Report/Result: 52nd Clayton Velo Spring Classic

Ryan Perry was in scintillating form to win the 52nd running of the Clayton Velo Spring Classic, a long running road race in Lancashire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Ryan Perry was in scintillating form to win the 52nd running of the Clayton Velo Spring Classic, a long running road race in Lancashire

Ryan Perry – winning start to 2018

The race is run as a handicap and the first group seemed to hold their lead for a good few laps before splits started to occur and then a young rider called Glenn Hale went off the front with another rider. His companion however was only after the prime and so started a long lone breakaway for the third cat rider Glenn Hale. Lap after lap he held a good lead and was picking up prime after prime.

Behind it was chaos. Ryan Perry and Louis Szymanski attacked out of the scratch group and caught a select group out front and they were holding off the chase from the remenants of the scratch group which was splitting into pieces as the pace proved too much. Every time they came past me on the four mile circuit Perry was at the front but he still had plenty in the tank and with a lap to go he attacked and solo’d to a ‘local’ win and start his ‘time trial’ season off with a road race victory.

Full interviews to come …
… continued after advert



L-R: Mark Dziobon,  Ryan Perry, Simon Deplitch

Simon Deplitch wins the sprint for second

Tom Bracegirdle finishes 8th

Glenn Hale on his solo break for half the race

The start of the group that would become a selection at the front ….

Ryan Perry and Louis Szymanski attacked the scratch group and went across to the front

Fraser Martin leads the chase in the scratch group

James Gullen time trial power wasn’t enough to bring back Perry and co 

Louis Rose-Davies (Canyon) leads the chase from the scratch group

Three of the strongest at the front of the leaders, Perry, Charles Paige and Louis Szymanski

Louis Rose-Davies (Canyon) leads a split which includes Fraser Martin

Tom Bracegirdle chasing solo in the closing few laps

Mason Hollyman also chasing solo as the race was splitting all over the place

Tom Lowe leads another chase group with Jack Pullar chasing them down in the background

Yet another of the splits with Lewis Hartley and Craig Rogers (I think) 

James Gullen puts a dig in from the scratch group or what was left of it

… continued after advert


1 Ryan Perry, Drag2Zero
2 Simon Deplitch Team Chronomaster
3 Mark Dziobon Lancashire RC
4 Glenn Hale Holmfirth cycling Club (O23)
5 Louis Szymanski Cycling Sheffield Giant Sheffield
6 Charles Paige Green Jersey RT
7 Louis Rose-Davies Canyon Eisberg
8 Tom Bracegirdle Morvelo Basso RT
9 Mason Hollyman Zappi Racing Team
10 Stephen Dent Baguet-MIBA-Indulek-Derito CT
11 Fraser Martin Saint Piran
12 Alex Luhrs Ribble Cycling
13 Cameron Jeffers Saint Piran
14 Oliver Rees PH-MAS/Paul Milnes Cycles
15 Andrew Tennant Canyon Eisberg
16 Tom Lowe Crimson Performance Race Team
17 William Corbett Ribble Cycling
18 Dillon Byrne VC UK
19 Isaac Peatfield Green Jersey RT
20 Craig Rogers Birkenhead North End CC
21 Lewis Hartley Zappi Racing Team
22 James Gullen JLT Condor
23 Jack Pullar Canyon Eisberg
24 Michael Ashurst Onimpex Bio Racer RT
25 Richard Haughton Ribble Cycling
26 Dylan Hughes Spokes Racing Team
27 Alexander Dent Spokes Racing Team
28 Christopher Mann Marsh Tracks Racing – Trek
29 Benjamin Trippier Crimson Performance Race Team
30 Joss Livesey
31 Steven Fidler 3C Payment sports
32 James Claydon Bill Nickson Cycles RT
33 Jimmy Smith Specialized Chester
34 Toby Tanfield Cleveland Whls JRT/Catley Lakeman
35 Tarn Fynn Crimson Performance Race Team
36 Samuel Pugh Salt Ayre Cog Set
37 Simon Wilson Ribble Cycling
38 Ryan Pike Onimpex Bio Racer RT
39 Martin Woffindin
40 Ross Prescott N-Fuse Identity Racing
41 Ben Whitehead ABC Centreville
42 Scott Howieson Spokes Racing Team
43 Darran Acton Tactic
44 George Elliott Innovation Racing
45 Jessica Roberts Team Breeze
46 Abigail Dentus Team Breeze
47 Lauren Dolan Team Breeze
48 Bobby Horton Green Jersey RT
49 George Wharton Kent Valley RC
50 Guy Jones Harry Middleton Cycling Club
… continued after advert





Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,