News: RTTC National 25 mile Time Trial Championship 2013


The blue ribbon Time Trial championship for domestic riders is the RTTC National 25 mile Time Trial Championship 2013 which this year is in Lincolnshire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The event is on Sunday, June 9th and the closing date for entries is Tuesday, 14th May. This year’s Championship event is being held in Lincolnshire with the headquarters at the Gartree Community School in Tattershall which is 22 miles south-east of Lincoln and 14 miles north-east of Sleaford.

A map of the course is on the CTT website ( Click here.


The course is a sporting course in one of the least populated counties. There is just 78ft/24m of climbing in total as the course travels through The Fens of Lincolnshire. The C25/1 was used last year for the county championship, where James Coleman of Witham Wheelers won with 53:15 while Julian Ramsbottom of Scunthorpe Poly CC was 2nd with 54:40 and Anthony Nash of the same club was 3rd with 55:21. It was a hot day, with a wind from the North West.

The course has been described by a rider who lives locally and rides all over the country as ‘a fantastic challenging course which on a calm day will produce fast honest times’. Points of interest around the course start near the HQ in Tattershall, where its medieval castle can be seen from miles away.

The first leg passes RAF Coningsby, which is not only home to the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight, but also the Typhoon Eurofighters. The road travels in a southerly direction towards the market town of Boston, where the ‘Stump’ has the highest church tower in the country.


At Langrick the course turns eastwards through Gipsey Bridge and to Antons Gowt, where the River Witham passes close by, then through Frith Bank to Cowbridge – just north of the Maud Foster working Windmill. The course turns north to Frithville, and onto the ‘7 mile straight’ as it is known locally. This passes through Carrington, famed for its annual steam and vintage rally, and heads up to Revesby, home of the historic estate once owned by Sir Joseph Banks. The last leg of the course then heads west, through Mareham-le-Fen, to finish just before Tumby roundabout.

The Men’s Event starts at 9.00am, then the Juniors start at 2.00pm, followed on by the Women’s Event.

Last season, Michael Hutchinson beat Alex Dowsett to the title with Matt Bottrill 3rd.
1. Michael Hutchinson In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp 47:01
2. Alex Dowsett Sky Pro Cycling 47:08
3. Matthew Bottrill 48:36

1 Julia Shaw Drag2Zero 54:57
2 Ciara Horne Brotherton Cycles 56:48
3 Rebecca Slack London Dynamo Prologue 57:14

Read about here…


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK