Report/Result: Sportscover/Bioracer Classic Road Race


Adam Duggleby wins the Sportscover/Bioracer Classic Road Race on the popular Sharlston circuit near Wakefield.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Ian Hirst

A small but select field of 31 riders were at the start line for 12 laps of the popular Sharlston circuit near Wakefield. A significant number of entered riders failed to show, perhaps deterred by the early damp roads and heavy skies.

The forecast was dry and 19 degrees, but though the clouds did eventually clear, the race suffered a couple of downpours and the wind was a constant and decisive feature, being mostly full on headwind between the bypass and the turn into the climb of Hell Lane and the finish line.

With barely 15 miles covered and the watch at 36 mins, the race-winning break was already formed with seven riders having a slender lead of 5 seconds. Within another mile, two riders were at eight seconds and bridging the gap, with the peloton losing ground.

On lap 4, the two chasers made the junction leaving the peloton trailing at 24s with 19 miles covered. The 9-man break comprised Rob Carter (TS Racing), Duncan Moralee (Strategic Lions), Matt Bulmer and Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels), Ash Brown and Jake Scott (Sportscover), Adam Duggelby and Alistair Rutherford (Wheelbase Altura) and Matt Williams (Team Hope).

Whether it was the team representation in the break, or the tiring wind, either way the bunch seemed to lose interest and the break’s advantage was up to 2:33 after 1 hour of racing, with another 47 miles to go! It may also have been something to do with the low number of starters and points available down to 20th place, all they had to do was finish to be virtually guaranteed of some points – and that’s the way it ended up.

The break forged onward piling up their advantage on each lap, by lap 6 they had a lead of 4:24 and lap 7 5:48, with Matt Williams being dropped and going backwards to join the bunch, then being dropped by them and retiring at the start of lap 8.

Climbing the by-pass on lap 9, Duggelby jumped the other riders, taking three riders with him and forcing a split at the head of the race, leaving Moralee, Brown, Maudsley and Bulmer chasing. 2 laps to go and Brown retired at the finish line.

On the final lap the four leaders were extremely active, attacking, chasing and catching and attacking again. The bunch by this time were over 8 minutes back. In the end Duggelby’s attacking riding won the day, with Scott and Carter making up the podium placings.

31 starters and 20 finishers – everybody got some points!
1. Adam Duggleby, Wheelbase
2. Jake Scott, Sportscover/Bioracer
3. Rob Carter (TS Racing)
4. Alistair Rutherford, Wheelbase
5. Duncan Moralee, Strategic Lions
6. Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels)
7. Matthew Bulmer, Dirtwheels
8. David Shackleton, Wilsons Wheels
9. Sam Boast, Sportscover/Bioracer
10. Ben Kellett, Hope FRT
11. Alastair Hepworth, Clay Cross RT
12. Alistair Kay, Herbalife
13. Michale Sloanes, Sunderland
14. Ewan Farrow, Ilkley CC
15. Andy Hatton, Squadra RT
16. James Hedley-Smith, Clay Cross RT
17. Richard Jones, Sheffrec CC
18. Jainae Harper Sheffrec CC
19. Etienne Bunello, Malta
20. Jacob Trotter, Squadra RT



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,