Report: Brooks Cycles Track League (May 17)

There was fine weather for the third round of the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme (Staffordshire)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report: Brooks Cycles Track League (May 17)

The fine weather held for the third round of the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme .
The night started with the Freewheelers League with the biggest turnout so far for this year with 16 riders taking part. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Harry Clewlow Lyme RC 8 Points Group 2 Oscar Peel Lyme RC 10 Points
Group 3 Thomas Ford Lyme RC 11 Points

The main league started with the second round of the 500m Handicap League. Fifteen riders lined up for this event so the judges had their work cut out with league sponsor Tony Brooks ( Brooks Cycles ) taking the win to show not only can he will National Power lifting events he can do a fast 500m as well. In the Team sprint the team of Pete Humphries ( Brooks Cycles) Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) and pete Mitchell ( Backline Racing ) took the win. The sprint final saw former World Paralympic Tandem Champion Pete Mitchell take a superb win from Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo )

In the A Class Endurance events Ian Douglas ( Lyme RC ) won the opening 10 laps scratch before Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC ) won the win and out event. Cai Davies ( Finchley RT ) won the devil and Joel Partington was in great form to win the final 20 laps scratch. The B Class races Iain Davidson won all four events to take a good lead in the overall table.

The C Class leagues a full program of events with Mark Ireland ( Lyme RC ) who was riding his first track league, take the opening 6 laps scratch before Darren Hughes won the win and out. Richard Coates ( Leek CC ) won the devil and Neil Batten ( Velo Runner )took the 20 laps scratch. The youth events were dominated by Josh Marsden who won all four races to open up a good lead win the overall standings.

… continued after advert



Group 1
Race 1
1st Harry Clewlow Lyme RC
2nd Evie Davis Lyme RC
3rd Liam Campbell Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Thomas Alcock Lyme RC
2nd Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC
3rd Harry Brayford Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Harry Brayford
2nd Harry Clewlow
3rd Evie Davis

Race 4
1st Minnie McKenzie
2nd Harry Clewlow
3rd Evie Davis

Group 2
Race 1
1st Oscar Peel Lyme RC
2nd Olly Davis Lyme RC
3rd Eadie Jones Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Charlie Clewlow Lyme RC
2nd` Oscar Peel
3rd Olly Davis

Race 3
1st Oscar Peel
2nd Charlie Clewlow
3rd Eadie Jones

Race 4
1st Charlie Clewlow
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Oscar Peel

Group 3
Race 1
1st George Morton Lyme RC
2nd Thomas Ford Lyme RC
3rd Eddie Townsend Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Max McKenzie
2nd Thomas Ford
3rd Sophie Griffiths

Race 3
1st Thomas Ford
2nd Eddie Townsend
3rd Max McKenzie

Race 4
1st Thomas Ford
2nd George Morton
3rd Eddie Townsend
… continued after advert


500m Handicap League
1st Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles
2nd Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
3rd Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
4th Pete Mitchell Backline Racing
5th Pete Humphries Brooks Cycles

Youth Handicap
1st Josh Marsden Lyme RC
2nd Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC
3rd Seth Ireland Lyme RC
A Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Ian Douglas Lyme RC
2nd Cai Davies Finchley RT
3rd Thomas Bullock Newport CC

B Class 10 lap Scratch
1st Iain Davidson BC PM

C Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Mark Ireland Lyme RC
2nd Richard Coates Leek CC
3rd Neil Batten Velo Runner

Sprinters League Team Sprint
1st Pete Humphries
Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC
Pete Mitchell
2nd Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles
Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles
Tom White Middleton CC
3rd Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
Steve Cronshaw
Tony Brooks

Youth Team sprint
1st Seth Ireland
Josh Marsden

A Class win and Out
1st Tom Bullock
2nd Ian Douglas
3rd Cai Davies

B Class Win and Out
1st Iain Davidson

C Class Win and Out
1st Darren Hughes Lyme RC
2nd Neil Batten
3rd Richard Coates

Youth Devil
1st Josh Marsden
2nd Jacob Gilkes Lichfield CCC
3rd Thomas Wheaver

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Cai Davies
2nd Thomas Bullock
3rd Ian Douglas
B Class Devil
1st Iain Davidson

C Class devil
1st Richard Coates
2nd Hannah Davies
3rd Paige Nutton

Sprint Final
1st Pete Mitchell
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Josh Spendelow

Youth Points
1st Josh Marsden
2nd Jacob Gilkes
3rd Thomas Bullock

20 lap Scratch A
1st Joel Partington
2nd Pete Mitchell
3rd Cai Davies

1st Iain Davidson

1st Neil Batten
2nd Sallie Birchall
3rd Paige Nutton



Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK