Results: Circuit Series


Thomas Gibson & Dillon Byrne winners at week 15 of the Circuit Series at Salt Ayre on Tuesday (July 16)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

3/4/W race 40mins + 3 laps

It was another mass bunch sprint in the 3/4/W race over 40 minutes and 3 laps although a minor coming together in the closing laps eliminated a few riders who were forced to chase back. In a close finish it was Thomas Gibson (Kent Valley RC) who just got the better of come-back rider Matt Lythgoe (Ribble Valley CRC).

Just outside the top 10 and in the midst of the bunch, Eve Dixon (Maxgear) just got the better of Zoe Armstrong (Scott Contessa) for first female with Jess Atkinson (Team 22) close behind and first youth Ryan Coulton (Salt Ayre Cog Set) next over the line.

1st Thomas Gibson Kent Valley RC
2nd ` Matt Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC
3rd Geoff Mates
4th Jon Green Kuota
5th Andy Markham Lune RCC
6th Simon Mulholland
7th Andrew Butler Lune RCC
8th Duncan Smith
9th Mark Stickland Settle www
10th Steve Wilson Barrow Central Whls
11th Eve Dixon Maxgear
12th Zoe Armstrong Scott Contessa
13th Earle Logan Lune RCC
14th Jess Atkinson Team 22
15th Ryan Coulton Salt Ayre Cog Set
16th Robert Armstrong Epic Cycles RT
17th Louise Murray Ribble Valley CRC
18th Daniel Ditchfield Ribble Valley CRC
19th Steve Gardner Lancaster CC
20th Mark Children Lune RCC
21st Paul Andrews Lancaster CC
22nd Ally Wight Hardrock CC
23rd Russ Flynn BC PM
24th Martin Bretherton
32 riders in total

E/1/2 race 1 hour + 5 laps
It was a hard fought race right from the off in the 60 minute plus 5 lap E/1/2 race with a group of 6, including all 3 Teamwallis riders breaking away in the early laps. As riders bridged across others were left in no-mans-land and a group of 12 formed up front followed by a group of 3 and 2 lone chasers.

Several retirements ensued as the race split again into a break of 3, chased by 3 and a bunch of 6. After 55 minutes racing it all came back together with a group of 12. Into the last 5 laps Dillon Byrne (Maxgear) went again with just Steve Abbott (Teamwallis) going with him.

With 2 Teamwallis in the group behind, the break hung on with Dillon getting the better of Steve in the sprint. Seconds later Julian Pearson (Teamwallis) led home the bunch ahead of Sam Dobson (BC PM).

1st Dillon Byrne Maxgear
2nd Steve Abbott Teamwallis
3rd Julian Pearson Teamwallis
4th Sam Dobson BC PM
5th Jordan Rigby Teamwallis
6th John Didsbury Salt Ayre Cog Set
7th Neil Robinson Lune RCC
8th Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC
9th Ashley Clitheroe Cycle Sport Pendle
10th James Gullen Hope Factory Racing
11th Sam Jackson Overplay
19 riders in total

Thanks to for sponsorship, Tony Sweeney and Geoff Newcombe for Commisairing, Kay Atkinson for running the sign-on and result desk (and being organiser for the evening whilst Nev Pearson did Assistant Commisaire), Dennis for doing the lap board, flags and bell and to Biketreks RT for providing the marshals.

Nev Pearson, Salt Ayre Cycling Association


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,