Results: Salt Ayre CA Spring Series


Report & results from the Salt Ayre CA Spring Series held on 9th of March where Simon Wilson won the Elite race …

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The 4th cat race had an excellent 33 starters many of whom were racing for the first time, proving the ‘Wiggo’ effect. The front of the race stayed together but riders were dropped from the back throughout. Thomas Gibson was a clear winner of the bunch sprint finish.

The Women only race had a brisk pace from the off and despite a number of attacks stayed together for a bunch sprint won by Flora Gillies. The E/1/2/3 race was a small but very good quality field and there was some hard racing with 3 riders eventually getting clear and working together to lap the bunch.

At the finish Simon Wilson won the sprint for first from James Gullen whilst Jake Cowan took a long one to finish alone for 4th and Julian Pearson won the bunch sprint for 5th.

Thank you to Chief Commisaire Tony Sweeney, Adam Newall of BC, the dedicated few who covered the marshalling and Cath + Julian for their help with the organising.


4TH CAT ONLY – 40 mins + 3 laps – 33 starters
1st Thomas Gibson Kent Valley RC
2nd Greg Plummer Lancs Fire Racing
3rd Simon Mulholland
4th Chris Hall BC PM
5th Adam Pickthall Barrow Central Whls
6th Andrew Butler Lune RCC
7th Ben Oglesby Alba Rosa CC
8th Martin Bretherton
9th Tom Williams Eureka Cycle Sports
10th David Allonby
11th Joe Beech Lancaster University CC
12th Ian Boydon Lune RCC
13th Bernard Clayton Pendle Forest CC
14th James Dent BC PM
15th John Dunstan Manchester Wheelers
16th Adrian Hamilton Lancaster CC
17th Mark Children Lune RCC
18th Will Sullivan Clitheroe Bike Club
19th David Castillo Liverpool Century

At 1 lap
John Crawford Lancaster University CC
David Reed Liverpool Mercury

WOMEN ONLY – 40 mins + 3 laps – 18 starters
1st Flora Gillies ASL360
2nd Lauren Brown Abergevenny
3rd Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC
4th Zoe Armstrong Scott Contessa
5th Amy Gornall Scott Contessa
6th Claire Martin Edinburgh RC
7th Sarah Rose Team 22
8th Sarah Stephen Stirling BC
9th Hannah MacDonald Liverpool Century
10th Hannah Sammut Liverpool Century
11th Claire Rutherford Wheelguru
12th Rachael Walker Hope Factory Racing
13th Lynn Hamel Herbalife Leisure Lakes
14th Deb John Lune RCC
15th Cherrie Whiteley BC PM

E/1/2/3 – 60 mins + 5 laps – 16 starters
1st Simon Wilson Corley Cycles
2nd James Gullen Hope Factory Racing
3rd Jacob Tipper Biketreks RT

At 1 lap
4th Jake Cowan Biketreks RT
5th Julian Pearson Teamwallis CHH RT
6th Tom Bracegirdle Biketreks RT
7th Stuart Reid Wheelbase
8th Oliver Payton Cycle Sport Pendle
9th Steve Abbott Teamwallis CHH RT
10th Jordan Rigby Teamwallis CHH RT
11th John Dodgin Lune RCC
12th Andy Coupe Wheelbase
13th Sandy Lockett Biketreks RT
14th Ben Dean Leapfrog
15th Daniel Fox Airedale RT

Nev Pearson. Salt Ayre Cycling Association


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,