News: 2016 Tour of Sussex


The 4th running of the Tour of Sussex Cycle Race will see 60 racers riding throught the Sussex countryside trying to win the coveted yellow or green jersey.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: 2016 Tour of Sussex

Hosts of the 2016 Tour of Sussex, Three Sixty Sports Ltd are excited to announce this year’s route. The 4th annual multi-stage race will comprise of 5 Stages spread over 4 consecutive days, and will cover a total distance of 241km.


The opening stage, a Team Time-Trial of the Ninfield Circuit, was last seen in the 2014 edition of the Tour of with the rolling circuit suiting the all-rounder. The time will be taken on the third rider crossing the line, and Time Trial Bikes are allowed. The choice of course for this stage is a reasonably hilly route of 14km which we expect to be completed in approximately 20 minutes.

The second stage, a Road Race using the Lewes/Laughton Circuit was originally made famous by the Lewes Wanderers summer evening crit series. As well as being used in every edition of the Tour of Sussex, the circuit is made up of three corners. On paper it may not seem testing, but it can be. In 2013 and 2014 the stages were both taken in a bunch sprint. The 2015 edition was won by Albert Ellison (Bottecchia UK) with a dramatic breakaway of three riders.

For Stage 3 we have a new addition, a Road Race on the Ladies Mile Circuit. This will be the circuit’s debut appearance in the Tour of Sussex, and it is a brutal one with the it being on the side of one of the largest climbs in the South East. It has been used in more recent years by the Bec CC as part of their Sping Road Race.

Consisting of one long drag as well as a shorter power climb will see the riders dig into their VO2 reserves. The finish will no doubt see some large time gaps and create some favourites going into the final stages.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 12.43.57 Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 12.43.36

Eastbourne will host the penultimate stage of the Tour of Sussex, and it’s the classic Individual Time Trial, from Eastbourne to Beachy Head. Differing from previous editions of the Tour of Sussex, this year the Time Trial is longer. As usual it will start along the seafront in Eastbourne, riders will then ride up the zig-zag road, as used in the Tour of Britain. Instead of turning left, riders will continue towards East Dean, chuck a left and come back up towards Beachy Head. 300m of climbing over 12km with a long descent in the middle.

The final stage will see the riders, having recovered from the previous evenings efforts, repeating the TT course but in a 105km Road Race. Up the zig-zags, down towards the East Dean, following the scenic route overlooking the Seven Sisters, past Belle Tour lighthouse and back towards East Dean.

In 2013 it was James Walsby, in 2014 Jamie Lowden, they both attacked and rode solo to take the stage as well as the yellow jersey. In 2015 a small group made it away in the torrential rain as riders dropped off the back of the main peleton. David Hewett (Adalta CC) took the stage in a sprint finish against Marcus Culley and with it the bonus seconds to steal the yellow jersey.

Tour of Sussex Race Director, John Powell, shared his thoughts and expectations for this year’s races; “We’re anticipating an action packed Tour of Sussex this year. We’ll see the return of some classic races combined with the introduction of not only an additional day, but also the Lady Mile Road Race.

With a host of great teams and individuals lined up and raring to go head to head with one another, I expect some closely fought battles with many opportunities for riders to be aggressive. A key factor will be the mental preparation unknown racing conditions. Previous editions have not only seen 30 degrees and perfect sunshine in one year, but also wind and rain with temperatures dropping to 7 degrees in the others.

Stage 1 (Thursday 30th June) Team Time Trial – Ninfield Circuit – 14km
Stage 2 (Friday 1st July) – Road Race – Lewes/Laughton Circuit – 48km
Stage 3 (Saturday 2nd July AM) Road Race – Ladies Mile Circuit- 72km
Stage 4 (Saturday 2nd July PM) Individual Time Trial – Eastbourne to Beachy Head – 12km
Stage 5 (Sunday 3rd July) Road Race – Beachy Head Circuit – 105km
2016 Tour of Sussex Final Start List
Alex Blomeley The 5th Floor Cycle Club
Alec Briggs The 5th Floor Cycle Club
Luke Clark The 5th Floor Cycle Club
George Garnier The 5th Floor Cycle Club
Reece Wood The 5th Floor Cycle Club
Rod Archibald Adalta CC
Ross Bryan Adalta CC
Jason Oram Adalta CC
Keith Watson Adalta CC
Josh Wakeling Adalta CC
Stuart Baldwin Adalta CC
Nicholas Cooper DFL In-Gear Development Squad
Timothy Torrie DFL In-Gear Development Squad
Theo Hartley DFL In-Gear Development Squad
Alex Littlewood DFL In-Gear Development Squad
James Mitri DFL In-Gear Development Squad
Benjamin Bartlett Folkestone Velo Club
Paul Birchall Folkestone Velo Club
Philip Lenney Folkestone Velo Club
Nicholas Wood Folkestone Velo Club
Michael Atkinson North Road CC
Pierce McGrenaghan North Road CC
Frank Rawlins North Road CC
Jobe Usher North Road CC
Colin Bailey North Road CC
Samuel Andrew Paceline RT
Dominic Clegg Paceline RT
Rob Sharland Paceline RT
Thomas Whatley Paceline RT
Pat Wright Paceline RT
Gareth Thomas Paceline-RT
George Crammond Southampton University RC
Thomas Key Southampton University RC
Andrew Lockwood Southampton University RC
Charlie Leech Southampton University RC
Thomas Nixon Southampton University RC
Richard Cartland Southdowns bikes/casco europe
Stephen Cavey Southdowns bikes/casco europe
Paul Barnard Southdowns bikes/casco europe
Jed Williamson Team ASL360
Matthew Butt Team ASL360
Tom Easley Team ASL360
Mark Emsley Team ASL360
Peter Morris Team ASL360
Paul Newsome Team ASL360
Euan Cattermole VC Londres
Ben McKie VC Londres
Georg Mew Jensen VC Londres
Jacob Vaughan VC Londres
Lewis Winfield VC Londres
Michael Guilford VC Meudon
Andrew Lovelock Velo Schils – Interbike
Mike Smith Velo Schils Interbike RT
Matthew Carter Velo Schils Interbike RT
Douglas Allen Velo Schils Interbike RT
Iain Brogden Velopace
Ruth Summerford Velopace
Marc Townsend Velopace
George Welfare Velopace
Peter Hooper Velopace

… continued after advert





Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK