Tour Series: Women’s Final Round


Gabby Day beat Natalie Creswick to win her first round of the Johnson Health Tech GP Series while Hannah Barnes won the overall, Sprints series and was part of the winning team, MG Maxifuel.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Hannah Barnes clinches Johnson Health Tech title Gabby Day wins final round of the Series at Aylsham, Norfolk

Amidst torrential rain in Aylsham, Norfolk, Hannah Barnes did enough to stay upright and cross the line safely to clinch overall victory in the Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series, organised by SweetSpot Group.

Barnes crossed the line in 16th place to secure the Series title by 11 points from Team MuleBar Girl – Sigma Sport’s Natalie Creswick. Creswick was one of two riders who escaped early on in tricky conditions to contest the race victory, taken by fellow escapee Gabby Day, whose Matrix Fitness Race Academy also won the final round, their first team victory of the season.


After escaping with Natalie Creswick in the pouring rain, World class ‘cross rider Gabby Day showed she can excel at crit racing too by winning the sprint to take the individual win.

Rain shortly before the race made the surface greasy, with Day and Creswick breaking clear early on. Behind Barnes showed caution in the tricky conditions to stay within the safety of the main field to ensure she claimed the title.

Come the final sprint it was Day who came out on top, leaving Stoke-on-Trent race winner Creswick behind for the final round victory. French rider Roxanne Fournier led home the bunch for her second podium of the week, ahead of Coryn Rivera and Hannah Walker.


The rain fell out of the sky for the first time on the Tour Series in 2013 and how at the start of the Women’s event led here off the start by Helen Wyman, a former series winner.

Creswick’s second moved her up to the Runners Up spot, as three points separated positions two to five in the standings. Day’s victory meant she finished third, ahead of Louise Mahe and Charline Joiner.

The Team MuleBar Girl – Sigma Sport squad also closed the gap in the team standings with three finishers in the top 13, finishing just 12 points behind champions MG Maxifuel, who had their poorest round of the Series.

There was further success for Barnes and MG Maxifuel too, as they clinched the Sprints jersey for a clean sweep of all the Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series honours.

Highlights of the final round of the Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series from Aylsham will be shown on ITV4 at 10pm on Friday 14th June as a part of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series programme, with a repeat at 9.55am on Saturday.


Natalie Creswick leads Gabby Day in the Women’s event.


On a day when the name Hannah Barnes was all over the net after her ‘win’ in the London Nocturne, the Tour Series leader in the wet made sure of the overall win taking it easy in the slippery conditions. 


Natalie Creswick, a winner of the first round in Stoke, was given the combativity award for her attacking ride including a last lap go at the bell where she was unable to shake Day who went on to win the sprint.


A rider who has had her fare share of kicks in the teeth for no valid reason, showed why she should be given a pro contract with a very solid victory in the Women’s Tour Series – Hanna Barnes.


The top three in Alysham, Natalie Creswick, Gabby Day and Roxanne Fournier, from France.


Hannah Barnes won the Sprint award overall to make it a clean sweep in all three competitions.


Overall winners of the Team Series for Women were MG Maxifuel


Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series, Round Five Aylsham

Round Five Aylsham, Individual Result

1. Gabriella Day Team Rapha-Focus
2. Natalie Creswick Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport
3. Roxanne Fournier
4. Coryn Rivera
5. Hannah Walker Matrix Fitness Racing Academy
6. Charline Joiner MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
7. Helen Wyman Kona/ FSA Factory Team
8. Louise Mahe Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Spor…
9. Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness Racing Academy
10. Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness Racing Academy
11. Joanna Tindley Matrix Fitness Racing Academy
12. Adela Carter Team Hope Factory Racing
13. Clemence Copie High Wycombe Cycling Club
14. Laura Massey Abergavenny Road Club
15. Ella Hopkins Breast Cancer Care Cycling Tea
16. Hannah Barnes MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
17. Karla Boddy MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
18. Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC
19. Melissa Brand MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
20. Hayley Edwards MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
21. Lyndsey Glazier Team Hope Factory Racing
22. Nicola Soden Champion System/Maxgear/Base
23. Wiesia Kuczaj Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport
24. Bryony Board Glendene CC
25. Paige Milward Squadra Donne – Shutt VR
26. Saskia Hook Squadra Donne – Shutt VR
27. Sian Botteley Squadra Donne – Shutt VR

Round Five Aylsham Team Winner: Matrix Fitness Race Academy

Round Five Aylsham Combativity Winner: Natalie Creswick, GBR, Team MuleBar Girl – Sigma Sport

Round Five Aylsham Sprints Winner: Gabby Day, GBR, Matrix Fitness Race Academy

Individual Standings, post-Round Five
1) Hannah Barnes, GBR, MG Maxifuel, 84pts
2) Natalie Creswick, GBR, Team MuleBar Girl – Sigma Sport, 73pts
3) Gabby Day, GBR, Matrix Fitness Race Academy, 72pts
4) Louise Mahe, GBR, Team MuleBar Girl – Sigma Sport, 72pts
5) Charline Joiner, GBR, MG Maxifuel, 70pts

Final Team Standings, post-Round Five
1) MG Maxifuel, 204pts
2) Team MuleBar Girl – Sigma Sport, 192pts
3) Matrix Fitness Race Academy, 187pts
4) Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team, 101pts
5) Team Hope Factory Racing, 74pts
6) Team CTC, 30pts





RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,