Result: Circuit Race League


Win for Rob Pye of and Peter Murdoch at round 16 of the Circuit Race League on Tuesday night

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Scottish visitor Peter Murdoch (Paisley Velo) came to Salt Ayre for the E/1/2 race, over 60 minutes + 5 laps, wanting “a good workout” and certainly got that as he was in the break from the very start until his solo win. Initially Dillon Byrne went with Peter but dropped back and then retired blaming heavy legs from Sundays CDNW at Smithfields.

Behind the break Julian Pearson (Teamwallis), Sam Dobson (BC PM) and Ben Dean (Leapfrog) were chasing hard and almost caught the breakaway at one stage but couldn’t quite make contact. The “bunch” meanwhile was lapped by the solo breakaway in the closing laps. Peter was able to enjoy his solo win with a celebration over the line but 20 seconds later it was a hard fought sprint for 2nd between 3 riders all with a good finishing burst but it was Julian that took it by a length.

1st Peter Murdoch Paisley Velo
2nd Julian Pearson Teamwallis
3rd Sam Dobson BC PM
4th Ben Dean Leapfrog
5th Tim Lawson Wheelbase
6th Jordan Rigby Teamwallis
7th Ashley Clitheroe Cycle Sport Pendle
8th Steve Abbott Teamwallis

Category 3/4
After a short mid-afternoon storm had passed and the track had almost dried, conditions were good for the start of the 3/4/W race over 40 minutes plus 3 laps and 26 riders took the start.

It was however 26 males as the girls must have checked the forecast and decided not to ride as, part way through the race, torrential rain hit. From the cover of the gazebo the officials decided the water was running off the track into the dry ground around, so there was no danger to the riders, and let them continue.

There were a few retirements from the less waterproof but the rest contested a bunch sprint where veteran Rob Pye from the sponsors team,, led it home with Peter Hollis (Ribble Valley CRC) and Steve Baker (Army CU) needing close study of the camera to separate them in 2nd and 3rd.

1. Rob Pye
2. ` Peter Hollis Ribble valley CRC
3. Steve Baker Army Cycling Union
4. Adam Pratt Rock to Roll Cycles
5. Andy Martin BC PM
6. Steve Wilson Barrow Central Whls
7. Geoff Mates
8. Lee Perie Wheelbase
9. John Dodgin Biketreks RT
10. Simon Arundel Liverpool Mercury
11. Joe Westwood Cycle Sport Pendle
12. Ally Wight Hardrock Hoodlums


Thanks to for sponsorship, Tony Sweeney and Geoff Newcombe for Commisairing, Dennis and Joe for doing the lap board, flags and bell and to Herbalife/Leisure Lakes for providing the marshals.

Nev Pearson, Salt Ayre Cycling Association


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,