Report: Archer Road Club Cyclo Cross

A record number of well over 200 riders lined up in the Archer Road Club cyclo cross meeting at Hillingdon circuit on 30 September.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Stuart Benstead reports…

Hugo Robinson, XRT Elmy Cycles was the winner of the Archer RC event finishing 17 seconds ahead of Matthew Webber, London Phoenix, in the main event. Third, at 1m 19s, Liam Stones, Tm Corley Cycles/Blue, just three seconds ahead of Sylvain Garde, Addiscombe CC, these being the main contenders in the 140 field although Thompson was well clear for most of the one hour race.

Gavin Rumbles, Luton CC, was 7th and the first vet rider, with national champion Mick Bell, London Fire Brigade, 10th and first vet over-50.

This was the opening event in the Central Cyclo Cross League as it was last year when it was also in the London League in which it originated. There was also a big field then, but not as big as this one despite qualifying for two leagues. So decision to concentrate on the Central league was justified with the Region’s riders flocking in and joined by a number more often to be seen in the London series with their event that day in far off Dover.

The Central League in its short life has proved a tremendous success starting only four years ago with a few events put on by new organisers persuaded by an enthusiastic team of volunteers and BC regional staff. Now there is a shortage of dates for new organisers waiting in the wings and the possibility of two events per weekend being considered for next year.

Although there is restricted available terrain available for off road racing at Hillingdon, ingenuity produced a fast but testing circuit with plenty of short climbs that brought praise from many riders. In fact the suggestion was made that it would be a good venue for a National Trophy race as there are all the required back up facilities required by a major event.


1 Hugo Robinson XRT Elmy Cycles
2 Matthew Webber London Phoenix CC
3 Liam Stones Team Corley Cycles/Blue
4 Savainn Garde Addiscombe CC
5 Jack Clarnson Hope Factory Racing
6 Paul Lloyd Rides on Air
7 Gavin Rumbles CC Luton
8 Kevin Knox ViCiOUS VELO
9 Nicholas Jones Team Corley Cycles/Blue
10 Mick Bell London Fire Brigade CC
11 Peter Smith Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing
12 Chris Pedder AW Cycles
13 Neil Ellison WDMBC Beyond Mountainbikes
14 Cameron Woolsey Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
15 Steve Golla High Wycombe Cycling Club
16 Philip Hersey Eagle RC
17 Dan Drake Lancs RC
18 Stuart Lockyear London Phoenix CC
19 Leo Payne GS Groupetto
20 Jason Painton Rides on Air
21 Jamie Francis London Dynamo
22 Duncan Schwier Twickenham CC
23 Richard Collins Imperial Racing Team
24 Duncan Rimmer Morden Cycle Racing Club
25 Chris Smith Team Milton Keynes
26 Gavin Spiers Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT
27 Matt Field None
28 Chris Clayton Dyson Cycles
29 Andrew Nowman Team WORC
30 Edwin Burden London Phoenix CC
31 Sam Williamson Hemel Hempstead CC
32 Iain Blatchfod VC Miado
33 Andrew Han None
34 Alex Peeke Welwyn Wheelers
35 Neil Hefferman Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT
36 Richard O’Reilly Hemel Hempstead CC
37 Andy Halliday WDMBC Beyond Mountainbikes
38 Mark Anstee Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club
39 James Stephens Hackney CT
40 Michael Clark Team Trisports
41 Neil Cooper Kingston Whls CC
42 Kevin Carter Hackney CT
43 John Donovan C.S. Grupetto
44 Stephen Morrell Aylesbury CC
45 David Micklewright Hillingdon Triathletes
46 Will Bridgeman None
47 Chris Jenkins Kingston Whls CC
48 Ben Whiteled None
49 James Leach Twickenham CC
50 Martin Winter Twickenham CC
51 Mark Lawn Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT
52 Duncan O’Reilly Didcot Phoenix CC
53 Jason Pitt AW Cycles
54 Joel Farrow Team Trisports
55 Andrew Granger Twickenham CC
56 Tim Burrows Westerley CC
57 Justin Lord G.S. Henley
58 Steve James Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club
59 Isaac Anstee Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club
60 Martin Heaton Team Milton Keynes
61 Stuart Walters Kettering CC01536516206
62 Greg Anderson None
63 Simon Hudson Didcot Phoenix CC
64 Melissa Brand Pretorius Bikes
65 Dave Spragg Kingston Whls CC
66 Ben Reidy Team Trisports
67 Clive Evans WDMBC Beyond Mountainbikes
68 Tony Shortland Team Trisports
69 Andrew Murray Hemel Hempstead CC
70 Natalia Wase Dirt Divas
71 Ian Middleton Didcot Phoenix CC
72 Ben Richmond Verulam CC
73 David Skeggs Team Milton Keynes
74 Daniel Clemens VC10
75 Rob Nelson Leighton Buzzard Road Cycling Club
76 Jon Wilson Team Trisports
77 James Morris GS Henley
78 Rob Allen Eastern Suburbs
79 Elwyn Powell Twickenham CC
80 Dave Newman Westerley CC
81 Neil Morris Didcot Phoenix CC
82 Keith Perry Team Trisports
83 Carl Keen Leighton Buzzard Road Cycling Club
84 Paula Adams Team Trisports
85 David Belcher Sotonia CC
86 Shane Townsend Westerley CC
87 Giles Haley Hemel Hempstead CC
88 Naomi Woodland Team Trisports
89 Sam Dorkings Didcot Phoenix CC
90 Joshua Mitchell Bicester Millennium CC
91 Michael Humphris Team Trisports
92 Roddy Grant A5 Rangers
93 Saulius Vizbaras None
94 Graham MacNamee Twickenham CC
95 Dil Wetherill Team Trisports
96 William Morris None
97 John Muncaster Team Milton Keynes
98 Joe Richardson Welwyn Whls CC
99 Chris Abbott Rollapaluza CC
100 Claire Harrison Team Milton Keynes
101 Lauren Randall Icknield RC
102 Brenda Bozwood Davies Team Trisports

