2013 Men’s British Road Race Championships

Omega Pharma – Quick-Step ‘s Mark Cavendish showed he can win more than just the bunch sprints on Sunday, taking the British National Road Championship out of a breakaway that was down to just three riders in the final kilometers.

Quickstep Press Release


Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team rider Mark Cavendish showed he can win more than just the bunch sprints on Sunday, taking the British National Road Championship out of a breakaway that was down to just three riders in the final kilometers.

In the British National Road Championship, Cavendish was eventually in an escape group of four riders with more than a four minute gap on the next closest rider with just a few laps remaining in the race. The escape group eventually dwindled to three riders deciding the finale. Andrew Fenn was also in the group earlier for OPQS, but lost contact.


160 riders started but such was the pace of the race, riders were being dropped very quickly as the WorldTour pros put the hammer down

“The weather was a bit rainy, and the parcour a lighter version of Tour of Flanders,” OPQS Sport Director Brian Holm said. “They basically closed Glasgow, the center of the city, for this race. The crowd was fantastic. I also have to add that Fenn did a great job for Cavendish today. He entered into the breakaway in the first part of the race and he permitted Cavendish to sit behind and stay covered until the final kilometers.”

As the race progressed Cavendish was showing his form, keeping pace on the climbs with the leaders. He also attacked on the final climb, and was even able to take the victory after chasing down David Millar (Garmin-Sharp) when he attacked with less than 3km to go. Ian Stannard (Sky ProCycling) was 2nd, and Millar 3rd.


Ian Stannard, despite having teammates in the chase group, kept their lead for a long time before the Cavendish group caught them

The victory of Cavendish concluded a very successful week of national championships for OPQS in 2013. The team won three in the time trial with Sylvain Chavanel (France), Tony Martin (Germany), and Peter Velits (Slovakia) earlier in the week. Cavendish’s win ” his first British Championship ” was also the 39th victory (37th road) for the team this season.


Peter Kennaugh leads Ben Swift, David Millar and Mark Cavendish in pursuit of Fenn & Stannard.

“I’m really happy with this result,” Cavendish said. “To be honest this morning I wasn’t so sure because there were so many teams here with a lot of riders and there were only two of us here ” me and Andy. The parcour was not so easy, really technical. Fenn was in the original breakaway with Stannard.”

“It was a good move to put Fenn in the front so I could save myself and sit on the wheels of the chasing group and stay relaxed. Then when we caught Fenn and Stannard, I started riding. In the final kilometers there remained only three of us and I went for the sprint. It was really, really nice. I’m happy because I am proud to be British and wear this jersey for the first time in my career, especially heading into the Tour de France.”


Top 3 in the Under 23 category, Owain Doull, Simon Yates and Tom Moses (Raleigh)


Scott Thwaites of NetApp-Endura leads the chase group ahead of former champion Kristian House.


Adam Yates leads the peloton with the race effectively over for most of the riders in the first few laps.


The peloton strung out on lap four led by Adam Duggleby


Once the two leaders had been caught, Cavendish went on the offensive.


Ben Swift grits his teeth to stay with the leaders as Cav applies the pressure.


Ian Wilkinson did a ride, gritting his teeth up the courses steepest climb to hold on and finish 9th.


After losing Fenn and Swift who both retired from the race. the four leaders get closer to the finish and still Cav is leading from the front.


Luke Rowe attacked from the chase group to chase the leaders, finishing 5th on his own.


The chase group lost riders each lap and was down to four here with Yanto Barker just ahead


Tom Moses of team Raleigh had a lonley ride to pick up the bronze medal in the under 23 category


It was a bad start for Jonny McEvoy (NetApp-Endura) and Elliott Porter with the rest having already started …

Preview: click here for start sheet and preview


1. Mark Cavendish, Quickstep 4.27.09
2. Ian Stannard, Team Sky @ 2 secs
3. David Millar, Garmin @ 8 secs
4. Peter Kennaugh, Team Sky @ 42 secs
5. Luke Rowe, Team Sky @ 6.40
6. Kristian House, Rapha Condor JLT @11.50
7. Scott Thwaites, NettApp-Endura @ 11.52
8. Simon Yates GB Academy st
9. Ian Wilkinson, UK Youth @12.15
10. Yanto Barker, UK Youth @14.55
11. Peter Williams, IG Sigma Sport @15.06
12. Russell Downing, NetApp Endura @15.25
13. Tom Stewart, Team Raleigh st
14. Ben Greenwood, Team Hope @15.28
15. Rob Partridge, Team UK Youth @16.43
16. Mark McNally, An Post @ st
17. Owain Doull, GB Academy @ st
18. Richard Handley, Rapha Condor JLT @ st
19. Rusell Hampton, Team Raleigh @ st
20. Tom Moses, team Raleigh @20.52
21. Jack Adams, Zappis @23.46
22. George Harper, Felt Colbournes Hargroves Cycles @ st
23. Will Stephenson, Zappis @ st
23 James Ratcliff, Zappis
24. Robert Hassan Ibaigane Opel @ st
25. James McCallum, Rapha Condor JLT @ 23.57



Open: 1. Ian Stannard, 2. Alex Dowsett, 3. Russell Hampton
Under 23: 1. Mike Cuming 2. Matt Holmes, 3rd Joshua Edmondson

Open “ 1. Bradley Wiggins, 2. Geraint Thomas, 3. Peter Kennaugh
Under 23 “ 1. Scott Thwaites, 2. Andrew Fenn, 3. Erick Rowsell

Open “ 1. Geraint Thomas, 2. Peter Kannaugh, 3. Ian Stannard
Under 23 “ 1. Andrew Fenn, 2. Rhys Lloyd, 3. Ross Crebber

Open “ 1. Kristian House, 2. Daniel Lloyd, 3. Peter Kennaugh
Under 23 “ 1. Peter Kennaugh, 2. Andy Fenn, 3. Ian Stannard

Open “ 1. Rob Hayles, 2. Peter Kennaugh 3. Dean Downing
Under 23 “ 1. Peter Kennaugh, 2. Andy Tennant, 3. Jonny Bellis

Open “ David Millar, 2. Daniell Lloyd, 3. Hamish Haynes
Under 23 –
Open “ 1. Hamish Haynes, 2. Roger Hammond, 3. Geraint Thomas
Under 23 “ 1. Peter Bissell, 2. James Spragg, 3. Alistair Stoddart
Open “ 1. Russell Downing, 3. Steve Cumming, 3. Yanto Barker
Under 23 “ 1. Ben Greenwood, 2. Alex Coutts, 3. Adam Illingworth

Open “ 1. Roger Hammond, 2. Tom Southam, 3. Jeremy Hunt
Under 23 “ 1. Dan Fleeman, 2. Richard whitehorn, 3. Ben Greenwood
Open “ 1. Roger Hammond, 2. Jeremy Hunt, 3. Jamie Alberts
Under 23 “ 1. Kieran Page, 2. Russell Andeerson, 3. Leigh Cowell
Open “ 1. Julian Winn, 2. Tom Southam, 3. Jeremy Hunt
Under 23 “ Jamie Alberts, 2. Mark Kelly, 3. James Barnes
Open “ 1. Jeremy Hunt, 2. Rob Hayles, 3. John Tanner
Under 23 “ 1. James Shaw, 2. Ian Wilkinson, 3. Andrew Parsons

Open “ 1. John Tanner, 2. Jon Clay, 3. David Millar
Under 23 “ Neil Swithenbank, 2. Robin Sharman, 3. Tom Anderson


More former winners of the RR Championships here ¦


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,