Results: Brooks Cycles Track League


As the hot spell continues, so does the racing at the Brooks Cycles Track League at Newcastle, Staffs with the latest round taking place on Thursday 18th July.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks Chris Pyatt for the following…

The highlight of the nights racing was the latest round of the Neil Potter sponsored 500m Handicap. Chief Handicapper Tony Mayer is getting very good at his job with another blanket finish with Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles) showing the younger riders how it is down in taking a great win. Close behind was Tom Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo) and Andrew Scott ( Lyme RC).

The other big race of te night was the final 10 mile scratch where the pace never let up as the riders lapped the track at a super fast speed. It took the A Class riders 20 laps to catch back their disadvantage of 2 laps down. The race then kept its pace before the A Class riders broke free from the B rider except for Charlie Cox (Lichfield CC ) who held on impressively. In the dash for the line Joel Partington ( sportcity velo) took the win from Will Thomas ( Velocity WD40) and Joe Evans ( Hargroves Cycles).

The other A class events were a 10 lap scratch won by Will Perrett ( Heanor Clarion CC), a unknown distance won by Andy leigh ( Velocity WD40) and a 12 lap points race with Joe Evans taking an impressive win.

The B Class events saw Charlie Cox also take the 8 lap scratch, Joe Pattison ( lyme RC) the devil and league leader Andrew Scott ( Lyme RC) the unknown distance. the youth events saw the continued battle between James Brayford ( Lyme RC) and Liam Zwetschnikow ( Lyme RC). James scored 10 points on the night with wins in the 200 TT, 6 laps scratch and the team sprint and Liam won the devil with second places in the other events.

The Freewheelers racing saw a great turnout of 23 riders over the three groups with a number of new riders moving up from the Monday night track sessions to compete in the league. After the full program the top points scorers were as follows;

Group 1 Alastair Kennington Lyme RC
Group 2 Holly Nixon
Group 3 Ruby Baldwin Lyme RC

Freewheelers Results

Group 1

Race 1
1st Alastair Kennington Lyme RC
2nd George Hancock Lyme RC
3rd Farley Barber Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Jordan Nixon Newcastle Tri Club
2nd Bradley Heath Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Williams Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Harry Horn Lyme RC
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd Bradley Heath

Race 4
1st Sam Hutchins Newcastle Tri Club
2nd Jordan Nixon
3rd Harry Horn

Race 5
1st Reuban Blakman Derby Mercury
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd Aaron Mansell Lyme RC


Race 1
1st Harry Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Lucy Scott Lyme RC
3rd Evie Davis Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Jack Scott Lyme RC
2nd George Graham
3rd Lucy Scott

Race 3
1st Holly Nixon
2nd Amy Graham
3rd George Graham

Race 4
1st George Grham
2nd Holly Nixon
3rd Lucy Scott


Race 1
1st Ruby Baldwin Lyme RC
2nd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC
3rd Owen Shepherd Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Olly Davis Lyme RC
2nd Garcie Walters Lyme RC
3rd Ruby Baldwin

Race 3
1st Owen Shepherd
2nd Olly Davis
3rd Cameron O’Neil

Race 4
1st Gracie Walters
2nd Ruby Baldwin
3rd Cameron O’Neil


Youth 200m TT
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd Alastair Kennington Lyme RC

Neil Potter 500m handicap league
1st Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles
2nd Thomas Rotherham Sportcity Velo
3rd Andrew Scott Lyme RC
4th Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
5th Dave Smith Stafford RC
6th Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

A Class 10 lap Scratch
1st Will Perrett Heanor Clarion CC
2nd Adrian Adgar Moda RT
3rd Alex Braybrooke Velocity WD40

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Charlie Cox Lichfield CCC
2nd Paige Millward Strada Donne
3rd Phil Braybrooke Manchester wheelers

Youth Devil
1st Liam Zwetchnikow
2nd James Brayford
3rd Alastair Kennington

A Class 12 Lap Points
1st Joe Evans Hargroves Cylces
2nd Alex Braybrooke
3rd Will Perrett

A Class Team sprint
1st Will Thomas Velocity WD40
Steve Cronshaw
Thomas Rotherham

B Devil
1st Joe Pattison Lyme RC
2nd Charlie Cox
3rd Andrew Scott

Youth Team sprint
1st Brandon Fraser-Thomson Eastlands Velo
Ruaban Blakman Derby Mercury
Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Megan williams Newcastle RC 2001
Alastair Kennington
james Brayford

A Class Unknown Distance
1st Andy Leigh Velocity WD40
2nd Joe Evans
3rd Adrain Adgar

B Class Unknown Distance
1st Andrew Scott
2nd Rob Strandring V Sprint
3rd Charlie Cox

A Class sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Max Gethin Lyme RC

Minor Final
1st Thomas Rotherham

Youth 6 lap Scratch
1st James Brayford
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Alastair Kennington

10 mile Scratch
1st Joel Partington
2nd Will Thomas
3rd Joe Evans

B class
1st Charlie Cox
2nd Chris Pyatt NTCA
3rd Joseph Earley Liverpool Century


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,