Result: Team OnForm Road Race

Clay Davies winner of the Team OnForm Writtle University College Road Race for category 2/3/4 at Chelmsford on Sunday (Sept 30)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: Team OnForm Road Race

Writtle University College held its first road race with its elite cycling team partner OnForm.

The 58-mile (93km) road race, which was part of the Eastern Road Race League, was held on Sunday 30 September with laps of a route starting from the University College, going out to Leaden Roding, looping around the Rodings and back to the main campus.

Some of the students on the Foundation Degree in Cycling Performance were competing on the day while others helped organise the road race and assisted with the logistics, giving them valuable experience of the event management aspect of the sports industry. The course is known to be fast as it is relatively flat and usually ends in a sprint finish but not long after the race was de-neutralised on the Roxwell Road three riders got away.

Shortly after, they were joined by Oliver Smee (OnForm and recent WUC Cycling Performance graduate) and George Beck (2nd year WUC Cycling Performance student) and another rider who rode across. The gap at that stage was around 30s but it grew to 55s by the final lap. The break then stopped working and the gap plummeted to 20s, George Beck dropped back to the main bunch at which point the break with renewed impetus pushed-on again to maintain its slim lead. This was helped by the teammate of the winner, who rode powerfully on the front to keep the bunch at bay which, at some points, was getting dangerously close to catching them.

With 300m to go, Clay Davies launched his race-winning attack with second placed rider Michael Krukov close in his wheel. The remainder of the break were only 10 seconds ahead of the bunch and it was all Ollie Smee could do to stay ahead and take a well-earnt fifth place. Will Swarbrick (OnForm) took 8th place in the bunch sprint. Clay Davies, of Verulam –, won the race with Michael Krukov, of HJL, coming second and Ian Franklin, of Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team, coming third.

Professor Tim Middleton, Vice-Chancellor of the University College, presented them with bouquets made by Writtle’s Floristry Department. Mark Walker, Course Leader for the Cycling Performance degree, said: “It was a thoroughly exciting race and for once it was good to see a break staying away on this course. It was a superb win by Clay Davies and I was delighted to see our OnForm U23 Team riders and students of the university college race so well.”

1 Clay Davies Verulam – reallymoving
2 Michael Krukov HJL
3 Ian Franklin Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
4 Lewis Pendle VC Norwich
5 Oliver Smee Cycle Team OnForm
6 Timothy Torrie Vitus Pro Cycling
7 Craig Nicholls API-Metrow/Bodyby JR
8 Jeremy Perks Rapha Cycling Club
9 Will Swarbrick Cycle Team OnForm
10 George Jones 73Degrees CC
12 Leighton Oxley-Crisp Velo Schils – Interbike RT
13 Thomas Timberlake Cycle Team OnForm
14 Adam Parkes RMNC
15 Chris Martin RMNC
16 Tom Andrews Orwell Velo
17 Matthias Barnet Cycle Team OnForm
18 James Dent St Neots CC
19 Liam Nicol RMNC
20 Josh Griffiths Bristol South CC
21 Martin Smith London Phoenix CC
22 James Hedley-Smith Verulam –
23 Paul Miller Maldon & District CC
24 Colin Peck Chelmer CC
25 Charles Salt Islington Cycling Club
26 William Raymond VC Londres
27 Mike Smith Rapha Cycling Club
28 Paul Roberts Lea Valley CC
29 Michael Bell Fast Test Racing Team
30 Stephen Fuller Cambridge CC
31 Mark Harris Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
32 Jonas Rooze CC London
33 Paul McGrath Verulam –
34 Samuel Asker VC Londres
35 Ieuan Woods Cycle Team OnForm



Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK