News: GB for UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

The riders to respresent Great Britain at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Maniago, Italy, from the 2nd – 5th August have been announced

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

News: GB for UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

A 20-strong team of riders have been selected by GB for the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Maniago, Italy, from the 2nd – 5th August. Britain’s most successful female Paralympian Dame Sarah Storey returns to elite level competition following the birth of her son Charlie in October 2017 and will be looking to add to her impressive tally of 23 para-cycling world championship titles in Maniago.

Joining Storey will be Lora Fachie piloted by Corrine Hall, Crystal Lane-Wright and Katie Toft, all of whom won gold medals at the world cup in Ostend last month.

Paralympic champions Steve Bate and his pilot Adam Duggleby, Karen Darke, Megan Giglia and Louis Rolfe will be back in action, while Will Bjergfelt, Craig Collis McCann, Hannah Dines, Mel Nicholls, Simon Price, Liz Saul, David Smith and Ben Watson will represent Great Britain in their respective categories.
.. continued after advert


Completing the line-up is Finlay Graham and George Peasgood, both of whom make their debut in Great Britain Cycling Team colours.

Dame Sarah Storey said: “After not being able to travel to the track worlds in March I’m excited to get out to Italy for the road worlds. The road season has started well and I’ve already raced internationally in Holland. Over the next few weeks I’ve got the HSBC UK | National Women’s Road Series races and the HSBC UK| National Road Championships as part of my preparations.”

David Smith said: “Being selected for the road worlds is an incredible opportunity and one I am truly grateful for. Cycling has been the only thing in my life that gave me the drive to get through the last two years since surgery, so knowing that I get the chance to race in a world championships makes all those hours in rehab worth it.”

Steve Bate piloted Adam Duggleby (MB)
Will Bjergfelt (C5)
Craig Collis McCann (T2)
Karen Darke (WH3)
Hannah Dines (T2)
Lora Fachie piloted by Corrine Hall (WB)
Megan Giglia (C3)
Finlay Graham (C3)
Crystal Lane Wright (C5)
Mel Nicholls (H4)
George Peasgood (C4)
Simon Price (C2)
Louis Rolfe (C2)
Liz Saul (C4)
David Smith (C1)
Dame Sarah Storey (C5)
Katie Toft (C1)
Ben Watson (C3)




Cycle Division’s New Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK