Preview: Colne Grand Prix 2018

The final event of the Elite Circuit Series is on Wednesday in Colne (Lancashire) – we have a provisional startlist

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Preview: Colne Grand Prix 2018

The event takes place on an 840 metres closed road circuit within the Town Centre of Colne. This is an almost flat and very fast course, with Elite race lap times of around 1 minute.

The final of the Elite Circuit Series rolls in to Colne next Wednesday (25th July) for the 2018 Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix, with support races alongside. This will be the fifteenth year that the Colne Grand Prix has been held and the third year that Colne Town Council have been its organisers.

Thousands of cycling fans and local residents will line Colne High Street for the event from 6.15pm on Wednesday, 25th July 2018. As well as attracting national teams from across the UK, the event will also include local talent. 21 year old former West Craven pupil Jack Thomas, who is an Apprentice with the event’s title sponsor, Fort Vale, will compete in the Fort Vale Sprint For Success race for the third time.

Looking forward to the event he said “I’ve already competed in the Ilkley Grand Prix this year to prepare. I’m really looking forward to it. Competing locally is brilliant, I’m from Pendle and started competing for Cycle Sport Pendle”.

He added “Having events of this calibre on the doorstep is great and to have support from family and friends lining the course is brilliant. I hope I do Fort Vale proud, to be able to compete for them, in their race, is quite something”.

There will be road closures in place in Colne Town Centre from 3.30pm on Wednesday 25th July as the whole town gears up for the arrival of thousands of spectators. Chairman of Colne Town Council Paul Foxley said “The Grand Prix is a fantastic opportunity for us to be able to showcase our beautiful town. We can’t wait to welcome visitors and residents alike for an evening of thrilling sport”.

Shaun Laycock, General Manager of Fort Vale said “We have so many keen cyclists at Fort Vale and it will be great to see Fort Vale’s own Jack Thomas compete. Health and wellbeing of employees is really important to us so this fits on many levels”.

“Colne is the toughest race in the National Circuit Series so it will be great to see the competitors battle it out on the night”.
… continued after advert


18:30 Unique Clean Youth A/B race. 25 minutes
19:10 Fort Vale Sprint for Success. Category 2/3/4. 30 minutes
20:00 Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix. 1 hour + 5 laps
21:15 Prize presentations, including overall winner of the Elite Series.

Elite Circuit Series Riders (Provisional)
1 Matthew Gibson JLT Condor
2 Edmund Bradbury JLT Condor
3 Graham Briggs JLT Condor
4 Germain Burton JLT Condor
5 Edward Clancy OBE JLT Condor
6 Thomas Moses JLT Condor
7 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor
8 Oliver Wood JLT Condor
9 Matthew Nowell Canyon Eisberg
10 Charles Page Canyon Eisberg
11 Alex Paton Canyon Eisberg
12 Jack Pullar Canyon Eisberg
13 Harry Tanfield Canyon Eisberg
14 Andrew Tennant Canyon Eisberg
15 George Atkins Madison Genesis
16 Michael Cuming Madison Genesis
17 Richard Handley Madison Genesis
18 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis
19 Jonathan McEvoy Madison Genesis
20 Isaac Mundy Madison Genesis
21 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling
22 Christopher Latham One Pro Cycling
23 Jacob Scott One Pro Cycling
24 Peter Williams One Pro Cycling
25 Thomas Pidcock Team Wiggins
26 Oliver Robinson Team Wiggins
27 Jacques Sauvagnargues Team Wiggins
28 Joey Walker Team Wiggins
29 Reece Wood Team Wiggins
30 Julio Alberto Amores Palacios Vitus Pro Cycling
31 Liam Davies Vitus Pro Cycling
32 Joshua Hunt Vitus Pro Cycling
33 Harrison Jones Vitus Pro Cycling
34 Adam Kenway Vitus Pro Cycling
35 Grant Martin Vitus Pro Cycling
36 Bertie Newey Vitus Pro Cycling
37 Joe Reilly Vitus Pro Cycling
38 Matthew Bostock 100% ME
39 Rhys Britton 100% ME
40 Ethan Hayter 100% ME
41 Joe Holt 100% ME
42 Joseph Nally 100% ME
43 Jake Stewart 100% ME
44 Matthew Walls 100% ME
45 Fred Wright 100% ME
46 Tarn Fynn Crimson Performance Race Team
47 Oliver Huszar Crimson Performance Race Team
48 Tom Lowe Crimson Performance Race Team
49 Jamie Ridehalgh Crimson Performance Race Team
50 Alistair Thomas Crimson Performance Race Team
51 William Brown Ribble Cycling
52 William Corbett Ribble Cycling
53 Ed Hopper Ribble Cycling
54 Zeb Kyffin Ribble Cycling
55 Gruffudd Lewis Ribble Cycling
56 Chris Sherriffs Ribble Cycling
57 William Harper Saint Piran
58 Cameron Jeffers Saint Piran
59 Fraser Martin Saint Piran
60 Peter Barusevicus Team KTM UK
61 Alex Harvey Team KTM UK
62 Oliver Peckover Team KTM UK
63 Matthew Clarke Wheelbase Castelli MGD
64 Angus Claxton Wheelbase Castelli MGD
65 Finn Crockett Wheelbase Castelli MGD
66 Alex Dalton Wheelbase Castelli MGD
67 Jordan Doig Wheelbase Castelli MGD
68 Ryan Fenwick Wheelbase Castelli MGD
69 David Lines Wheelbase Castelli MGD
70 Joe Swinnerton Wheelbase Castelli MGD
71 Nicholas Cooper ActiveEdge Race Team
72 Thomas Ashcroft Bott Cycle Team
73 Joshua Greenwood Giant Halifax Race Team
74 Hamish Graham Green Jersey RT
75 Charles Paige Green Jersey RT
76 Christopher Durham Lincsquad (Quadrathlon Club)
77 Cameron Blake Prologue Racing Team
78 Ashley Marshall Prologue Racing Team
79 Marcus Burnett Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
80 William Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT

