwait Cycling Project
Dominic Campbell Medway VC
Jack Donaldson Neon-Velo Cycling Team
Oliver Maxwell Neon-Velo Cycling Team
Elliott Porter Neon-Velo Cycling Team
Marc Potts Neon-Velo Cycling Team
Liam Yates Neon-Velo Cycling Team
Owen Lake Newdales Cycles RT
Edmund Bradbury NFTO
Liam Stones NFTO
Barny Willard PB Cycle Coaching Racing Team
Lloyd Chapman Pedal Heaven
Dexter Gardias Pedal Heaven
Harrison Jones Pedal Heaven
Matthew Clarke Pedal Heaven Excel Academy
William Harper Pedal Heaven Excel Academy
David Hewett Pedal Heaven Excel Academy
Robert McCarthy Pedal Heaven Excel Academy
Lewis Atkins Pedal Heaven RT
Adam Capes PMR@Toachim House
Rhys Clegg PMR@Toachim House
Harry Godding PMR@Toachim House
Henry Latimer PMR@Toachim House
Joshua Lawless PMR@Toachim House
Arthur Tye PMR@Toachim House
Christophe Demoulin Rapha Cycling Club
Neil Phillips Rapha Cycling Club
Jamie Caldwell Richardsons-Trek RT
Rhys Howells Richardsons-Trek RT
Jez McCann Richardsons-Trek RT
Joshua Outram Richardsons-Trek RT
Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT
Tom Fitzpatrick Spirit Bikes Racing Team
Joe Harris Spirit Bikes Racing Team
Jacob Hennessy Spirit Bikes Racing Team
Anthony Moye Spirit Bikes Racing Team
Peter Hitt TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
Tyler Lemmon TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
Daniel Nieto TBW Bottecchia Wigmore RT
Robert Hogg Team Corley Cycles
Edward Watkiss Team Corley Cycles
Jeremy Durrin Team USA
Sam Harrison Team Wiggins
Jake Kelly Team Wiggins
Daniel Patten Team Wiggins
Michael Thompson Team Wiggins
Symon Lewis VC Londres

2015 Karol Damagalski Team Raleigh
2014 Jason White Private
2013 George Harper Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves
2012 Matt Jones Team Corley Cycles
2011 Steve Lampier Sigma Sport
2010 Marcel Six Orbea – For Goodness Shakes
2009 Rob Hurd DHC Columbus
2008 Simon Gaywood Plowman Craven RT
2007 Tony Gibb Plowman Craven RT
2006 Tony Gibb Plowman Craven RT
2005 Rob Hurd Private
2004 Tony Gibb PCA RT
2003 Gary Baker Angliasport
2002 Rob Hurd Team Peloton
2001 Bradley Wiggins Team Sports & Publicity
2000 Andy Lyons BCF Private Member
1999 Simon Cope Heron RT
1998 M Anand Canada
1997 Simon Cope Team Defeet
1996 Gary Baker Olympia Sport
1995 Gary Baker Olympia Sport
1994 Rob Hurd CS Purbeck
1993 Simon Cope PCA
1992 Steve Cook Calleva CRC
1991 Simon Cope PCA
1990 Paul Panton Team Haverhill
1989 Barrie Clarke Wembley RC
1988 Russell Fenton Gemini BC
1987 Bruce Drew 34th Nomads
1986 Steve Cook Calleva CRC
1985 John Shand VC D’OR
1984 Gary Owen Chequers RC
1983 Brian Phillips Manchester Wheelers
1982 John Withey Addiscombe CC
1981 Dave Carter Phoenix CRC
1980 Bob Arnold Ross Wheelers
1979 Paul Dennis Gemini BC
1978 Ron Keeble 34th Nomads
1977 Tony James De Laune CC
1976 Dave LeGrys 34th Nomads
1975 Dave Peachey 34th Nomads
1974 Dave Pittman Lewisham RC
1973 Dave Carter 34th Nomads
1972 Greg Garland VC Anglia Sport
1971 John Sargeant Vulcan CRC
1970 Robin Buchan Norwood Paragon CC
1969 Robin Buchan Norwood Paragon CC
1968 Gary Smith Ross Wheelers
1967 Paul Jarvis Clarence Wheelers
1966 Brian Kirby Medway Velo
1965 Brian Kirby Medway Velo
1964 Ron Beech Australia
1963 Dave Bonner Old Portlians CC
1962 Dave Bonner Old Portlians CC
1961 Roy Newlove West Kent RC
1960 Brian Dacey De Launce CC
9.00 am Race headquarters opens
9.00 am Signing on desk opens
10.00 am Team Managers’ Meeting and convoy draw
10.15 am Marshals’ Meeting
10.30 am Commissaires’ Meeting
10.30 am Signing on desk closes
10.45 am Race convoy assembles
10.50 am Riders’ Briefing
11.00 am Race departs Race headquarters
11.04 am The Wally Gimber Trophy start
3.00pm The Wally Gimber Trophy finishes (expected timetable)
The Race HQ address is: Homewood School and Sixth Form Centre, Ashford Road, Tenterden, Kent, TN30 6LT

From the de-neutralised point proceed South East along the B2080 Appledore Road passing by Tenterden Garden Centre taking the sharp left hand bend onto the B2080 Reading Street. Turn left at Appledore onto The Street proceeding North along Woodchurch Road (passing through the feed zone and finish line) then along Bench Hill and Appledore Road. Continue straight through Woodchurch, onto the B2067 Brook Street then Woodchurch Road. Turn left onto Beacon Oak Road to complete the circuit.

Neutralised Section: A28, Beacon Oak Road, Appledore Road
Approximate distance of neutralised section: 1.2 kms
Distance of race: 6.5 Laps/127.4 kms/79.2 m
Lap distance: 19.6 kms/12.2 m
Neutralised start 11:00



Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK