Report/Results: Elveden Road Race series 1


In spite of the overwhelming rain, the inaugural race of the Elveden Road Race series was an undoubted success, even with the riders who had to endure the dire conditions!

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Stuart Pryce (Strada Sport) beat Felix Barker (St Ives CC) in the uphill sprint for the line at the end of a punishing 42 miles in main race of the day for the Elite, 1st, 2nd and 3rd category riders.

The 34 year-old was one of the main protagonist’s and never far from the front of the 12-lap race. Along with Barker and Malcolm Smith (St Ives CC) the three emerged from two small groups that had broken away from the bunch and worked well together to steadily increase their lead lap-by-lap.

In the separate race for just the 3rd Cat riders, Pryce’s teammate Dieter Rower was victorious ahead of Lee Sturman (West Suffolk Wheelers & Triathlon Club) over the shorter distance of 25 miles.

These senior races provided a fitting end to an outstanding days racing on a new venue in the heart of the Elveden Estate on private roads of Lord Iveagh’s estate on the Norfolk/Suffolk border. Set in a mixture of mature woodland and arable farmland and completely hidden from public roads and buildings it provided an entirely new concept in closed circuit racing on an almost flawless asphalt finish.

The day had begun with the 4th category race, with just under 100 riders lining up to tackle the 25-miles! Thomas Ward (Giant Radlett) emerged as the winner after the 7 laps, ahead of Darren Rutterford (Iceni Velo) and James Hockridge (Colchester Rovers).

The Women’s race was no less hotly contested with Hannah Barnes riding for the Women’s pro-team at MG Maxifuel ProCycling, sprinting away from the leading bunch on the uphill drag to finish 10 bike- lengths clear. And it was her younger sister Alice (Scott Contessa) who won the bunch sprint, ahead of Tanya Griffiths (Ipswich BC) to claim the runners-up spot.

They may have been under 16 or 14 in the two Youth races, but they looked to emulate the more experienced riders in the senior events. Daniel Tulett (Hargroves Cycles RT) was first in the Youth A race for the Under 16’s, with Sophia Chastell (Welwyn Wheelers) the first girl finisher.

Adam Botteley, who was part of a large contingent from Bourne Wheelers, was the winner in the Youth B race for Under 14’s, with Rachel Jary (VC Londres) finishing third to claim the first girl prize.

A drenched race organiser Ken Joliffe said afterwards “It was an impressive day of sport for all abilities, gender and ages. Every race was a battle against each other and the elements with a worthy winner to every race. It was enjoyed by all, competitors and spectators alike.”

The rain was constantly there, but as one of the riders’ Mums said afterwards “ We’re happy but dirty!”

The events on Saturday could not have gone ahead without the support before and on the day from Elveden Estate staff, who also provided the catering.

The second round of the five-race series will be held on Saturday 6th April 2013, with more details available on


Race 1 – 4th Cats
1) Thomas Ward – Giant Radlett
2) Darren Rutterford – Iceni Velo
3) James Hockridge – Colchester Rovers
4) Elliot Lawrence – University of East Anglia CC
5) Anthony Purnell – Cambridge CC
6) Martin Page – Ipswich BC
7) William Scott – Bonito Squadra Course
8) Thomas Andrews – Ilkley Cycling Club
9) David Catchpole – Colchester Rovers
10) Thomas Gillingwater – Strada Sport

Race 2 – Women
1) Hannah Barnes – MG Maxifuel ProCycling
2) Alice Barnes – Scott Contessa
3) Tanya Griffiths – Ipswich BC
4) Susan Freeborn – In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT
5) Emily Barnes – Condor Cycles
6) Aimee Wright – High Wycombe CC
7) Siobhan McNamara – Look Mum No Hands RT
8) Alexie Shaw – Les Filles RT
9) Bryony Board – Glendene CC
10) Hayley Simmonds –

Race 3a – U16
1) Daniel Tulett – Hargroves Cycles RT
2) Tom Yiangoud
3) David Barnes – Condor Cycles
4) Thomas Bicknell – ProCycleHire UK RT
5) James Tapley – Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
6) Jordan Mooney – Welwyn Wheelers
7) Daniel Maynard – Welwyn Wheelers
8) Oliver Swallow – Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club
9) Adam Looker – Colchester Rovers CC
10) Robert Gray – Clifton CC

1) Sophia Chastell – Welwyn Wheelers
2) Rebecca Maynard – Welwyn Wheelers
3) Clover Murray – Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club

Race 3b – U14
1) Adam Botteley – Bourne Wheelers
2) Dougal Toms – Iceni Velo
3) Rachel Jary – VC Londres (1st girl)
4) Zak Coleman – Inverse / Cycle Components
5) Matthew Baker – Gt Yarmouth CC
6) Michael Parry – Welwyn Wheelers
7) Ben Tulett – Hargroves Cycles RT
8) Callum Bulley – Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
9) Matthew Ellis – Spalding CC
10) Sophie Wright – Gt Yarmouth CC (2nd girl)
11) Matthew Shepherd – Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
12) Simon Bird

3rd girl
1) Sophie Holmes – Inverse/Cycling Components RT
Race 4a – E/1/2/3
1) Stuart Pryce – Strada Sport
2) Felix Barker – St Ives CC
3) Malcolm Smith – St Ives CC
4) Chris Guy – Iceni Velo
5) Adam French – Rapha Condor Cycling Club
6) Graham Collins – Ipswich BC
7) Mike Smith – Colchester Rovers
8) Nick Esser – Strada Sport
9) Lloyd Chapman – Glendene CC
10) Patrick Schils – Velo Schils Interbike RT

Race 4b – 3rd Cats
1) Dieter Rowe – Strada Sport
2) Lee Sturman – West Suffolk Wheelers & Triathlon Club
3) Mark Botteley – Bourne Wheelers
4) Ken Roesner – Wisbech Wheelers
5) Jack Jeffery – Lee Valley Velo
6) Dale Johnston – VC Norwich
7) Christopher Bulley – Lee Valley Velo
8) Ollie Edwards (VC Revolution).
9) Richard Carrington – Mildenhall CC
10) Matthew Wing – Strada Sport

Youth A – Under 16 – Girls
1. Clover Murray – Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club
2. Sophia Chastell – Welwyn Wheelers
3. Rebecca Maynard – Welwyn Wheeelers






RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,