Results/Rider Report: Colne Grand Prix 2013


Ed Clancy denies Dean Downing the win in the Colne Grand Prix on Wednesday night in Lancashire with Felix English 3rd

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Bouncing back from a disappointing ride in Abergavenny last Friday, Ed Clancy took a close victory in the Colne GP last night. Clancy last won the Colne race – the fourth round of the National Elite Circuit Series – in 2011, where he led home a clean sweep of the top four places for the Men In Black.

This year’s edition was a much closer affair however, with Clancy narrowly getting the better of former teammate Dean Downing, and round one winner, teammate Felix English.


The scorching summer temperatures meant that crowds packed the 850m circuit and the riders duly responded with action packed racing throughout the night. Despite various attacks though, thanks to strong marshaling by the Rapha Condor JLT team the race eventually came down to a full bunch sprint.

Clancy explained, “I was pretty disappointed after last Friday in Wales, so I was up for this one. We went in with a plan to try to keep it together tonight and the boys all rode excellently. Raleigh took it up first, but they were too early so we waited as late as possible and then swamped them before the final lap.”

“It worked perfectly for us, and it was great to be up on the podium with Felix there as well.”

Felix English was also delighted to be back on the podium after missing out on the previous two rounds following his Otley win.

“That was much better tonight. It was a hectic finish, but it worked out for us. Dean is always a tough guy to beat, but it’s really great to be back up on the podium. There are two rounds left of the series now, so I’ll be going flat out for them – as always.”

The result will no doubt be a huge moral boost for Clancy at the start of a busy week for the Rapha Condor JLT team, which culminates with the National Criterium Championships on Sunday, a title the double Olympic champion last won in 2010.

Dean Downing: Talking after the race to Andrew Kennedy, second placed Dean Downing said “Bloody Ed Clancy, I have three bloody second places to Ed this year.”

Dean then went on to give a report on the race, saying “It was a fast and furious race, a lot of attacks, and it was just very fast and nothing was really going. It was always going to be a bunch kick with around 12 to go when Raleigh came to the front and so did Rapha Condor JLT”.

“The last five laps were just so fast and Raleigh did a perfect leadout for Briggsy (Graham) and myself and Ed were on the back of that. We all kind of went for it in the last corner, Ed on the inside, Briggsy in the middle and me trying to swoop round.”


“I think Ed and Graham just touched shoulders coming down off the bump and it was a bit of a drag race and I was on Graham’s wheel and managed to get round Graham but Ed hugged the barrier and just got in the tow, put the bar down and off he went to the finish line.”

“This is the perfect drag strip type circuit for Ed. The corners are very fluid, unless you get stuck behind a few riders, you can go flat out round the corners and if you get the positioning right, there is no-one that is going to catch Ed Clancy down there, he’s double Olympic champion and world champion ….”

Dean explained how he’s been on the podium for the last four years which is nice and adds “I always enjoy coming to Colne. It’s a 100 miles from where I live and I get a lot of shouts.”

Dean then explained how he’s not at Beverley so he can rest up for the Nationals (York, Sunday) which he said would be nice to win again. “Sheffield (Next Wednesday) though is the big one for me as it is very close to my home. If I can get a victory there, that would be amazing…”

Video Highlights

RESULT (thanks Anna)

1 Edward Clancy MBE Rapha Condor JLT
2 Dean Downing Madison Genesis
3 Felix English Rapha Condor JLT
4 Graham Briggs Team Raleigh
5 Andrew Hawdon Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
6 Ian Wilkinson Team UK Youth (UCI Team)
7 George Atkins Team USN
8 Mike Northey Node4 – Giordana Racing
9 Jack Pullar Madison Genesis
10 Adam Duggleby Wheelbase Altura MGD
11 Tom Murray Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
12 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD
13 Jonathan Mould Team UK Youth (UCI Team)
14 Dan Barry Node4 – Giordana Racing
15 Matt Cronshaw Team IG – Sigma Sport
16 Richard Hepworth Node4 – Giordana Racing
17 Andrew Coupe Wheelbase Altura MGD
18 William Bjergfelt MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
19 Will Fox Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
20 David Lines MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
21 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles/Blue
22 Lewis Craven Wheelbase Altura MGD
23 Alistair Rutherford Wheelbase Altura MGD
24 James Moss Team IG – Sigma Sport
25 Thomas Scully Team Raleigh
26 Joseph Kelly 100% ME
27 James Lowsley-Williams Team UK Youth (UCI Team)
28 David Collins Team Hope Factory Racing
29 Steve Clarke Wheelbase Altura MGD
30 Jake Hales Team IG – Sigma Sport
31 Jacob Scott Team Sportscover
32 Robert Smail Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
33 Martin Ford Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
34 Daniel Booth Team Hope Factory Racing
35 Robert Partridge Team UK Youth (UCI Team)
36 David McGowan Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team
37 Russell Hampton Team Raleigh
38 Giles Drake Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
39 Peter Williams Team IG – Sigma Sport
40 Jacob Tipper Biketreks Racing Academy
41 Samuel Witmitz Team Raleigh
42 Andrew Tennant Madison Genesis
43 Steven Burke Node4 – Giordana Racing
44 Hugh Carthy Rapha Condor JLT
45 Evan Oliphant Team Raleigh
46 James Gullen Team Hope Factory Racing
47 Harry Tanfield Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
48 Tom Stewart Team Raleigh
49 Benjamin Kellett Team Hope Factory Racing

Support race
1 Bill Nickson Bill Nickson Cycles RT
2 Alexander Braybrooke Velocity WD-40
3 Matthew Pearce Bronte Wheelers/Neophix Engineering
4 Benjamin Pygott Paul Milnes Cycles/Bradford Olympic RC
5 Ryan McGillick Mossley CRT
6 David Mirfield Ride On
7 James Dyson 3 RT
8 Matthew Mannakee Patron
9 Oscar Williamson Mossley CRT
10 Ashton Payne Team Hope Factory Racing
11 Nick Hall Bury Clarion Cycling Club
12 Philip Gray Kuota – Spinergy – GSG
13 Andrew Hunt VC Bradford/Pennine Cycles/Stella Azzurra
14 Adam Blakeley Team Leapfrog
15 Timothy Jones Cycle Sport Pendle
16 Kevin Ainsworth Private Member
17 Alex Fold Dirtwheels
18 Robert Richardson Biketreks Racing Academy
19 Paul Braithwaite Pendle Forest CC
20 Joe Westwood Cycle Sport Pendle
21 Richard Sagar North Lancashire RC
22 Jonathan Farnaby Crosstrax
23 Karl Smith
24 Jonathan Rooke Wills Wheels Cycling Club
25 Joshua Cutler RST Racing Team
26 David Micklethwaite 3 RT
27 Andrew Martin PM
28 Peter Danby Bill Nickson Cycles RT
29 Connor French Cycle Sport Pendle
30 Ryan Hill Classic RT
31 David Allonby Racing Team
32 Ben Howe Cycle Sport Pendle
33 Stephen Lloyd Bronte Wheelers/Neophix Engineering
34 Clayton Howard Cycle Sport Pendle
35 Adam Hartley Velocity Race Team
36 Stephen Ayres VC Bradford/Pennine Cycles/Stella Azzurra
37 Joe Bennett Warrington RC
38 Neil Hamilton Cleveleys Road Club
39 Conor Palliser East Bradford CC
40 Mark Scatchard Chevin Trek
41 Henrietta Colborne Beacon Wheelers
42 Zoe Amstrong Scott Contessa Epic
43 Martin Pate NLRC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,