Report/Result: York Sport Circuit Races


David Oliver & Jonathan Dexter winners at the October 22nd round of the Yorks Sport races this week

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Julie Rodman reports

It was a lovely mild evening and York Sport is still managing to attract new racers to the circuit who feel safe to try out the racing side of the sport in a traffic free environment.

The first race up was a 3/4 event, with 17 riders taking to the start line. We were in for a smashing 45 minutes of racing. A few people tried attacks but were soon brought a back which meant most of work at the front was being patrolled by two power houses of previous weeks; David Oliver riding unattached and Gary Taylor of Ferryhill Wheelers.

It came down to a bunch gallop with David Oliver showing his strength and endurance to take the win, followed by Gary Taylor and Mark Scatchard of Dirtwheels taking third place. It was good to see a new girl on the track, Sinead Burke riding for Otley CC. She rode well and completed the event. Ladies racing is looking good in the region for next season.

The E/1/23 event only had seven riders but boy did it go from the gun with Jonathan Dexter of We love mountains and Darren Binks of Blackhawks cycles riding like it was a sprint event. Sensing the danger of the move, David Oliver fresh from his win in the previous event, launched an epic attack to bridge the gap to them. This was to be the leading move.

With the other riders happy to work together for the points, the win was taken by Jonathan Dexter from David Oliver second followed by Darren Binks. The next racing to be held on the circuit is this Saturday, 26th October, with races for all categories taking place.


1. David Oliver. Unattached.
2. Gary Taylor. Ferryhill whs
3. Mark Scatchard. Dirtwheels.
4. Andrew Richardson VS Cycles.
5. Daniel Kubon. Birdwell whs.
6. Nick Ashmore. Craven Energy.
7. Thomas Kneen. Selby CC.
8. Jonny Tomes. Jedi cycle sport.
9. James Harris. Featherstone RC.
10. Ryan Manders. York Cycleworks.

1. Jonathan Dexter. We love mountains.
2. David Oliver. Unattached.
3. Darren Binks. Blackhawk Bikes.
4. Mark Scatchard. Dirtwheels RT.
5. Simon Gueller. Chevin cycles.
6. Nick Ashmore. Craven energy.
7. Jonny Tomes. Jedi cycle sport.


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,