1 Zinzon Heap Team Milton Keynes
2 Matthew Clements Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
3 Charles Page Hillingdon Slipstreamers
4 Callum Mackie Lea Valley Youth CC
5 Jonti Heap Team Milton Keynes
6 Ben Moriarty Hillingdon Slipstreamers
7 Marcus Burnett Team Milton Keynes
8 Daniel Maynard Welwyn Whrs
9 Buauna Ball Team Milton Keynes
10 Olli Bates Team Milton Keynes
11 George Mew Jensen Lea Valley Youth CC
12 Howard Strendnir None
13 Paul McKeating None
14 Reg Pay West Drayton MBC
15 Jacob Tresham Team Milton Keynes
16 Kay Thomson Twickenham CC
17 Lauren Murphy Team Milton Keynes
18 Kevin Jones Twickenham CC
19 Kelly Eddie Icknield Road Club
20 William Annells Didcot Phoenix
21 Aimee Wright High Wycombe CC
22 Michael Pams Welwyn Whrs
23 Daniel Seddon None
24 Emma Pitt Palmer Park Velo RT
25 Claire Veldmeijer Twickenham CC
26 Tom Zygo Team Milton Keynes
27 Lan-Lan Smith None
28 Ben Wetherill Team Milton Keynes
29 Tom Williamson Hemel Hempstead CC
30 Ucair Zukfaar Icknield Road Club
31 Neil Zygo Team Mk
32 Ulrika Kuoppa None
33 Augustyn Konol Icknield Road Club
34 Judith Wetherill None
35 Brian Wood Hillingdon Slipstreamers
36 Bilal Saadior Icknield Road Club
37 Sufiyan Hussain icknield cycling club
38 Maagra Akntar Icknield Road Club

1 Thomas Timberlake Dyson Dunstable
2 Alexi Eduards Welwyn
3 Felix Mackie Lea Valley Youth CC
4 Alasdair Frant A5 Rangers
5 Noah Tresham Team Milton Keynes
6 Thomas Barrowcliffe Aylesbury CC
7 Lewis Muncaster Team Milton Keynes
8 Sam Skeggs Team Milton Keynes
9 Nicholas Day Team Milton Keynes
10 Angus Hudson Beds Road CC
11 Elsa Kristiansson Hillingdon Slipstreamers
12 Aimee zygo Team Milton Keynes

1 Alexander Russell Team Milton Keynes
2 Joe Kiely Welwyn Wheelers
3 Alex Wetherill Team Milton Keynes
4 Molli Keenor Team Milton Keynes
5 Rosie Dunbar Beds Road CC
6 George Storey none
7 Ethan Spieces PM
8 Astrid Spragg Hillingdon Slipstreamers


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,