Report/Results: Mid Shropshire Wheelers Circuit Races


 Almost 100 riders take part in the inaugural  evening of Mid Shropshire Wheelers Circuit Races on Thursday, 25th April at Shewsbury

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Following the playground to podium pathway, the Mid Shropshire Wheelers are committed to promote two races a month from March to July at the Shrewsbury Sports Village as well as three training sessions a week for it’s growing Junior Team riders.


Finish of the Under 16 boys race. Photo David Perry

George Watkins the club coach said “Making racing accessible is our goal with local races without the need to travel to help riders from the Saturday Kids Club make the transition to racing”. That certainly worked on Thursday night as despite the threat of rain, which thankfully held off, almost 100 riders took part in the inaugral evening of races on 25th April. Despite finishing under floodlights for the 3rd and 4th category seniors, the event was a great success and the riders said that they will be back for the next evening race meeting on the 23rd May.

Racing was of a high standard in all races and Wolverhampton Wheelers were the biggest winners on the night led by James Ireson driving a select group of under 16s to lap the under 14s and u16 girls with a lap to go which gave them all some big bunch sprint experience and the judges some excitement.


It isn’t just the Newport Nocturne where you’ll see racing under flood lights in Shropshire!



Under 8 Boys
1 Xavier Teece-Round West Wales CRT
2 Sam Tomlinson Mid Shrops Whls

Under 10 Boys
1 Griff Lewis West Wales CRT
2 Ben Pierce Mid Shrops Whls
3 Samuel Hall Lyme RC

Under 10 Girls
1 Grace Lister Wolverhampton Whls

Under 12 Boys
1 Ethan Roberts Wolverhampton Wheelers

Under 12 Girls
1 Hollie Owens Wolverhampton Wheelers
2 Josie Nelson Solihull CC
3 Mali Jones Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Under 14 Boys
1 Tomos Owens Brooks Cycle
2 Matthew Shaw Solihull CC
3 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Under 14 Girls
1 Georgia Hilleard Wolverhampton Wheelers
2 Connie Hudson Wolverhampton Wheelers
3 Alice Law Wolverhampton Wheelers

Under 16 Boys
1 James Ireson Wolverhampton Wheelers
2 James Elmore Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3 Ewan Grivell-Mellor Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Under 16 Girls
1 Paige Millward Squadra Donne
2 Lucy Shaw Solihull CC
3 Jessie Ansell Wolvrhampton Wheelers

3rd and 4th
1. Josh Williams ParamountCRT
2. Marcus Willday Mid Shropshire Wheelers
3. Peter Banham Freds RT
4. Kirk Vickers Mid Shropshire Wheelers
5. Courtney Ricketts Mid Shropshire Wheelers
6. Chris Pook ParamountCRT
7. Tim Jones Mid Shropshire Wheelers
8. Martin Boakes CC Luton
9. Andrew Tamplin Base2Race
10. Ben Goddard Newport CC



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,