Result/Report: Jef Schills Memorial RR

Node 4 – Giordana dominate the National A road race, the Jef Schills Memorial in Essex with Marcin Bialoblocki winning

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Paul Burgoine writes … Interbike have been running a road race for years but last year the race fell on the late Jef Schils birthday, so the decision was made to rename the race ‘The Jef Schils Memorial Road Race’ to celebrate the memory of the Belgium cyclist and father of Patrick Schils.

More photos here …

The idea is to bring some of the Belgium passion for cycling to the lanes of Essex and make it an event for all the family, a big crowd turned out on Birch Green to enjoy drinks from the pub, burgers and other delights on offer, the weather was far from sunny but compared to last year’s torrential rain it was positively gorgeous.

Race updates were provided over the PA in between the mix of Belgian and British pop music, some tunes being recognisable from evenings spent in the Gent velodrome.

The race this year had been upgraded to’ National A’ status which was bad news for some of the club riders as some strong Premier calendar teams were present, none more so than Node 4 Giodana Racing.

It wasn’t long before Node 4 stamped their authority on the race putting two men in the early break, Marcin Bialoblocki and Pete Williams, were joined by IG Sigma Sports rider Steve Lampier. It wasn’t long before the three man break had established a comfortable lead and after the completion of the long 20k lap circuit they had a healthy lead of a minute, and as you would expect, all attempts to chase were being closed down by the two teams in the break, Jason White (Meteltek Scott) was constantly trying to organise the chase but to no avail.

After the 20k loop the race moved to a smaller 10k circuit for the final five laps, this was good for the spectators as we could see the race pass every 15minutes or so, barely time to get to the bar and back, the gap was increasing and peaked at 1.43. W

With two laps remaining the lead was down to 1.33 by now Pete Williams (Node 4 Giodana Racing) had the sprints competition won and would dually pick up the cheque for £100. Both the break and the peloton were now at full gas and as the three break away riders came through for the bell lap they were chased by yet another Node 4 rider, Mike Northey, who had cut the gap down to about 30 seconds, behind him the peloton was split all over the place with groups all over the road.

As the riders appeared in the home straight it was no surprise to see three Node 4 riders coming to the line to contest the sprint finish, the win was taken by Marcin Bialoblocki one of the original breakaway riders, second went to Mike Northey and third to the sprints winner Pete Williams.

Marcin said after the race that it was tough being out in the break for almost the whole race but they all worked well together and it was a positive result for the team, who embark on the Tour of Britain next week. This was a race that the Node 4 team never really looked like losing; they took control from the beginning and never relinquished their control. To complete the onslaught they even took fourth and fifth with Matt Cronshaw and James Sampson respectively.


1 Marcin Bialoblocki Node 4 – Giordana 3-21-14
2 Mike Northey Node 4 – Giordana st
3 Pete Williams Node 4 – Giordana st
4 Matt Cronshaw Node 4 – Giordana @ 38s
5 James Sampson Node 4 – Giordana @ 42s
6 Matti Stiens Wieler Team Van Eyck @ 44s
7 Jake Hales IG Markets-Sigma Sport st
8 Harold Evans VO2 Development Team st
9 Steve Lampier IG Markets-Sigma Sport st
10 David Nicholls Loughborough Students st
11 Benjamin Rentmeesters WK Noord West Brabant @ 1-10
12 Will Bjergfelt Cycle Premier – Covert st
13 Mike Wraggs Team Milton Keynes st
14 Ashley Cox Spirit Racing Team st
15 Henry Latimer Dream Cycling st
16 Allan Ridler Pedal Heaven RT st
17 Martin Smith Primal Europe st
18 Ian Knight Team Corley Cycles RT-Blue st
19 Daniel Drake Lancashire RC st
20 Douglas Coleman CC Luton st
21 David Clarke Node 4 – Giordana st
22 Wouter Sybrandy IG Markets Sigma Sport st
23 Chris Dredge Team Corley Cycles RT-Blue st
24 Jack Adams Zappis Pro Cycling st
25 Dieter Uyttersprot Wieler Team Van Eyck st
26 Rico Rogers Node 4 – Giordana st
27 Junior Heffernan One & All Cycling/Bikechain Ricci st
28 Jason White Metaltek Scott st
29 Dominic Schils Wieler Team Van Eyck st
30 Tom Neale Spalding CC st


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,