Report/Results: Yorksport Last Chance Series


David Bolland & Joe White winners at race 1 of the York Sports Partnership Last Chance Criterium Series (Yorkshire)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

thanks to Richard Mellen

A blustery evening at the popular circuit of York Sports Village was treat to a fabulous fiery sky to see the season out with the Last Chance series. Thirty riders in total signed on for the 3/4 race and the E,1,2,3 race.

First up were Cat 3,4 riders. From the whistle, a rejuvenated Chris Last seemed keen on teaching the younger riders a lesson in crit racing. From the front and by leading the peloton into the headwind towards the hairpin, Chris ticked off the opening fifteen or so laps.

With 10 to go, local rider, Cameron Brooks(Clifton CC) hit the front and strung out the peloton. Not until five to go did the eventual winner show his hand. Young David Bolland struck for home with an impressive display. Quickly gapping the peloton and leading all the way to the flag with over 30 seconds in hand to comfortably secure the 10 points on offer. The bunch sprint being hotly contested by David Sowerby(Sowerby Brothers) and Chris Thompson(VS Cycles).

With the elites taking to the line with only eleven riders. One rider was going to be the unhappy one with no points for an evening’s work. Thankfully, Russ Elliot(Dirtwheels) took one for the team. An early attack saw him gain a sizeable lead, only for his legs to fail him dramatically.

The remaining ten riders caught him quickly and spat him out the rear. Russ quickly he was on to a beating pulled off. The group quickly split into two. And this is how the race would finish. With a group of five fast Elite riders lapping the five slower riders four laps from home and Ali Kay (Herballife) doing the lion’s share of the work only to be out sprinted by a charging Joe White(unattached) and Shaun Nicholson(Blackhawk)

Next Race: Saturday, Oct 19. Racing starts 1.15pm, York Sport Cycle Circuit, Lakeside Way, York, YO10 5FG; cats 3/4/Women


Cat 3,4
1. David Bolland – Ellmore Factory Racing –
2. David Sowerby – Sowerby Brothers –
3. Christopher Thompson – VS Cycles –
4. Gary Taylor – Ferryhill Wheelers –
5. Mark Scatchard – Dirtwheels Cycles –
6. Cameron Brooks – Clifton CC –
7. Chris Last – Clay Cross –
8. Andrew Richardson – VS Cycles –
9. Alistair Young – Gosforth RC –
10. Adam Birdsall – Batley CC –

Cat E,1,2,3
1. Joe White – unattached –
2. Shaun Nicholson – Blackhawk –
3. Alistair Kay – Herballife –
4. Chris Thompson – VS Cycles –
5. Alex Littlewood – RVO –
6. Jonny Tomes – Jedi Cycle Sport –
7. Alex Orrel Turner – VS Cycles –
8. Ian Littlewood – RVO –
9. Tristan Emptage – Chevin Cycles –
10. Alistair Young – Gosforth RC –



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,