Report/Results: Rain does not stop play at the Kent VTTA


It was a day of welcome returns in the annual Kent Veteran Time Trial Association’s 15-mile event held on the A20 at Harrietsham today (Sunday, 13 October).

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Sally Smith

It was fantastic to see Steve Berry making one of his rare appearances on the Kent time trial circuit to win the event in 32 minutes and 48 seconds. The 43-year-old Team Swift rider did not let the complete deluge of rain slow him down, clocking an impressive 27.4 mph average. Speaking after the event he surprised everyone by saying he has actually raced in worse conditions!

Next past the post was Kevin Tye of Velo Refined Aerosmiths with a 33:26. As Kevin is 52-years-old it meant he won the overall event on Veteran Time Trial Standards by being 7-minutes and 16-seconds faster than the standard speed set by the VTTA for someone within his age group. Second on age standard was Simon Henderson of Thanet RC with +4:02, third was Mark Hill of Velo Refined Aerosmiths with +3.51. Fourth in this category went to Steve Gooch of Rye and District Wheelers with +3.45 and a great ride by Chris Bax of PMR@Toachim House saw him take the prize for 5th with +3.54.

sam bradford

Photo: Sam Bradford by Madbee photography

First senior rider and third overall was 19-year-old Sam Bradford of PMR@Toachim House. Sam, who took 8th place in the Wigmore Hill Climb the previous week, returned a time of 34:22. Second senior (non-veteran) rider was Mike Piper of Abellio SFA RT with 35:17, third was his teammate 19-year-old Matty Waters.

Everyone was delighted to see Kate Bosley making her seasonal open-debut in the tandem competition with husband John. The Abellio rider has made an excellent return to fitness after suffering a serious injury last year. The pair put in an impressive display to take the tandem win in 43:09.

Rebecca Wilson proved it wasn’t only the men prepared to take on the elements and braved the extreme conditions to take the ladies prize. The Rye Wheelers rider recorded a 46:00. First junior was Thorton RCs Jack Bryant in 39:55.

Third placed rider overall Sam Bradford of PMR@Toachim House said after the event: “Despite the extreme weather conditions the event was well worth getting cold for. My team mates Chris Bax and Bob Giles also put in great rides and as a team we were all very happy with our performances.”

1 Steve Berry, Team Swift (V43) – 00:32:48
2 Kevin Tye, Velorefined Aerosmiths V52 -00:33:26
3 Sam Bradford, PMR@Toachim House S19 – 00:34:22
4 Nick Wilson, Rye & District Wheelers V50 – 00:34:27
5 Mike Piper, Abellio SFA RT S 37 – 00:35:17
6 James McKie, Velorefined Aerosmiths V43 -00:35:52
7 David Pollard, IngearQuickvt Trainsharp RT – 00:36:02
8 Mark Hill, Velorefined Aerosmiths V46 – 00:36:03
9 Steve Gooch, Rye & District Wheelers V47 – 00:36:16
10 Simon Henderson, Thanet RC V50 – 00:36:19
11 Martin Dickinson, Deal TriV42 – 00:37:06
12 Keith Walker, Wigmore CC V48- 00:37:13
13 Matthew Waters, Abellio SFA RT S19- 00:37:27
14 Chris Bax PMR@Toachim House V61 – 00:38:08
15 Gary King, Rye & District Wheelers V52 -00:38:40
16 Mark Amon, Rye & District Wheelers V48- 00:39:29
17 Jason Gould, Abellio SFA RT V46, 00:39:43
18 Jack Bryant, Thornton RC JR16, 00:39:55
19 Shay Giles, VC Elan V68 – 00:39:57
20 Robert Giles PMR@Toachim House V66 – 00:40:28
21 Alan Rowe, De Laune CC V75 – 00:41:40
22 Nigel Fox, Rye & District Wheelers V40 -00:41:50
23 Andrew Durling San Fairy Ann CC V52 00:41:59
24 Chris Cowlard, De Laune CC V59 – 00:42:10
25 Andy Burrows, Thanet RC V70 – 00:42:35
26 David Williams, Kingsnorth International/Nico Sport V63 – 00:42:46
27 Rodney Harrow, Rye & District Wheelers V69 – 00:42:50
28 Dave Mastin, Thanet RC V60 – 00:43:10
29 Peter Huckstep, Thanet RC V63 – 00:43:32
30 Rebecca Wilson, Rye & District Wheelers WV48 – 00:46:00
31 Colin Inett, Thanet RC V73 – 00:46:28
32 Joshua Clark, Rye & District Wheelers JV15 – 00:46:45
33 Brian Paterson, Thornton RC V47 00:46:53 -00:06:52
34 Russ Mason, Thornton RC V64 00:47:58 -00:05:33
35 Jamie Clark Rye & District Wheelers S37 -00:50:52
36 Jim Hollands, Rye & District WheelersV74 – 00:52:26
37 Gordon Davis Thornton RC V76 01:31:06



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,