Report: Finchley RT’s LVRC Races


For a nice change, this tiny corner of Essex was bathed in sunshine, much appreciated by Thaxted’s Morris dancing community and the riders in the Paul Simon Homes races.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Paul Burgoine with words and pictures


One thing that wasn’t welcome were the copious amount of pot holes some crater size dangerous for cars not alone bikes. First the A/B/C category race. On the second lap a break of seven riders formed that included Martin O’OGrady (PMR Toachim House), Carlito Rendora, Nigel Stephens (Finchley RT), Tim Davis (IRC), Robin Parker (East Grinstead), Lee Rowe (Finchley RT) and Jim Moffat (Virgin Active) this break had a 20 second gap over the peloton and they looked to be working well together.


On the next passage, the break had picked up some more riders; Vince Divine (Finchley RT), Malcolm Jefferies (Colour Tech), Trevor Burke (Finchley RT), Ian Knight (Team Corley Cycles), Tim Carter and Phillip Watkins (34 Nomads CC) and this group soon pulled out a gap of 40 seconds and with two laps remaining it was over a minute and never looked like being brought back.

On the bell lap, Ian Knight had a small gap over the break after finally riding away from Vince Divine and his other break away riders and looking strong in the lead. When the riders came into to view again, Ian Knight (Team Corley) was clear and crossed the line unchallenged from a fast finishing Vince Divine (Finchley RT) and Tim Davis (IRC).


Nigel Stephens (Finchley RT) won the most aggressive rider prize and Tim Davis (IRC) took the King of the Mole Hills. Maybe it should have been name King of the Pot Hole!

In the D/E/F/G race, a three man break formed very early with Nicolas Coe (Verulum CC), Trevor Bradbury (AW Cycles) and Robin Osbourne (London Dynamo). This break held until with two laps to go Patrick Schills (Velo Schils Interbike) ominously crossed the gap to join them with three other riders between the break and the main peloton.

On the bell lap, the four man break had a comfortable lead and the inevitable happened as Patrick Schills (Velo Schills Interbike) took the win in convincing style from Trevor Bradbury ( AW Cycles) and Robin Osbourne (London Dynamo). Nicolas Coe (Verulum) picked up the King of the Mole Hills prize and Robin Osbourne (London Dynamo) the most aggressive rider prize.



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,