81 George Wood Richardson Trek
82 Will Fox Team KTM

… continued after advert


1 William Ambrose Derby Mercury RC 2nd
2 Isaac Appleby N-Fuse Identity Racing 2nd
3 David Ashton Army Cycling Union 3rd Y
4 Declan Brady Bury Clarion Cycling Club 3rd
5 Lee Brown Holmfirth Cycling Club 2nd
6 Joseph Cadwallader KISS Racing Team (KRT) 2nd
7 Oliver Cockerill Velo Club Beverley 3rd
8 Matthew Dudman Paceline Cycles North 2nd Y
9 James Duffy Bury Clarion Cycling Club 3rd
10 Daniel Eden 3rd
11 Cory Edmondson Green Jersey RT 3rd Y
12 Tom Greenwood Ilkley Cycling Club 3rd Y
13 Glen Hale Holmfirth Cycling Club 2nd
14 Bobby Horton Green Jersey RT 2nd
15 Joe Howcroft Otley CC 2nd
16 Declan Hudson Liverpool Century RC 2nd
17 Henry James Team SB Hub 3rd
18 Gareth Johnson Green Jersey RT 3rd Y
19 Philip Jones Transition Race Team 3rd
20 Guy Jones Harry Middleton Cycling Club 2nd
21 Will King Prologue Racing Team 2nd
22 Matthew Kirkbright Army Cycling Union 2nd
23 Mark Laidlaw Kendal Cycle Club 3rd
24 James Little Holmfirth Cycling Club 3rd
25 Tyla Loftus Wheelbase Castelli MGD 2nd
26 Garry Makin North Lancashire RC 4th
27 Simon Mayfield Sowerby Brothers CRT 2nd
28 Conor McKinnon Southport CC 3rd
29 Oliver Newlan ABC Centreville 3rd
30 James Noonan Hoppers Rollers 2nd
31 Luke OConnell Otley CC 3rd
32 William Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT 2nd
33 David Parrington Hoppers Rollers 2nd
34 Christopher Pickles University of Leeds Cycling Club 2nd
35 Ryan Pike Onimpex Bio Racer RT 2nd
36 Robbie Pollard Otley CC
37 Samuel Pugh Salt Ayre Cog Set 2nd
38 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Castelli MGD 2nd
39 Stuart Rider Pendle Forest CC 4th Y
40 Chris Roughley Lancashire RC 3rd
41 Chris Stanley North Lancashire RC 3rd
42 William Staveley Le Col 2nd
43 Harvey Stroh Team SB Hub 2nd
44 Matthew Taylor Albion Cycling Co 2nd
45 Jack Thomas Pendle Forest CC 3rd Y
46 Chris Thomas Lune RCC 3rd
47 William Weatherill Hope Factory Racing 4th Y
48 Josh Whitehead 3rd
49 Joe Wilson Ribble Cycling 2nd
50 Martin Woffindin
… continued after advert


Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK