Result: N&DCA 100 mile championship

Adam Wild fastest in the Northumberland & Durham CA 100 mile championship on the new M100/10 course

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: N&DCA 100 mile championship

In the absence of North East fastmen Carl Donaldson and Danny Grieves, playing away at the national 12hr, Tyneside Vagabond Adam Wild came out on top to add the Northumberland & Durham CA 100 mile championship to his N&DCA best all rounder for 2017 crown and set a course record on the new M100/10 course based north of Morpeth.

Wild (3:56:58) enjoyed a race long tussle with RT23’s Eddie Addis (3:57:48). Both were separated by less than a minute for the entire race.

Belying his inexperience at the distance, 100 first-timer Adam put on a display of exceptional pacing, getting faster on each of the 4 laps. He moved into the lead for the first time by 3 seconds after 3 laps and extended his lead with a storming final lap of 59:52 – the only sub hour lap from any rider for the 25.7 mile circuit.

Tim Wilcock (GS Metro) held pace with the leading two for the first half before fading to finish 3rd (4:06:28). Breeze Bikes RT’s Venda Louise Pollock won the women’s race, setting a female course record of 4:24:57 while Angela McGurk (Blaydon CC) was 2nd Lady in 5:26:54.

Blaydon CC (Hedley Fletcher, Ross Walton, Justin Ramel) took the 1st Team prize in 12:34:52 ahead of Tyneside Vagabonds (Adam Wild, Ken Thursby, Don Speight) in 12:46:43.

Donald McLean Stirling Bike Club 4:53:14*
Mark Leadbetter Stirling Bike Club 4:53:14*

1 Adam Wild Tyneside Vagabonds CC 3:56:58
2 Eddie Addis RT 23 3:57:48
3 Tim Wilcock GS Metro 4:06:28
4 Hedley Fletcher Blaydon CC 4:11:07
5 Ross Walton Blaydon CC 4:11:18
6 Justin Ramel Blaydon CC 4:12:27
7 Ali Bailey GS Metro 4:13:54
8 Matt Collison Muckle Cycle Club 4:14:02
9 Sean Kennedy North Tyneside Riders CC 4:14:42
10 Ken Thursby Tyneside Vagabonds CC 4:20:48
11 Chris Mather Derwentside CC 4:21:42
12 Ian Simon Breeze Bikes RT 4:23:28
13 Venda Louise Pollock Breeze Bikes RT 4:24:57
14 Tim Nichol Derwentside CC 4:28:35
15 Don Speight Tyneside Vagabonds CC 4:28:57
16 Paul Wright Blaydon CC 4:34:07
17 Dean Madden Barnesbury CC 4:34:10
18 Keith Sibbald Cramlington CC 4:46:43
19 Craig Deacon South Shields Velo Cycling Club 4:54:11
20 Philip Mason Otley CC 5:00:12
21 Martin Rasmussen Tyneside Vagabonds CC 5:00:18
22 Patrick Martin Bristol & District Triathletes (BAD TRI) 5:02:47*
23 Raymond Bell Derwentside CC 5:07:54
24 Angela McGurk Blaydon CC 5:26:54
25 Kath Finn Kendal Cycle Club 5:31:05




Send your results as well as club, team & event news here


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK