Report/Results: Welwyn Track League 26th April


Despite the bitterly colds conditions the opening meeting of the Track League had a good level of support and a record number of youth riders (44 riders split into three age categories)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The opening Senior A group event was won by local rider George Farrell in close finish with Martin Ruepp. John McClelland the 2012 series winner opened his account with a win in the Devil while his clubmate Kristian Woolf won the Points race.

Theo Doncaster dominated the Senior B group winning all three races and risks promotion to the higher category along with Kieran Brady who was also on top form
The senior 10 mile saw a breakaway of five riders ( John Mclelland, Kristian Woolf, Mark Smith, Luke Morgan and Joe Fry) escape with 15 laps remaining, working well together they steadily pulled away from the pack opening up a half lap lead at the bell.In a tight finish the verdict went to Mark Smith form John McClelland and Luke Morgan.

The strong Youth A group with 12 riders produced some highly competitive racing with Jack Plumley taking all four races but pushed hard by Frank Longstaff and Jordan Mooney.

Charles Page was an impressive winner of all four Youth BC events and will join the Youth A riders from now on. Local riders Will Raymond and Tom Durkin filled the minor places. Top girl was Harriet
Mellor who will pressurise the boys in this group.

Youth CDE as ever has a wide age range – Felix Mackie won the 3 lap scratch but the next three handicap races did not favour the scratch riders and gave opportunities to the limit riders – gratefully accepted by Sophie Lewis and a very determined Lauren Higham especially in the 4 lap handicap leading out at the bell and holding of the chasers.

The standard and high numbers in the youth categories promises an excellent series to come

Senior A
10 lap scr – George Farrell (Welwyn Whs) Martin Ruepp (Iceni Velo) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)
Devil – John McClelland (Prestige) George Farrell (Welwyn Whs) Joe Fry ((RST)
10 lapPoints- Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs) George Farrell (Welwyn Whs)
10 mile – Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs) John McClelland (Prestige) Luke Morgan) CC Luton)

Senior B
10 lap Scr – Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) Brian Evans (Herts Whs) Kieran Brady (Cioty Centre Cycles)
Devil – Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) Kieran Brady (City Centre Cycles) Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)
10 lap points – Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) Kieran Brady (City Centre Cycles) Gareth Richards (Shimri Cycles)

Youth A
10 lap scr – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Glen Dossett ( Welwyn)
Devil – Jack Plumley(Welwyn) Dan Maynard (Welwyn) Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator)
10 lap Points – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)
8 lap Handicap – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn) Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator)

Youth B
5 lap Scr – Charles Page (Hillingdon) Will Raymond (Welwyn) Tom Durkin (Welwyn)
Devil- Charles Page (Hillingdon) Tom Durkin (Welwyn) Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon)
Points – Charles Page (Hillingdon) Will Raymond (Welwyn) Tom Durkin (Welwyn)
6 lap Scr – Charles Page (Hillingdon) Will Raymond (Welwyn) Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scr – Felix Mackie (Lee Valley) Christian Manzi (Welwyn) Sam Asker (West Suffolk)
3 lap H’cap – Sophie Lewis (CC Ashwell) Sam Gage (Welwyn) Lauren Higham (Welwyn)
3 lap H’Cp – Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Fraser Elsworth (West Suffolk) Ben Griffin (Welwyn)
4 lap H’cap – Lauren Higham , Joe Kiely, Imogen Chastell (all Welwyn)

Peter waghorn


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,