Report: LVRC Cyclo-Cross Championships

What a result for Team Jewson/MI Racing—Thule at the 2012 LVRC National Cyclo Cross Championships at Moreton College—Nr Wellesbourne, Warkickshire – which were organised by MI Racing and sponsored by Jewson.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Organiser Mick Ives was determined to keep the event on despite the weather which led to other events being cancelled. Despite have to change the course three times in the 24 hrs before the event, it resulted in top Veteran riders from across country riding.

Much of the course was in deep mud, and the 100 yards steep run up each lap had to be run this time. The descents were really tricky, with riders sliding all over the place, but with out any form of accident, such was the skill shown by some of the most experienced riders in the sport.

The race, which is divided into five year Age Championships, started all riders together—and the results were outstanding for the promoting team. Man of the races was Darren Atkins from Kenilworth, who after the first lap , had a clear lead over team mate , and three times winner of the race Steve Knight, with team mates Phil Blacker and Phil Roach following closely behind.

Flying over the deep sticky mud, running faster than anyone else, and motoring up the Road section, Atkins increased his lead on every lap, showing the form ,that has now won him 10 races out of 12 this season. Knight, five years Atkins senior, still has that determination and never gave up the fight but had to settle for second place in the race, with Blacker, coming home in third.

Team Director, and five times World Masters Cyclo Cross Champion Mick Ives, said “I cannot recall over my 56 years of riding cyclo cross where one team has produced the first three riders in a Championship Race.”

In the Age Championships—Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule, once again excelled – Atkins and Blacker were 1st and 2nd in the 40-44yr Championship —- Knight and Mark James were 1st and 2nd in the 45-49 Championship —- Phil Roach won the 50-54 Championship — Tim Stowe won the 55-59 Championship. Barrie Mitchell was second to World Champion Vic Barnett in the 60-64 Championship, and Ives was second to World Champion John Ginley in the 70-74 Championship with team mate Graham Clements third.


Cat A—40-49
1. Darren Atkins Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule
2. Phil Blacker Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule.
3. Nick Walmsley Cotswold Veldrijden

Cat B—45-49
1. Steve Knight Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule
2. Mark James Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule
3. David Hobbs Cotswold Veldrijden

Cat C—50-54
1. Phil Roach—Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule
2. Martin O’Grady Team Toachim
3. Dave Phillips Cotswold Veldrijden

Cat D—55-59
1. Tim Stowe—Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule
2. Andy Jones Wolverhampton Wh.
3. Phil Evans Coventry Road Club.

Cat E—60—64
1. Dave Mc Mullen .W.R.
2. Ray Robinson LVRC
3. Phil Cooper LVRC

Cat F—65-69
1. Vic Barnett—Welland Valley
2. Barrie Mitchell—Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule

Cat G—70-74
1. John Ginley Condor RC
2. Mick Ives—Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule
3. Graham Clements Team Jewson—M.I.Racing—Thule

Cat H—75-79

1. Colin Summerfield—Elizabethan C C


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,